We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it but...............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stopped at this Hotel Monday to Thursday, on arrival we was told check in at 12 noon, no problem, but at 12 was given a voucher and told we could occupy the room after 2.30pm mmmmm! we had been given a up-grade and the room (260) was very nice, north facing gable end with sea view and all the road/tram works, (Blackpool at the time of our visit was/is having most of the prom redeveloped but obviously that is no fault of the Hotel) my partner requested a iron and ironing board which was promptly delivered to our room. We had a wonderful time in Blackpool and the experience was enhanced by our "Posh" hotel. Just to add, Breakfast was fine but a bit disorganised although some of the staff would go out of their way for you if asked, i.e. more tea etc. Yes we would love to stop in room 260 again next time we visit Blackpool.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Jinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the delights of the Jacuzzi.


We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,720)
There are newer reviews for Grand Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,402 - 3,408 of 3,720 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

On arriving we were given a free upgrade and found our room tobe a turret room which gave us a sea view and a view right along the prom which was very nice . We had booked a standard double spa room with breakfast dinner and wine but was a bit disapointed to find it was just 1 bottle not wine every night - I think this should be made clear that it is just 1 bottle you receive if we had know we would just have booked the B& B and dinner which would have been cheaper. The meal were very good and the staff were always very helpfull and pleasant. We would come back and would have no hesitation recomending to friends

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie551770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

I will look at the issue about wine and how it is portrayed on the advertising.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

When you arrive at a hotel having travelled over 200 miles and have to work the same evening you expect to be greeted with a smile and courteously be handed your room key with the minimum of fuss. This is a regular occurence for myself and my colleagues who stay in many hotels all over the UK throughout the year. I can honestly say that our experience at the Metropole represented an all time low!
We waited patiently while the previous customer aired a long list of grievances about thier stay. When it came to our turn we apparently, did not exist on the computer; the company name did not register nor did the dozen individual names of our members. Every single name was repeated at least once! There was only one receptionist available at a time when many customers would be checking in and a lengthy queue was forming behind us!
It was requested that we wait in the lobby while they tried to sort it out (we had to ask for a complimentary cup of tea as it obviously was not forthcoming!)
After half an hour the receptionist arrived with individual print outs with all our names and handed them over for us to sign! Not a word of apology or explanation was offered! In fact we were then asked to make payment for each of our rooms which are always booked and paid for by the company! It was pointed out that we would not be doing that; why did they not phone our company's number first and sort it out with them? In all probability our office had already made arrangements for this.
I pointed out that the whole episode was tedious and that thier customer service was virtually non existant and that remains my opinion unfortunately. There was one nice lady who served the tea and another at breakfast who had some idea of how to be pleasant. Other than that 'please' and 'thankyou' are off the agenda and very little eye contact is given.
As you will read elsewhere; rooms are shabby, carpets dirty and the food has room for improvement although porridge was a pleasant surprise and some of the hot breakfast ingredients were acceptable (but not all!)
This should be the flagship hotel for central Blackpool. As it is I can only describe it as a shambles.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BosunB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post an entry on Trip Advisor.

I'm sorry your greeting was less that efficient.

Your comments have been thoroughly reviewed and used in re-training with the appropriate staff.

I'm sorry you did not find the Metropole to your satisfaction.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

MY friend and i have just returned from a 3 nights stay at this great hotel. This was our 3rd visit since november last year. The rooms are comfortable and clean and have been well heated throughout the winter months.The staff are friendly and helpful especially the blonde girl on reception and the dining room staff. We didn't use the bar so can't comment. The food was very tasty with great choice.The decor of the hotel is beautiful, yes there is some tired areas but we noticed that these are being sorted without any disruptions to guests. I really can't fault this hotel.Hoping to go back in april with hubby to celebrate my 50th birthday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Took Two kids 11,and 5, + grandma, We all enjoyed it, They dont have a pool or leisure facilities but if staying ,you can use the Norbrecks facilities, we went full board, bed breakfast evening meal with wine including sea view room for £70 total, (kids stay and eat for free), the evening meal was great, hot and cold buffet, no complaints from anyone, the breakfast equally as good, great staff, entertainement good,the hotel is beautifull, would have been magic when first built, but even today you can still enjoy the splendour,
If We had a complaint ,it was just to hot for us in the bar watching the evenings entertainement, but appart from that, smashing

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeDarwenLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay on 20th February at The Metropole. Receptionist was polite and efficient, our room was very clean and spacious. The breakfasts were plentiful and very palatable and there was a varied selection of meals in the restaurant for evening dinner which were very tasteful. Evening cabaret was entertaining which included a mini quiz to add to the variation. Will definitely return for a longer stay in the summer. A seafront hotel with its own car park,clean spacious rooms with excellent food,entertainment and friendly, helpful staff, what more can anyone want?

B.Cox. Washington. Tyne and Wear

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrotnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Have nothing good to say about this hotel. Frozen tasteless food, tinned veg and smash potato[ no joke tasted like potato powder mixed with water] The heating is turned off most of the time so even when you turn your radiator on it doesnt get hot, the whole place is absolutely freezing! We left after 1 night but when we asked for a refund for the rest of the week the hotel manager wouldnt come out of his office to see us-we were constantly fobbed off with messages sent through reception staff, or told he was in meetings.This is probably why they take payment up front because you certainly wouldnt stay otherwise.We didnt stay anyway! HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE, def 1 to avoid.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank dj13dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post an entry on Trip Advisor.

As you know we did meet, and had a detailed discussion about your conecerns.

We also agreed a course of action, and several suggestions to enhance your stay which ultimately you were unhappy to follow.

I'm sorry you did not find the Metropole to your satisfaction.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing