We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 4 November 2013

From the website, this hotel looks like a grand old hotel, but in reality it is a poor excuse for a hotel. As a family with a young daughter, we paid an additional fee to stay in an executive room. What we actually received was a dirty room with only one double bed. We were informed on check in that we would have to move rooms on the second night, only for the hotel staff to loose our luggage. A member of staff let them self into the room at 3.30am on the second night, only to realise that there were people asleep in the room. The dining area was dirty with no co-ordination from a supervisor or manager and little regard for hygiene. The entertainment in the evenings which was promised was cancelled on the second night as a private party was using the only entertainment room - this was not communicated to paying guests. The fire alarm went off on night three, only for staff to panic as they didn't know what to do - one man fell down the stairs during the panic, no staff cleared rooms people were outside, in the lobby and in the corridors - absolute madness. The reception staff were very very rude and had no idea what to do. The promised wi-fi was only available in one room, the room service was non-existent. Our promised bath was in fact a shower and the hotel windows have obviously never been cleaned. Lifts only go to certain parts of the hotel as the hotel is on split floors, as my wife was disabled this of course made things very difficult. I would advise anyone looking for a hotel in Blackpool to avoid this drab, dated, dirty excuse for a hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,425 - 2,431 of 3,887 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Booked hotel from the net, Friday night was expensive for this hotel. Hotel in need of decoration very tired. Staff do not seem interested in their positions!! Last night the fire alarm went off and no one knew what to do, we had to ring the fire brigade!! They had no plan or assembly point to go to, all they kept on saying was there was a fault on the alarm bearing in mind this was 2.30am and there were a lot of old people and disabled. Breakfast was like faulty towers or maybe that was better!! You had to find a table yourself and find all the cutlery yourself, the waiters were ignorant and rude one told us to move as he had a heavy tray. Would certainly NEVER stay here again!!

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Didn't advance book but reception staff were very accommodating even matching lower room rate as found on internet hotel comparison site.

Room was very basic but all we needed and breakfast was fine also.

Evening entertainment was an added bonus!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank ashleyo381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff.

I was delighted to read that we awere able to accomodate you without a biooking and and the staff to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

firstly we arrived and was told we could book in at 12 when we went to do so we booked in but told we couldn't have key till 3 i tried to explain that we had got early booking but the two male managers were the most ignorant ,arrogant men i have ever met with no customer focus or care to the point one started to serve someone else and the other one picked up a phone ,something i seen him do quiet often to customers Rachael then served me a polite and caring person but i could not book in till 3 .At 3 we queued for 1 hour 40 mins till we got our key,
The room was opposite a night club and we had a 7 year old with us,the room was ok ish a good shower but we had to tie the window shut with a bootlace we reported this on the first day but still had not been done when we left 5 days later .
the breakfast was basic but very good value and plenty of it even if we had to clean our own tables every morning before we sat down and Mark a waiter was excellent ,polite and very helpful .
There was a family consisting of a Grandmother ,mother,son 13 and daughter 11 who had booked an executive suite but after 4 hours they still had no rooms and all they had to offer was single rooms which is disgusting to expect 2 children to sleep on their own at that age ,when i tried to offer help the manager told me to shut up as they were no relation to me

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Beautiful historic building completely in need of a revamp, very friendly hard working staff totally lacking in any managerial guidance, breakfast in morning a complete farce, no manager in site to greet and seat people,asked to sit at tables full of dirty crockery used by previous diners whilst waiters clear the table around you.All staff need help with dealing with fairly run of the mill stuff,This Hotel could be a dream so come on guys give your employees the training they require and you will reap big rewards and they will feel more motivated and happy in their jobs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitKat037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked over a month in advance, received my confirmation number, and thought no more about it. Told my partner and her 9yr old that we were staying in a big old hotel, with a nice big family room. Well, got there as instructed at 3pm, to be met with complete chaos! Finally made it to the desk where the very unhelpful chap told us there were no rooms!!! After a lot of messing about, eventually got split up into a twin and a single on the 3rd floor (smoking floor!! with a child!!!)! Felt like I paid way too much for this option, no hint of any compo! Ruined our break away!!!
I booked this through there own website and also rang to confirm the booking direct!!!
The staff were telling people that the weather upset the internet!!!!! Utter crap I'm afraid, as it was sunny when I booked!!!
Wont be going here again! Next time, I'll be stopping in a Premier Inn, at least you know what you will get!!!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a classic hotel which has been allowed to slip in standards and presentation to the point that it is a shocking establishment. From the wait to check-in (we were told we could not check-in for two hours, funny that the people behind us were able to check-in immediately), to the dirty and badly maintained room (dirty carpet, hairs in the bath, cracked tiles), Our 'executive' room had frosted windows so that we could not see the seagull cr*p coated light well and the back of the kitchens.

We were up-sold a more expensive 'executive' room as we had a child but this was anything but. The staff were inefficient apart from the waiter in the breakfast room who was willing to tell anyone who bad the hotel and the management were.

Some advice for the management - try to know what your staff are doing, sending away customers who have paid over £100 because they are a bit early for check in, knocking three times to demand you leave 'check-out was at 10am' (this was at 10.02am my child was on the toilet), Fix your lifts, they are in a poor state and the doors marked 'High Voltage' and 'Keep Locked Shut' on the third floor should not be wide open (this gave access to the lift panels which were also open). Breakfast was a shocking mess, cold toast, filthy dining room, unclean tables.

I am intending to get a refund as the management ignored complaints - for the sake of your family avoid this establishment like the plague.

Room Tip: Avoid all of the rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank WilfVoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Sadly we cannot do anything about charges in other car parks.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#60 of 73 in Blackpool
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £31 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing