We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 22 May 2013

what can i say hotel room was clean only thing the heating stays on about 1 hour , we stayed in a seaview room the windows need doing as the cold was coming in,
beds was ok we had a good nights sleep no idiots slamming doors, breakfast well it was hot nice bacon and sausages, eggs soft evening meals nothing wrong with them. why do people complain. i give you a tip upgrade it is alot better also pay £10 so you can get into your room before the coach partys come. the girls on the desk was fine very friendly.
some idiot said he would not give the food to is dog he wants to get a life

Room Tip: up grade if you can , also £10 so you can go into your rooms before 3pm to miss coach party queues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geofffrey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

As you quite rightly say, some reviews can be wholly inaccurate and miss-leading.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,625 - 2,631 of 3,838 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at the Metropole for one night which was more than enough!! I can forgive the age of the hotel but the cleanliness no. The room was small but as i said it was for one night and for the convenience of the Winter Gardens where we were seeing a show. The bathroom had hair in the bath and the sheet on the bed had dirty marks on which we hadn't noticed until we were going to bed. We spoke to other residents the next morning who also made similar comments but one lady had a blood stained towel left in her room even after complaining to Reception. The breakfast itself was ok and basic. The staff on Reception were fine as were the staff in the dining room but housekeeping left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was the first time we stopped at this hotel; it could of been a lot better. The lifts were very confusing as it seemed they missed a floor. We got the lift to second floor, we had two wheelchairs and we had to carry them down a set of stairs to get to our room. The disabled facilities were awful and not accommodating at all. It was a very long walk to our room especially with wheelchairs and no lift to our floor! The waiters/waitresses were very unfriendly and unsociable, however the reception staff were better. The entertainment was good. We found it difficult to sleep as we were overlooking a night club, it was very loud till about 4am! There wasn't much of a selection of food for children, but it was ok for adults. On the plus side the location was good with tram access a short walk away and the showers were hot.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if overlooking night club!!! Or ask for sea view; much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The room was clean, that's the only good thing I can say about the place.
On arrival the deal I'd booked was not recognised by the reception staff who were reasonably polite but surly. The pricing mix up was resolved when I showed my confirmation but then they said they wanted paid up front! Extraordinary. I've never come across this before. They told me it was company policy but it was not in my confirmation. I ought to have left there and then but was in a hurry to get to my destination.

The rooms are basic beyond belief but were clean. At night the noise was incredible, revellers outside roaring until 4:00am!

This is a worn out, shambles of a hotel. Spare yourselves the agony and choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imrmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

stayed at this hotel on the 3rd/4th May 2013.
Room was a sea view which was lovely but it was cold and the hotel get to say when heating goes on and off..I feel this is wrong as I have paid them to stay in their hotel at a cost.
They also had the NYFYC in Blackpool so a lot of noise from them my advise do not go their when this is on.
Food was good, some reception staff rude but bar and restaurant staff nice.
I feel not worth the money I spent.
Blackpool was good but I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Right by north pier.A cheap hotel [you get what you pay for],the staff were ok and polite,room was fine for one night,clean and tidy.
The entertanment for a two star hotel was great.The night we stayed we saw the resident entertanment team and thought them very good.All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T.C.22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March, during a cold spell on our first visit to Blackpool. I wished I'd spent more and stayed somewhere nicer! Staff a reception were mostly rude or unhelpful , but that appeared to be due to a shortage of staff and no management about to deal with complaints. The building interior is grubby and some areas smell damp, but it is the towns oldest hotel. We were allocated an internal room which faced onto a central well, so no view. The room had about a two feet either side of the bed, one side of which was up against the wall. The bed and room were clean. It was quite noisy and other residents TV's music systems and activities were very audible, even to partially deaf me. However this was not unexpected as the town attracts stag and hen groups. I did ask to change rooms, but it was not possible, apparently, as they were full. I did manage to get into one of the sea view rooms,( whilst the cleaners were in) which seemed a bit larger and had an impressive view.
The bed was uncomfortable, and sleep was difficult due to the noise. Breakfast was not over inspiring, but the catering staff were much more amenable than their colleagues. Food was plentiful, and kippers and other stuff was prepared if asked for. Entertainment was provided in the evenings, but was holiday camp type stuff, not my cup of tea, but at least they provided it. The bar was also uninspiring. We stayed three nights and paid £168 so it was cheap, but as a last minute booking, I wish I'd spent a bit more time researching it. The location is ideal for walking out into the town, Initially, it took some working out how to get into the car park which was crammed, and was almost impossible to get out of due to some other guests interpretation of considerate parking. Britannia Hotels really need to get to grips with this place, which could be much better, but fails on so many levels. I actually managed to get charged twice for our stay, although their accounts dept were quickly able to sort that out for me when I realised what had happened, so full marks there!

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view, which is quieter and avoid the internal well rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,096 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £36 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing