We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We enjoyed it !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I nearly pulled out of this Half Term Break but now I'm glad I didn't.
From the very start the staff were welcoming and friendly, the hotel was clean and warm, which is great after a windy day on the pier. The rooms were adequate for our needs and the hotel location was ideal for all the attractions - except Pleasure Beach which is about a mile away but the tram stop is about 1 minute from the hotel.
We ate in Promenade Restaurant and were happy with the choice of foods available both at breakfast and dinner.
My 12yr old son and I had a great 5 day break and I would definitely book this hotel again if we were to return to Blackpool.
I do however have 2 negative comments which are minor and personal. The first being that there was no fresh fruit in the restaurant. The second is that our room was a smoking room and although the pillows and sheets didn't smell of smoke there was a faint smell of stale smoke on entering the room. I would make the whole hotel non-smoking - but then that would probably give someone else something to complain about.
You cannot please all of the people all of the time, but I believe this hotel does it's best and we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking. Sea View rooms are away from the noise of the main street (but the surf gets pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaClark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    661
    656
    552
    1,167
See reviews for
782
1,515
151
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I've been reading the comments prior to booking yet another couple of nights at the Grand Metropole. I just want to say that I can't understand all the negative comments that I've read. My wife and I always try and stay at one of the Grand Hotels when we go away for a short break. We have stayed at the Metropole on many occasions over the years and have always enjoyed our stay and found the hotel Excellent.

Now, we know it's not a 5 star hotel, but for the price that they charge what do you expect? We've always found the food, rooms, staff and entertainment great for the price we pay. If you want Gourmet meals, one-to-one attentative service and absolute luxury, then pay what I consider to be extortionate prices to stay in them places. We think that The Britannia Group offer the type of accommodation that a lot of people are looking for in todays financial climate... Good hotels that are very good value for money.

We will be booking a couple of days at The Metropole agin soon. We just miss Norman and his organ from years back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Much, Much, Much, improved, they seem to have listened to the feedback since we last stayed, waiting staff in the Worral Dining Room had multiplied by 3 and were really cheery and relaxed and couldn't do enough, was really impressed with the change.

Room was very clean and tidy and we stayed in the same room as last time which was great.

Other staff in the hotel were helpful and the blonde haired lady on reception was great to deal with and very pleasant.

Car park was quite full when we arrived but this was also addressed by the staff to their credit, who helped us find somewhere to park.

Really can't believe the differences that have taken place from our last stay and hope it continues in our future visits.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrIceman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff welcoming and obliging. In particular the Blond receptionist - we do get a lot of comments like this.

We very much listen to the feedback of our guets and react accordingly.

We look forward to weelcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked this hotel from tele text, what we got was in my opinion the best location in Blackpool. The room and bathroom was a good size with a very good standard of cleanliness. The Worral dinning room was excellent a self serve breakfast and evening meal with the food being first class. The entertainment show room is very good and the sunday night show we saw was very professional.The staff we had contact with we're always helpful. The reception staff we're always polite and informative, the two in the dinning room worked tirelessly getting tables ready for guest coming in and the staff in the coffee shop top draw. Included in our booking was a bottle of wine and a afternoon tea of freshly made sandwiches, scones and tea or coffee so you can say that this holiday was full board. So go on to tele text get the price and see what you'll get for your money but please don't expect the ritz when you see what your paying. We have paid three times this much for a five night stay at different hotels and been very disappointed when you can get all this at the Grand Metropole. And finally we we're talking to a Scottish couple one night and they told us they had been four times this year and we can see why. Thank you all at the Metropole. Sarah B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Sarah B, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the afternoon tea selection.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton nn2 7ne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have just returned yesterday from a 2 night stay with my husband and our 2 Grandaughters aged 10yrs and 13yrs. I must say after booking this break last november i read all the reveiws and was shocked that i might not be in this hotel.I wrote a letter to head office no reply so i wrote to the hotel to say could they please confirm my booking and garantee me i would be staying with them in a sea view which i had booked.I had a letter back from Janine Topley assuring me we would be staying at the Metrople.We had a fab time. food was good we had a family room with a jaccussi which the girls loved including myself.We all had a great time in Blackpool and thanks to all at the Metropole for making this possible with unforgetable views.

Room Tip: We never had any noise from the sea views we were in but some said it was noisy at night road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highflyer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

If and when you and your grand-daughters are returning let us know and and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from a 3 days stay at Grand Metropole. Told that the hotel was fully booked when we tried to check in. They told us that they were trying to contact us for last one week but had no contact details. Sent us to the sister hotel called the Norbreck Hotel but that was just a dump and was 1.5miles away from the piers.

Housekeeping was of poor sdtandard. Although we did stay one night at Grand metropole for one night as we refused to stay at Norbreck hotel any longer.

Bathroom was in a poor state.
I would not go back to this place.

Room Tip: Room size varied and was given a small room with hardly any space. Bathroom and toilet facilities we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

would like to be able to write review for this htoel but our booking for 28 October was cancelled without any prior notice and we were moved to the Norbreck Castle (yuk!) After a 200 mile journey we queued for 15 minutes to check in, to be told,eventullay after lots of toing and froing to the back room, the hotel was overbooked and we had been moved to the Norbreck castle- 3 miles away. no apology, no compensation, no sign of the manager just the poor chap on reception stating that was our only option. (he did confirm that no attempt had been made to conatct us directly or our booking agent to advise of this change) We believe that we were bumped off to the Norbreck castle as we had an internet booking at a reduced price and our rooms were sold again at full price to people contacting the hotel direct . We will not be booking any Britannia hotel again after this experience

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing