We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty worst hotel ever!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty worst hotel ever!!!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is located right on the front of the beach, the was dirty cobwebs over the ceilings and dirt and mold in the bathrooms.
The staff are rude and unfriendly......
This hotel needs a whole change on its management and staff.
I complained to the receptionist a blonde lady and she was so rude and arrogant

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 nights in Feb2014.
When got to room there was a poor 12" tv. This was not working due to the weather I found out later. No one bothered to tell us at reception. There was building dust inside the windows sills. Curtain was off the rail on 1 curtain ring. Ceiling tiles damaged in bathroom. 1 radiator and room was cold.
Evening meal was fair and entertainment good.
The breakfast was cold and I ate hardly anything.
My partners food was cold and few hours later she was throwing up and very ill.
We left this hotel after one night and hoping for some refund. I would not recommend anyone staying here and as I spoke to other guests they had similar promlems

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Booked four rooms for Fri 7th Feb for two nights, although we were aware of the really poor reputation of Britannia Hotels we were willing to give this place a go.

On arrival we were told they did not have 4 rooms but could provide them at a sister hotel in Blackpool. We did not want to go to the alternative hotel and asked to just cancel the rooms and we would make alternative arrangements.

They then tried to tell us that if we did not accept the alternative hotel we would be charged in full for the rooms. Do not fall for this, it is not legal and they can not do it.

After a few phone calls to the Manager at his home, who could not be reached, they then called the sister hotel who confirmed that we were not obliged to accept the switch and cancelled our booking. We then booked rooms at a 'real' hotel for the weekend.

Avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Stay at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for the fact that you cold not be accommodated here.

As a most piopular hotel, over-bookings do sometimes occur and we are glad to be able to re-locate guests to one of our other 2 Hotels in town.

I'm sorry you thought it preferable to cancel your booking and look for accommodation elsewhere.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel in the first week of February 2014, bearing in mind that the hotel was built in 1776, it is in pretty good shape. Having booked a short break with National Holidays, I didn't expect anything luxurious, especially for the price I paid, but I was rather pleasantly surprised. This hotel compares favourably to the Imperial Hotel, in fact it is a lot better than that hotel. The food was good and plentiful. Our room was adequate, with the bonus of a seaview. A power shower & a spa bath were also unexpected. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Blackpool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags44pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

stayed 1 night in feb, staff very freindly and helpfull, large seaview room was clean and tidy. great location for most blackpool atractions. £3 to park on there own carpark but thats cheaper than most blackpool carparks. breakfast was disapointing food was luke warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

Your commenst about food quality at breakfast not being up to scratch have been passed to the Head Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhaoqing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay more than I did in The Savoy Hotel. The Receptionist Rachel was sooo helpful and friendly. The room was excellent looking at North Pier room 185. The room was clean and tidy. But again the same downfall there is no Internet or Wifi services in rooms. Only down in the lobby which can be annoying. Breakfast was fantastic with open buffet. I prefer these you can helpself and feel more relaxed for seconds. I think all hotels should do this.

Room Tip: Room 185 looks at North Pier and the beds faces out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derikasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. The Chef was particulary pleased to read about your thoughts on breakfast.

Your comments about the Wi-fi coverage has been passed to IT who hopefully can extend this.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coppull
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

i stay at the met once a month every month twelve months of the year, have done since 2011 so i speak from expierience. only once have i had to complain and the manager verry kindly rang me personally to appologise and offer me a free night stay at my leisure(thank you). but on the 4th of feb i booked in as normal and i recieved my key card (only) i was not given the regular time table as normal probably because my face was familiar im not sure,but we went to are room as normal.the previous months breaky was from 8.30 til 10.00 so as usual we strolled down at 9.40 toavoid the que only to be met by the coloured elder gentleman of staff with "we finish at 9.30" no sorry or explanation and he carried on with his work as if we were not there . when i asked the rec staff about this she appologised and asked me if i recieved the letter on booking in informing me of the changes. "no i did not" i said and with that i booked out and found a cafe.i emailed francis about this and got no reply, i have emailed the head office and still waiting for a reply. but apart from that the hotel in my opinion is spot on and value for money. the food is good as is the entertainment. the location is brilliant and the majority of staff are always willing to help especially the rec staff. the price of the ale is reasonable too.
regards philip mcnamara

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I'm sorry you missed breakfast beacuse of a mix-up in timings. We will make this up to you on your next visit - just let us know.

BTW - I did not get an e-mail from you?? Could you send it again.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#31 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing