We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely grand hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

stayed at this wonderful hotel 26th october for two nights with my two girls aged 11 & 12.arrived at 2 o'clock found parking space straight away ,check in was easy and quick.as i had read reviews about night club noise i had upgraded to a premier room with sea view which was absolutley wonderful a lovely large room spotless clean lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath and good shower.dinner was very good dining room just beautiful and great staff.entertainment was good though have to say the male singer was excellent.had a wonderful nights sleep! couldn't hear the sea great breakfast.staying in this hotel is like stepping back in time its grandeur is wonderful to see.good location literally five minutes walk to the tower.will definatly be back.only one negative dark haired lady on reception she is so miserable, never looks at you and mumbles constantly, lots of people were commenting on why you would put someone like this in front of house blonde haired lady very professional and pleasant.

Room Tip: there are both smoking and non smoking rooms so request which one you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read about how pleasant the blond receptionist was - we do get a lot of comments of this nature.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    678
    690
    581
    1,297
See reviews for
835
1,610
160
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Me & my Husband stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and from the moment we got there it was the worst experence we have ever had.
First the reception staff were rude & not helpful at all and didnt seem to want to be there.
Second the food was terribul, same meals every morning & Night, Gammon was full of fat and not much to chose from.
Thirdly the room was discrasful, the bed was like a flat bit of cardboard, there were cigaret butts lying around, the whole room stank of stale smoke.
The only nice part of our room was the bathroom which i must say was clean,
There was no decent entertainment on during the evenings, drink prices were sky high aswell.
I would never reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a Premier room.
The room was very “tired” is the best description, ceiling tiles in the bathroom were not fitted correctly, extract fans were covered in fluff, widows dirty, smoke detector hanging from ceiling, mould on ceiling no remote for the TV ( asked for one it never arrived ).
No air conditioning
Unable to get a night’s sleep.
We were awoken each morning at about 2.30 by the sounds of water and pumps running this when on for over an hour. When reported I was told it must be the central heating we will get it looked into (must be a good heating system that works for 1 hour a day)
The range of food on an evening a bit limited but was of a reasonable quality
A little disappointed in the entertainment, the same performers each night and the show finished before 10 pm
Bar service poor due to only one member of staff being on duty trying to serve and clear (she did well and was friendly), for a hotel a poor range of drinks and an early close bar
Location could not be better and the majority of staff were great
Not what I would expect from a Premier stay
Disappointing

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the Metropole 24th to 28th October it was half term and as expected the hotel was very busy. We booked 3 rooms and first impressions were very good easy and quick check in. We were allocated rooms in the Lower Ground Floor (Basement) I must admit the walk to the rooms wasn't good part of the corridor was uncarpeted and could have done with a lick of paint etc, however the rooms were clean, tidy and quite large the only down side was they were a little dark and not much natural light. The next day we asked to be moved, the receptionist was pleasant enough and gave us several rooms to look at (No Fuss) which although were on the 1st and 2nd floors were not as good or clean as the Basement rooms so we decided in the end to stay put (rooms LG09 and 10) Yes the hotel could do with some TLC and a lic of paint here and there but you get what you pay for for. I don't want to dwell on the rooms too much because the hotel has many plus points:
I have to say the staff were helpfull and the service and food in the restaurant was very good (Thanks to Mark out waiter for the week) the bar was comfortable, staff did there best even when rushed off there feet (Anthony was very good working his socks of to please!) all in all we had a pleasant 4 nights at a hotel that is second to non for location and a great base with free car parking. We will be returning in the future. My adise is if you don't like something then say so my experience is the hotel will try and do there best to rectify it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevewash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that we managed to move your room without any fuss and that Mark the waiter offered good service.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I nearly pulled out of this Half Term Break but now I'm glad I didn't.
From the very start the staff were welcoming and friendly, the hotel was clean and warm, which is great after a windy day on the pier. The rooms were adequate for our needs and the hotel location was ideal for all the attractions - except Pleasure Beach which is about a mile away but the tram stop is about 1 minute from the hotel.
We ate in Promenade Restaurant and were happy with the choice of foods available both at breakfast and dinner.
My 12yr old son and I had a great 5 day break and I would definitely book this hotel again if we were to return to Blackpool.
I do however have 2 negative comments which are minor and personal. The first being that there was no fresh fruit in the restaurant. The second is that our room was a smoking room and although the pillows and sheets didn't smell of smoke there was a faint smell of stale smoke on entering the room. I would make the whole hotel non-smoking - but then that would probably give someone else something to complain about.
You cannot please all of the people all of the time, but I believe this hotel does it's best and we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking. Sea View rooms are away from the noise of the main street (but the surf gets pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaClark1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I've been reading the comments prior to booking yet another couple of nights at the Grand Metropole. I just want to say that I can't understand all the negative comments that I've read. My wife and I always try and stay at one of the Grand Hotels when we go away for a short break. We have stayed at the Metropole on many occasions over the years and have always enjoyed our stay and found the hotel Excellent.

Now, we know it's not a 5 star hotel, but for the price that they charge what do you expect? We've always found the food, rooms, staff and entertainment great for the price we pay. If you want Gourmet meals, one-to-one attentative service and absolute luxury, then pay what I consider to be extortionate prices to stay in them places. We think that The Britannia Group offer the type of accommodation that a lot of people are looking for in todays financial climate... Good hotels that are very good value for money.

We will be booking a couple of days at The Metropole agin soon. We just miss Norman and his organ from years back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Much, Much, Much, improved, they seem to have listened to the feedback since we last stayed, waiting staff in the Worral Dining Room had multiplied by 3 and were really cheery and relaxed and couldn't do enough, was really impressed with the change.

Room was very clean and tidy and we stayed in the same room as last time which was great.

Other staff in the hotel were helpful and the blonde haired lady on reception was great to deal with and very pleasant.

Car park was quite full when we arrived but this was also addressed by the staff to their credit, who helped us find somewhere to park.

Really can't believe the differences that have taken place from our last stay and hope it continues in our future visits.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrIceman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francis_sheridan, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff welcoming and obliging. In particular the Blond receptionist - we do get a lot of comments like this.

We very much listen to the feedback of our guets and react accordingly.

We look forward to weelcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,061 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing