We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we stayed for a long weekend, very enjoyable. We stayed bbem, couldn't fault the service, food, very good value. Convenient for town centre.

Pleased we were there early, not a lot of parking for the size of the hotel, almost got blocked in when we were leaving.

Having stayed at Britannia hotels before had expected the shower gel to be replaced daily, through prob could have asked at reception.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliesophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.The man who does the outdoor cleaning has been told of your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,716)
There are newer reviews for Grand Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,077 - 3,083 of 3,718 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

went on cheap type coach trip to this hotel for two nights. Good value for the money. Room clean, food good and entertainment very good. Dinner times could have been better planned, ie spread over a couple of hours, to avoid the queues.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.The man who does the outdoor cleaning has been told of your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 5 days food very good good choice room very clean and warm staff very friendly entertainment was good will stay again overall experience excellent

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.The man who does the outdoor cleaning has been told of your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I enjoyed my weekend break, room clean, water hot the service was fantastic, checking in was fast. Good food although I only had breakfast. Good location for the beach, shopping, close to town centre. Tram stops right outside.

When coming to Blackpool I would always stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.The man who does the outdoor cleaning has been told of your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked this hotel for a valentine weekend treat,10th to 12th feb,booked dinner bed and breakfast on internet deal. 2 nights £140.Arrived friday at 5.30 and struggled for a parking spot. absolute chaos in car park. booked in and got allocated room 280, on entry you could smell drains and i think they knew as the window was open and it was freezing outside.
The room was small and cosy, carpets could have done with a hoover but it was clean , a bottle of bubbly and chocolates was on side as promised, bed was comfortable and extra blankets and pillow in wardrobe, bathroom clean other than the smell had to spray deodorant to get rid of it,towels were hard and thin and could do with renewing.
Went to evening meal and all i can say is that its like a canteen, food was medioca looked unappetizing so picked at it, and left.
One thing that needs addressing is that the meal is buffet style so on the way in there are hand hygiene pump outside the door saw NO ONE USING IT staff should ask guests to use it.
Slept ok at night other than being woke up by someone walking on creaky floor boards above us at 6.30am .
Went for breakfast and that was ok usual full english should have served it for evening meals?
Went for evening meal looked at it and walked out went for a meal in local pub.
Overall a comfortable stay other than the smell but would not book BBEM and book BB only.

Room Tip: you must try to get a sea view or a room on the sea side of the hotel as noise from the road side wi...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and myself spent 4 nights here last weekend. Although we enjoyed the break a few things to watch out for at the hotel. Only one lift was working we saw no attempt to fix other one during our stay. Entertainment really only lasts 45 Minutes as remainder was made up of Bingo much as I enjoy this game the ticket price was £1 per single ticket and we checked that they kept 50% of the ticket money and only paid out 50% of what they took in, surely this is a right rip off. Also watch the price of drink. e were £3.75 for a 25ml of brandy and 1.45 for ginger ale mixer.so quite a sober weekend.

Room Tip: go for a premier room much bigger but costs an extra £10 per person per night would have been better...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and me have just returned from the Grand Metropole after a kid free (who stayed with grandparents) lovely weekend away. We had booked the Valentine Break not so much for Valentines but as it was our 15th wedding anniversary on Wednesday. We booked a spa bath double room. Not a good view from window as we were on the lower ground floor it looked out onto a wall, but we weren't bothered as the room was lovely decorated, very clean & we didn't really spend much time in there. The spa bath was great with a good shower too. There were no towels when we got into the room but after asking were told some would be delivered shortly, so after a quick drink in the conservatory bar we returned to the room & the towels were there, although a little thin they were clean. We had breakfast & evening meals included which we could not fault. Breakfast had a good choice from cereals & fruit to bacon egg etc. The evening meals were lovely with buffet style & with plenty of choice & always hot. Kitchen staff were on the ball making sure everything was costantly topped up. Restaurant staff were friendly & worked hard to keep the tables cleaned & reset when people left. All in all a great stay apart from a couple of things that could do with tweeking like the main entrance, there is no signage to say it is the main entrance which leads straight into the conservatory and is a little drab in there. The other thing was the lounge area felt quite cold to be able to sit there. We would definately stay again & would recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.The man who does the outdoor cleaning has been told of your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing