We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review to correct the wrongs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We recently had a short break five day break in the Grand Metropole Hotel Blackpool and the negative comments we heard were completely inaccurate and made us think were staying in a different hotel. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant and our room was a class above the three star award attached to the hotel.We have had many holidays over the years at home and abroad and have stayed in 5 and 4 star hotels so we have something to compare with and rate our stay in the hotel in most areas above the three star rating. The entertainment in the evening was good and the buffet food was also good. We came to the conclusion that the guests complaining were exppecting five star service in a three star hotel. We both look forwad to a further visit this year.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank discodorisAirdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,545 - 3,551 of 3,882 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

stayed over easter, sea view family room third floor ,very clean room, and en suite bathroom, stayed before and everythings good. dining times are a blessing, they allow you to dine in plenty time to see the shows and the foods good, you can bet we will be back once again next easter or before. (dave from bolton) ,

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reebok_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the delights of the Jacuzzi.


We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed at the Metropole yet again, that was our 7th time. As always, we were greeted with the great smile of the reception staff, all are exceptional, even when they are so busy! Was lovley to see them again and so nice that we are remembered from one stay to the next, excuse my ignorance but I only know Rachel by name, but all reception staff are lovley. We had requested our favourite room on booking and we did get that one, its so spacious and fresh with a wonderful view over the sea. Dot, our cleaning lady was lovely, always very bright and cheery to talk to and nothing was a trouble for her. Our beds were just so comfy.

Breakfast was fantastic as always, Mark, our waiter, was a breath of fresh air in the morning to chat to, always had our pot of tea waiting for us. Breakfast is first class, plenty of everything and as it is buffet, as much or as little as we wanted. Cant coment on the evening meal as we only stay Bed and Breakfast but others did tell us that the evening meal was first class also.

Would recomend the hotel any time, its only a 5 minute walk to the town center and close to all bars and restaurants. Bus and Tram stop right outside. There is some upheavel with tall he work being done on the promenade and tram lines but needs must and its not the hotels fault in any way. We had no problems getting parked either.

Thanks again for another great short break. We are booked again for July!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo-TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the delights of the Jacuzzi.


We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed at this Hotel on the 25 April-29 April 2011. Went on a coach tour so booking in was a bit of a pain but didnt have to wait to long. My husband is disabled so did put this on the booking form but no consideration was given to this aspect so ended up on the 2nd floor room 252. Well what can I say the room was so small you couldnt swing a cat in it. The closet they called the bathroom had a mouldy shower door where you felt cleaner before you went in the shower then when you got out. Now for the money we paid I thought Ok lets give it a try. Do not look out the window because all you will see is bird poop and the curtians off the track. The bed was not comfy as the it felt like the springs were comming through, we ended up sleeping on the floor, now with a disabled partner I can asure you this was no picnic. At 5.45 am the following morning we went and seen a very helpfull receptionist who listned to my complaints took them all on board and transfered us to a room that was looking out to the sea. The room here was twice as big, clean and very sastifactory. The food was good but please do something about having all the starters main meals and deserts all together as this does get confusing as to where to start and where to finish. The entertainment was fine if you are over 70 as all they do is bingo with a 45 minute singing routine stuck in the middle. i found all the staff very pleasant and helpfull and cant say anything negative about them, as I felt my problem was dealt with very effeciently. If you are staying in this Hotel for goodness sake book for the upgrade it will be worth it.

Room Tip: Clean the Windows, Book a premier room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post and entry on Trip Advisor.

I'm sorry your request for a disabled friendly room was not passed on to the Hotel and that it took another day for you to be allocated a room that was suitable.

I've checked the room you were in and ordered the immediate refurbishment that is required.

I trust that we will be able to welcome you back to the Metropole at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed 3 nights over the Easter Break, we found all the staff friendly,the Hotel and room were clean, food ok though the time of 5pm for your evening meal seemed to be for their convenience not yours!
My wife suffers with asthma and the smell of cigarettes smoke in the corridors did effect her health, what signal (other than smoke) are you sending when you find a ash trays in your room!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSBHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. The issue around smoking and dinner times will be discussed at todays Management meeting.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We chose The Grand Metropole hotel for its close proximity to the Blackpool Tower - a five minute walk along the prominade. Our twin room, having a double and single bed, was both clean and spacious, with ensuite facilities. The food was plentiful, with enough variety to suit most, served in one of their 'grand' rooms. Evening entertainment was enjoyable, though we would have liked some ballroom music to dance to. There are large-scale improvements taking place along the sea-front so we were woken up early by work-men and their machines and navigating to the hotel proved to be not quite as straight forward as it will be once all the improvements are completed. All-in-all we enjoyed our short stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindatheteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. We are really looking forward to the completion of the works on the promenade and look forward to welcoming you back when they are finished.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Our first visit was last year when we had the chance of a couple of days away alone. This time we took our 13 year old daughter with us. We have again enjoyed our stay, food was excellent, staff friendly and entainertainment excellent. Only complaint I would make is that the towels were not changed at all during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirefamily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £32 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing