We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few days break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just came back stopped for a couple of days the price was very good enjoyed our selves but listening to the older people who go there quite often they how much it is going down bank we had a problem with the room card but we went down to reception and they resolved thevproblem right away the other thing the heating was not working properly and with being a big and old hotel it was rather cold but eventually they fixed that problem the staff were very pleasant and hard working the entertainment was not to bad the bingo was a bit of a rip off but the older people liked it the hotel is looking rather tired it needs a good overall its handy for the amenities been to the hotel I dont think we would go back it needs to spend some money or the next generation wi
l not use this hotel

Room Tip: 2nd floor 282 to 288 sea view good view but a bit cool by window if windy dont go on ground floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_jan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

Most of all I was pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and hard working.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,151 - 2,157 of 3,771 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked over the phone with Brittania Hotels for a 1 night midweek break for my wife and me, upgraded to Premier room and dinner. Check-in helpful and speedy, but due to it being quiet the Premier dinner was not available, so they offered to refund the upgrade or give us a bottle of wine. We happily took the wine as the room was delightful, it was large, clean and had a lovely view over the Irish Sea. Clean bed, clean bathroom, TV, tea and coffee, and none of the issues that some of the professional whingers on this site like to moan about.
The hotel is certainly a little tired round the edges, but you'll do well to find many hotels in Blackpool that aren't. The Metropole still has the dignity of its former grandeur, and this is evident everywhere, for a building of its age it still has charm and we enjoyed our stay here. We may have touched lucky with the room being as nice as it was but we found all other aspects of our stay here just fine, the service at reception, bar and restaurant were all very good. We've been coming to Blackpool for years, and are savvy enough to know that a trip here is what you make it and to make the best of things. It was our first stay at the Grand Metropole, won't be our last, happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

Most of all I was pleased that you felt we offered value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I got a good deal, but at the end of the day a hotel is a hotel, and just because you get a good deal, that doesn't excuse the fact you can write your name in the grime on the inside of the windows. We had an 'executive twin', sea view, decent size. There was no shower, TV broken, stained carpets which hadn't been vacuumed and bathroom smelt so badly of drains I had to hold my nose to go in it. Breakfast awful - cheap bacon, cheap sausage, luke warm coffee and watered down juice. The fire alarm went off during breakfast and the kitchen staff left without getting the customers out, they all ignored us, no fire marshall or senior staff in sight! We were told later that the steam from a shower had triggered the smoke alarm?!!! Bad experience all in all.

Room Tip: Make sure there is a shower in your room unless you want to wait half an hour to run a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked a sea view room and got one. That apart, the room was very poor. I didn't think to ask for a non smoking room so when we arrived, we found a huge round ash tray in the room, it smelled of stale smoke and was very shabby. The wash basin tap was loose, three out of the four ceiling lights in the bathroom didn't work, towels were thread bare. The shower was really good to be fair but that didn't make up for the general state of the room and the cob webs.

We ate in the hotel and that was good value for money, nice food and plenty of it. Ideal location but we'll not be back to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

The positive comments about the location, food and shower have been noted.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel, first time they gave us a terrible room across from the karaoke bar, music and noisy all night and we had paid a lot of money for room. Next visit was great, a room in basement floor which was great as it was quiet and could get some sleep.
This time we booked and got a great rate through Superbreaks, we got there slightly early about 1pm and were allowed to check in and were given a room number and keycard and were told it doesn't work till 3pm. We went out for lunch and to start enjoying Blackpool, on our return after carrying all our luggage up to room we found the card didn't work but could hear voices in the room. When we took this up with reception we were told we been given another room in our absence, we had a room around the sea side and were moved to a room on the back corner which was so noisy and the windows were blowing a gale, they were closed, it was impossible to sleep in there with cars and trams going by all night.
The breakfast was awful, orange juice was diluting orange and the rest was eatable just.
I asked to speak to the manager about being moved and was told hotel was full and manager would contact me on Monday to sort this out, but it's 11pm with no contact on Monday.
I certainly would recommend trying some of the smaller hotels b&bs before going to the Metropole.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groundkeeper-willie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

I know we have communicated direcly earlier this week and trust you will take up on my offer of recompence.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Ok,so got a good January deal,but every were needs a lick off paint,had new key cards had nothing but trouble using them,was big wet patches on carpet next to bed,stains on carpet,tele never worked,breakfast very basic(not up to much) asked for iron twice,waited two hours,ordered champagne had to go and get it our self in the end! A big place like this you would hope for better service,the man on desk who looked like the manager,looked so happy (not) never smiled once just grunted,woman on the desk on night time was lovely and so helpfull and young lad behind bar was nice to,also very good location with the night life over road and shops 2min walk! Was probabl y a lovely hotel at one point Realy needs some t.l.c x x

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmaterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

I have noted your comments about the lady receptionist and young lad on the bar.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wee
Checked in Thursday 20 th given our room on second floor sea view really nice and a good size, bathroom nice and clean, we upgraded to half board as the weather was not that good To walk out at night. Pleasantly surprised when we went for evening meal was really good Thursday not as good Friday, stuck with the salad they could do with another choice not everyone likes fish or kidney in the pies. The evening entertainment is definitely lacking not that we are after late nights but it was over for 9.30 considering its a large hotel chain maybe a children's entertainer for an hour or so one of the parents actually got up and played games with the kids this was great as it stopped them running around wild. Maybe something to think about. The only other thing to let the hotel down are the cleaners in public places, it really is grubby the window ledges in the conservatory and dining room are full of food bits etc also lots of cobwebs you can tell they haven't been cleaned for a while it's a shame really as guests will get the wrong impression. Just to clarify my room was clean. Bar service good waiter service good reception good I am sorry to point a few complaints out but if nobody says anything it won't get any better

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarringtonDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was delighted to read that you felt you were getting value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £35 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing