We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hoilday with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“hoilday with friends”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

not worth it rooms in need of make over Bathroom was the best part of hotel very good shower more modern than rest of room. don't think any thing has been done to hotel since butlins days .dinning room was not inviting was like holiday camp . Saw some chips left on first floor still there next day .Will not be going back .

Room Tip: do not look out of windows not clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rottweilersherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is in need of a little refurbishment, the food is served as a buffet so if you go to dinner later it can be a little past it's best. However, the staff are fantastic and really make the stay wonderful. The bar staff are friendly, and chat to you even when their shift is over and they are on the other side of the bar! The chef came out to chat to us, the reception staff are friendly and efficient. Overall a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenrMeltonMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. In particular good feedback about eth various staff make very satisfying reading.


I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Never have I stayed in such a poor place with soiled carpets bedding. Smoking aloud on the third floor fualty electrics. This place should be condemed. Look at the pics on tripadvisor it is a truebshit hole excuse the phase feel that strongly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

where to start,well to be honest was really excited to be stoppin at the GRAND METREPOLE, go blackpool every year for my sons birthday,stopped at the NORBREK last year but wanted somewhere a little closer to town. Stopped sat 5th oct to mon 7th oct. Upon arrival we were greeted by the most miserable reception staff i have ever met, thought "oh well they must be busy" but upon speaking to them to check in, not only miserable but down right rude! Given a room on the lower ground level, entered the room the view was a 6ft brick wall and an old rusty generator(nice), the room was freezing, so started to close the windows,1 of the windows wouldnt shut meaning it wouldnt lock, had valuables with us and being below the car park wasnt safe, went to reception to complain, said someone would come and have a look, they came said only just broken and dont worry, my husband makes windows,told him it had been like that for some time,neede the whole frame replacing,asked to be moved.We were moved to a room on the second floor,when we entered the room i didnt know wether to laugh or cry, completely rank, damp, filthy, stained carpets, as for the windows dont think they had been cleaned since Billy Butlin himself give them a once over,started to put our things away, low and behold in one of the drawers not 1! but 2!!!! pairs of dirty socks.At this point just wanted put our stuff away and go out.Im no snob, far from it but when youve paid top money for a treat for the family,i felt absolutely gutted, but thought the entertainment and the food might make up for it, how wrong can you be.Entertainment is the wrong word, reminded me of Hi di Hi, but it wasnt even that funny, shocking. Bingo was a rip off, the hotel have got to be making alot of money of people because the prize money just doesnt add up,the singers well they werent finding any britains got talent in that room! Now the all important BUFFET BREAKFAST, shocking, food cold,fatty and greasy oh and the polite chief(not) what joy to be greeted by his happy face, snarling and throwing his bacon about!! I have stayed in some right dives when i was younger but can honestly say this hotel is one of the worst, for the money we paid felt so shocked and dissapointed at the absolute shambles of this so called GRAND hotel, the only thing grand was the size.Will be going back to the Norbrek next year, even though these 2 hotels are owned by the same group they are worlds apart!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grant m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This is a 2star hotel with 5star guests who talk to staff like dirt one man was so rude but the lady on reception still changed his room I personally would have thrown him out.people complain about keys they are given key cards on check in which is proof of stay security is paramount there are safe deposit boxes available I advise you use them

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vimtofosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a two day stay there. Staff at reception were not very pleasant or helpful. Our room was in need of a makeover paper coming of ceiling. The food is a disgrace I could only have the boiled ham as for a salad that's a joke had to ask for anything soup was out of a packet and sweets looked awful the best bit was crackers and cheese and that's it? We paid a fair amount and will never recommend it to friends they need to take a look at what there offering!!!.

Room Tip: Check it out before you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unhappybunny125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stopped at this hotel this September for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the week .The room was spacious with a lovely sea view which we ordered.Breakfast and dinner were plentiful and the catering staff were very friendly the room was lovely and quiet and we had a relaxing week the prominent position of the hotel made it handy for shops etc and we will certainly book this hotel again

Room Tip: sea view room had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylaw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room and the Hotel to be clean and tidy, the staff to be helpful and friendly and that the location was suitable to explore Blackpool.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing