We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,979)
Filter reviews
3,980 results
Traveller rating
432
706
740
628
1,474
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
706
740
628
1,474
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2,357 - 2,362 of 3,980 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

please stay away from this so called hotel, we had a terrible stay . we were in room 156
to start with there was no shower only a bath. the water was Luke warm. even after running
for ages . the room was dirty cobwebs in corners. The food was atrocious it was just left on ban marries to go dry two choices , a meat pie or a plain fish. the tables were not cleared once you had finished for next person. [ I had to set my own table this morning]
what entertainment there was , was finished at 9.30 pm . there was still children running about
after the act. all the hotel was interested in was getting money in from the bingo we will not be back .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

after reading some of the reviews i was a bit apprehensive but then a friend said he had stayed here on several occasions and was happy enough. i booked this hotel largely due to its location for soul suite so wasn't too concerned that it was not a palace. we stayed in room 383 YES it does have a few stains on the carpets YES it does need a lick of paint YESSSS it does need upgrading but the room we stayed in was clean enough the bed linen was clean and we had no problems at all. we had a great sea view and as stated the location was perfect, i don't plan on having my summer holiday here but for a weekend away and at the price i payed i have no complaints will book here again no hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnymac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

Most of all I was pleased that you felt we offered value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed for only one night but would be quite happy to stay longer. We stayed in room 190 and found the room to have everything we needed. The beds were good the bathroom had a bath and shower which was good. We didn't have a good view but the hotel is in such a good location you only had to go to the front door to see the sea.
We looked at the menu for the evening meal and found it to be good value at only £12.50 for a three course meal and £11 for a bottle of house wine.
We had already eaten but when we return we will definitely eat in next time.
The reception staff where very helpful and check in was very good checked in at one and we were given our key card but the rooms weren't available until three but we knew that.

We will definitely return to this hotel it was great value for the money we paid and found all the staff very helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank MaxineKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I did note that you thought the reception staff were pleasant - that is most reassuring.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just came back stopped for a couple of days the price was very good enjoyed our selves but listening to the older people who go there quite often they how much it is going down bank we had a problem with the room card but we went down to reception and they resolved thevproblem right away the other thing the heating was not working properly and with being a big and old hotel it was rather cold but eventually they fixed that problem the staff were very pleasant and hard working the entertainment was not to bad the bingo was a bit of a rip off but the older people liked it the hotel is looking rather tired it needs a good overall its handy for the amenities been to the hotel I dont think we would go back it needs to spend some money or the next generation wi
l not use this hotel

Room Tip: 2nd floor 282 to 288 sea view good view but a bit cool by window if windy dont go on ground floor no 4 very small
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_jan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

Most of all I was pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and hard working.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked over the phone with Brittania Hotels for a 1 night midweek break for my wife and me, upgraded to Premier room and dinner. Check-in helpful and speedy, but due to it being quiet the Premier dinner was not available, so they offered to refund the upgrade or give us a bottle of wine. We happily took the wine as the room was delightful, it was large, clean and had a lovely view over the Irish Sea. Clean bed, clean bathroom, TV, tea and coffee, and none of the issues that some of the professional whingers on this site like to moan about.
The hotel is certainly a little tired round the edges, but you'll do well to find many hotels in Blackpool that aren't. The Metropole still has the dignity of its former grandeur, and this is evident everywhere, for a building of its age it still has charm and we enjoyed our stay here. We may have touched lucky with the room being as nice as it was but we found all other aspects of our stay here just fine, the service at reception, bar and restaurant were all very good. We've been coming to Blackpool for years, and are savvy enough to know that a trip here is what you make it and to make the best of things. It was our first stay at the Grand Metropole, won't be our last, happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

Most of all I was pleased that you felt we offered value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews