We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired old hotel with open door to down and outs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tired old hotel with open door to down and outs”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Where do I start? Arrived in Blackpool and was horrified that the place looked like a war zone. Avoid North shore at all costs! When we arrived at the hotel we had to pass a load of people smoking at the door. My husband said 'Tonight Matthew I am going to be....' The guy at the desk was pleasant enough and he gave us a key to what I could only describe as a cell, room 187, dark and dingy with only a hopper window, covered in bird poo. NO WAY could I stay in there, went to reception and the guy gave us another room, no spa bath, least of our worries, would rather have a window thank you very much! Spent the night from hell in the room as it was on the main road and two night clubs straight across from it. Went to reception in the morning and after paying a supplement of £30 for our other 3 nights we were shown a 'PREMIER' room. Wallpaper peeling off the walls and ceiling, small old portable TV which should be in the skip and curtains falling off rails, (I climbed on a chair and fixed them in 2 mins). We went for dinner, why do people decide to take jobs working with the public when they obviously hate the job? We asked for tea for two, only to side swerved by two younger members of staff who didnt even acknowledge our request. Food was burnt two nights, we ended up going out to eat as we were not only disappointed by the food but the attitude of the staff. Must say the barman on during the day in the Promenade Conservetory Bar was very nice and appeared to enjoy his job. We sat in there for lunch but were dismayed by the loud drunks who put people off sitting in the conservetory, we spoke to people with children who were disgusted by them. The cigarette butts in the foyer is off putting too. We have been to lots of Brittania Hotels and I sorry to say this comes second bottom, bottom being 'Grand' Burstin in Folkstone. Please spend money on this hotel, get staff trained in how to work with public and get rid of the drunks from the conservetory and you will have a cracker of a hotel in an envious position at North Peir.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetb201060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to log a feedback form on Trip Advisor.

As you know we have communicated directly and proposed a resolution to this.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    676
    690
    578
    1,293
See reviews for
832
1,606
159
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My parents stayed in this hotel in March for a weekend, they were really happy with the price and would go back based on that alone.

Food was alright, room was small.

The staff were not so great, but the place itself was nice. They were really slow in the restaurant and very lethargic and didn't clear up after people left. Clearly a problem from the management.

They plan to return, simply because of the price.

Entertainment was very poor (centered around bingo).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanstreetfy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We do train all staff to act in friendly and welcoming manner and I'm sorry that this was not always the case with some staff.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Wonderful welcome , food good, staff very friendly and helpful,nice hotel and room. Very good value for money would go again and recommend the hotel. Blackpool are working on the seafront at the moment so a bit of disruption but not the hotels fault.

Room Tip: Hotel in a good location overlooking the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisdion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

my husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and had a lovely stay after a hiccup with the room the receptionist Rachel did her very best to get us a room that was suitable which was icredibly difficult for her as the hotel was full.food very good.all staff pleasant and helpful.very clean,roomwas was excellent.we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are disabled talked to staff direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl_ludlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

I was delighted to hear rachel's name mentioned - we get a lot of positive feedback about Rachel.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2011

we stayed here from the 28th march to1st april even though the weather was poor we still had brill time the entertainment was very good on night time with 6 games bingo the food was very good with a excellent choice to from ; we had a double sea view room ; we didnt have spa bath which would have been much better!!!!!!!!!!!!! all staff were friendly ; this is a great hotel for night life ; we came here with national holidays which included a trip to the lakes and liverpool i would highly rate them . there is 1 thing you have to do when you come to blackpool is have your fortune told my husband and myself did and she is spot on;but you got to go blackpool to see her she is right outside coral island have fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: food excellent rooms clean plenty alcohol !!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidburman1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

I was delighted to hear you had some good news from the fortune teller - I hope it come true.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed for a week at the start of march And could not believe how cheap it was. The room was a double with spa bath(i was on my own) and was clean, spacious and with a sea view.
The only down side was the tv (no freeview).
The food wasmore than adequate, but some of the staff could do with smilling more!
Overall v.good

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikegleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

We do train all staff to act in friendly and welcoming manner and I'm sorry that this was not always the case with some staff.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2011

THe Metropole Hotel is a diamond hidden behind an unfortunate entrance, walking through the "cafe style" entrance I wondered what I had let our family in for but was soon pleasantly surprised by the grand nature of the actual rerception area. The staff were more than accomodating and the decor of the restaurants, sitting areas and bars enabled my husband and I to envisage what it had been like back in the victorian era. The bedroom although tired was very spacious and met our needs the bathroom could have done with a new suite but again it was functional and with 2 young girls the space provided was a god send. The Food was fantastic, a self serve buffet with a good variety of foods to meet everyones needs and the pleasant staff were always on hand to assist.
The Evening entertainment was of a good standard with music that every generation of visitor could identify with; our girls also enjoyed participating in the quick quiz. This was a short break to recharge our batteries but we were so impressed that we have booked again for October and were even taking my mother!.

Room Tip: Buy the free bar passes its definately cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

I was delighted to hear your daughters enjoyed their stay and that you will be returning in October - do let us know when - and we can allocate the same room.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing