We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 24 August 2012

me and my daughter and two grandsons aged 2 and 5 years old booked into the metropole on 20th august 2012. we had a standard family room with bed breakfast and evening meal. on arrival at 1.30 we checked in, took just a few minutes, given key to room 261 on second floor. got to room and opened door and were really surprised, room was very clean,smelled lovely and fresh,bedding prestine, beds were new nice thick mattresses bathroom was clean and fresh and we had a jacuzzi bath and shower. when we went for our tea at 5 in the promenade dining room it was clean and large the staff in dining room were really pleasant and served pots of tea and coffee and first course.our waitress named susan was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble, in fact all the staff in the hotel were pleasant and friendly and approachable the food was hot and tasty same at breakfast time. all in all we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to go to the metropole again. so thank you for a lovely stay and hope to stay again very soon

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,039 - 3,045 of 3,909 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just back from Blackpool. Had booked a 2 night stay with friends at the Savoy, only to arrive and be told they had no rooms, as the Central Reservation Team had overbooked. My argument is why did nobody at Britannia Res Team or the Savoy contact us prior to arriving? We were then transferred to Metropole Hotel, what a disaster. On arriving hotel smelt really bad. Staff and Manager were very unhelpful. Our room had frosted glass pane window which opened at top only to see caged birds outside. Friends room was in basement, it was FILTHY, and even when they said they had cleaned it, they had not, and we have the pictures to prove all of this. What a nightmare!!! Don't go. Manager even spoke to my friends son who is a minor in a disgusting way, and refused to go and look at the room, when we asked him too. Entertainment was a singer/daner for 3/4 hour and 2 games of 1 page bingo - that's it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TERESA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

just back from spending 3 nights half board, and definately wont be going again. The room was very dirty, carpet badly soiled, curtains only being held up with dirt, bath was never cleaned whole time we were there and had to make our own bed, the towels provided were thread bare. the food was definately not edible meaning we had to spend extra to go out and eat elsewhere, we didn't even manage to find any local residents who had a good word to say about this hotel. The entertainment advertised was non existent. The reception staff were not at all friendly nor approachable. I WOULD ADVISE STAYING WELL CLEAR, there are plenty of excellent B&B's and hotels to choose from

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

just got back from a two day break with national travel, for the money we paid we were quite satisfied.yes, it needs some refurbishment,but quite a few brittania hotels do.We enjoyed our food,and the cabaret was so so,but we had 2 complementary drinks vouchers each and up to 8 45 it was 2 pounds a pint!i would not spend a week there, but i would go again because we thought it was reasonable for what we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjoynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.The man who does the outdoor cleaning has been told of your feedback.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Booked in2 this hotel on the 17th of oct me, my partner & our 2children, 1st when you walk in the entrance is surrounded by smokers from the bar (it was filthy and smelled)!! when you do entre you have to make sure you havn't accidently walked into a old peoples home . . reception staff seemed nice so that was a plus. . then the nightmare began we got the key to our room & headed for the lift . .yuck! it was FILTHY & STUNK, walked along the grubby hall until we came into our room OMG it was shocking, flthy and unacceptable, we went straight back down stairs and demanded a new room, the second room we got was bigger but not cleaner and no better, I sat on the bed at I practacly fell into it the mattress was that old! stains all over the wall, chair with a massive rip in it, grey old towels, old fashioned, I was morrtified! the room was non-refundable but I said sod it get me out of here, We went to reception to hand the key in and tell them it was unacceptable. To be honest they didn't seem supprised. I dont want an appology I just want to make sure if any1 was even thinking of going here DO NOT BOTHER!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbrian-lasso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

just got back from this hotel, and wont be going again!! the food was awfull, the entertainment was from 8, 45 till 9.30! that was it., we had to go to another hotel to find some entertainment. our room was really small but i must say CLEAN, unlike other parts of the hotel,but the one thing that was really bad was the windows in our room were NAILED DOWN !! WHAT IF THERE HAD BEEN A FIRE??????, went to complain and all we got was a shrug, DISCUSTING!! so no! wont be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nads50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

stayed overnight in this hotel. the large room we were in was clean and tidy, we were on the top floor with a sea view. bathroom clean and tidy, although the whole place could do with a refurb,
at times though it had a bit of a nursing home feel to it, although the people we met were lovely. customer service left a lot to be desired, no please or thank you off the reception desk staff, not even a thank you for staying, food was ok. if your looking for cheap and cheerful it was ok.

Room Tip: top floor sea view rooms are large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#60 of 73 in Blackpool
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing