We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We have just taken a very disabled young lady to this hotel and the room Number 95 we had was like two rooms in one it had a large wet room and an extra bathroom one double and one single bed , also with her being tube fed we were not charged for any food for her (what a bonus) we also had to hire a mobile hoist for our stay and that was delivered to the room for us we WILL be going again

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what your needs are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the food of a good standatrd and that the staff were pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    674
    680
    569
    1,262
See reviews for
819
1,582
155
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My Partner and I stayed 10th - 14th October with friends , Firstly having to walk so far with our cases was not accetable, maybe the Manager has some excuse.
What a disgrace on entering the Hotel via the Main entrance...the only one.... Cigarette Butts and overflowing ashtrays. Check in was hectic,but, that is normal for any Hotel with coach arrivals

First impression of our room (190) was mmmm... was hopeful, the bathroom had been refurbished with jacuzzi bath (which I tried) plenty of space for clothes storage. On opening the curtains oh! Filthy windows looking across to another wall, pigeons and the extractor trunking from I presume the kitchens? Luckily the noise of the fans didn't keep us awake!!

Dinner that evening was most satisfactory,self service with a choice,hectic at the start, Excellent service from Mark the waiter who attended to us during our stay,it was a pleasure to have smiling happy staff.

Breakfast was much as expected, the same every day. We did'nt have any problems asking for tea or coffee except when Mark had his day off.

The evening entertainment was good and only spoilt by the seating arrangements,dirty tables and smell, we only attended once, that was enough.............

The Bar in the Hotel entrance was more like a Cafe, although the Barmaid Jane made it more enjoyable,but, she was hard pressed....

As I put on my comment card I would not recommend or stay at this Hotel, as the saying goes you get what you pay for....although we have had better trips with our Travel Agents... It's redeeming feature is it's location!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel from Oct 14th-17th 2011. I think it is good value for money and the best location in Blackpool. Food was always good with a wonderful selection of deserts at the evening meal. The hotel is clean and the staff are pleasant and helpful at all times even though they are sometimes very busy. Meals in the Promenade Restaurant are self service and several people went back more than once. I didn't try the entertainment so cant comment on that. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: if you are disabled the staff make every effort to allocate requested facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the food of a good standatrd and that the staff were pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We visited the Blackpool illuminations this weekend and stayed at the Metropole Hotel Blackpool. This hotel is the only one on the sea side of the tram lines right on the new promenade. This is a hotel that was clearly built for the grand days of travel and in its hey day must have been a very desirable place to stay. Obviously things have changed and this hotel has obviously tried very hard to meet the new challenges and economic climate. The bedrooms have been upgraded with good shower rooms but the furnishings are tired looking. the room was well cleaned every day and towels changed Our only criticism was the evening noise. The council really needs to address the problem of outrageous noise opposite the hotel between 1-3 in the morning, there is nothing the hotel can do about this but Blackpool council needs to start taking this problem seriously. We thought one of the best features of the hotel was the good quality of the food - there was good choice both morning and evening and the cooking staff and serving staff couldn't have been more helpful - well done - some mornings were very challenging - everyone seemed to come in at once. This hotel represented very good value for money, unfortunately some people want five star treatment but aren't prepared to pay five star prices!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view or superior rooms would be worth the extra money and would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twocannygeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that the positive commenst about the restaurant staff - it is nice to see that there efforts are appreciated.

IWe look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Having arrived we were told to park our car in the packed streets. After much wrangling we were told we would be let into the already overspilled small carpark.
We had booked several weeks previously and were then told that we would be given 3 single referbished and clean rooms on the same floor. This trip was to mark a retirment and birthday and was going to be special, or so we thought.
The surly Duty Manageress/Receptionist would only allow us to see the rooms after we had paid in full, which included a £2 surcharge for using a debit card?
Rooms 101 and 102 on the stairs were allocated and on entering 102 via the 3 steps and disabled rail, the smell inside was horrendous!! I would not of allowed a dog to sleep in there, it smelt just like a gentlemans urinal and there was filth everywhere you looked.
My other friend was allocated a room on the second floor, which again was filthy. Mould in the bathroom, ripped and dirty wallpaper, stained unhoovered carpets, dirty windows overlooking a tin roof and grubby sheets.....I could go on.(I will include photos later)
Back down to reception, we were told no refund! but we'll get the housekeeper to bring up a de-fumer and spray some airfreshner.W hen we refused this grudging offer, we were then told to walk the couple of miles down the road to the other Brittania hotel(Norbreck) as they have rooms. The 2 miles was really 4 and when we got there the lift to the filth floor was out.
We spent the whole of that afternoon and evening runing around and humping suitcases, because they just did not care and refused to return our £169.50ea that we had unittingly and foolishly, already paid!!?

Room Tip: Do not pay anything until you have checked your room!! Do not take 101 or 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford, uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

we stayed for one night on October 13th and booked 2 twin rooms. We were given lower ground rooms which are basically basement rooms although they did have windows and were quite light.
The bathroom was ok and the shower quite ferocious but the room itself was large with comfy beds.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choice although we were sat awhile before anyone asked us if we wanted tea or coffee. However staff were very pleasant.
Reception staff we found very polite, especially the man on the night shift who sorted out our keys on our return back to the hotel.
Location is superb. Main criticism is, after staying in many hotels recently, if the room is lower ground i think it should be made clear at booking that no view would be available. However this is a small complaint and in all fairness we accepted rooms without complaint.
Yes the building is old and may have a slight The Shining feel about it but i felt that just added character. All in all would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found the room to be a good size and bed to be comfy. I was also delighted to note that the Night manger gave good service on your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, Dalkeith
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed from 07/10/11 - 11/10/11. Greeted by lovely reception staff and no waiting for our room. The room as always was lovely and clean. We were on the 3rd floor and we had a fantastic view.

Staff are great, Mark the waiter, Rachel and Chris on reception, Mel the room girl. Appologies but these are the names I remember but I cant complain about any of the staff, they are all wonderful.

Great Location, great views of iluminations and service with a smile. What more can you want for a weekend in Blackpool.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor, Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo-TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and that there was no delay in accessing it. I was delighted to see Chris and Rachel mentioned on Reception - we get a lot of good comments about them.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 69 in Blackpool
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing