We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unprofessional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unprofessional staff”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel, and found the staff seemed to have a 'couldn't care less' attitude. The breakfast staff stood around chattering amongst themselves, leaving only one or two to do the work, there was even a argument between them, in front of guests. the hotel itself is in need of a makeover, most of the rooms are in a dismal state as is the restaurant, paint peeling off walls, etc. Would rather not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can help it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend with 3 friends and the first thing we noticed was that there was no warmth within the hotel and I mean, no warmth for heating, and no warmth from the staff and certainly lacks atmosphere. We could have been walking into a bus shelter, the feelings would have been the same. For an old hotel, I would say it is a bit tired and bathrooms need attention, and the dusting could be a little better, but overall not in too bad a state. We had twin rooms which were ample in size. However I cannot say the same about the staff in the restaurants. We ate in the small restaurant on Friday evening and the waiter's waistcoat had more food on it than on the table, it was really disgusting and off putting and we did not want him touching anything of ours, especially the soup. We have never seen anything like it before. Same Sunday morning breakfast, waiter's shirt was dirty. They did not seem to have any pride in themselves or their jobs. With regards to the food, nasty cheap food, no quality at all, the breakfasts were ok with plenty of selection, but the evening meals were worse than a soup kitchen and served like one. The meal times are really strict, if you are late going in, don't expect not to rush, because come closing time, the food is all removed with no warning.
Another disappointment was the bar, it closed at 11pm, we have never stayed in a hotel where guests cannot get a drink after 11pm and you cannot charge anything to your room, it is all cash up front. In fact, it did feel more like a hostel than a hotel. We had sea-view rooms so cannot comment on the noise on the other side of the hotel. It is in a good position though.
The crux of this hotel's problems, I feel are with the staffing levels, there are not enough staff which make the staff who are there miserable. They should be grateful that they have jobs, but if you are not appreciated and maybe overworked, there is no joy in going into work. The only time they seemed to smile was when they suddenly realised they had the next day off or that they were going off duty very soon. If we ever went back to Blackpool, we would not stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the sea-view rooms are quieter, we did not hear any noise on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Payneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Me and my Husband checked into this dreadful hotel on Sat 12.4.14. We were given the key to room 356 there was no window to look out of it was frosted glass on going into the bathroom i found a filthy dirty glass, plaster falling of the walls. I complained to reception and the woman named Janet couldn't of cared less she offered us another room in the basement, The duty manager came with us in the basement corridor there was food all over the floor when i said to her i hope ther isn't any mice with all this food about she replyed by saying dont worry they wont come on this floor the Rat traps are below this. On inspecting this we found empty beer cans under the bed,bits of pizza on the floor and a broken window that wouldnt shut. When i pointed this out to her she said I dont get paid enough for this i get a pittance for this job.Needless to say i demanded my £78.00 back. When we went back to reception there were numerous people complaining and asking for there money back. DO NOT stay here it needs closing down.

Room Tip: Didn't see any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janetplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my bf have just got back from a weeks stay at the metropole half board. We were ment to stay at Norbreck castle but we got relocated due to hotel been closed, turns out to be the best thing that could of happened we got a free room upgrade to a sea view room and upgraded dining. Room was big clean and the view was amazing. Food was really nice something diffent every night and full english every morning. There was live entertainment every evening and 2 sessions of bingo we won 5 times think we may of been lucky. Overall really enjoyed well will defo be coming back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alanaandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that your found your room to be clean and comfy and the food to be of a good quality.

Well done on winning the Bingo.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped for two nights, the worst two nights of my life, the hotel is just HORRENDOUS, in our room the toilet door handle was hanging off so we couldn't lock it, we were in a room right opposite a nightclub so didn't actually get to sleep till well after 2am, what can i say about the meals DISGUSTING slop, i wouldn't feed this muck to my dog, also the staff were unpleasant and unhelpful and looked like they had all just got out of bed, as they looked really scruffy and wore dirty uniforms, i hope people read this review and seriously don't stay in this awful hotel, it needs serious refurbishment!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Ok for a short stay or overnight stay but needs huge modernisation and the breakfast was chaotic, had to sit at a dirty table as not enought staff to clean up!! Room was very basic and we had a family room for 4 with only 3 beds in it, they did organise a camp bed for the night but it was very cramped, no refund offerred.

Room Tip: Get a sea view rather than road side, can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Looked good on the website but that's where it ended I traveled with my grandchild and this is the only reason I didn't walk out as soon as we arrived the room was very small for a double and the first thing that hit me walking into the room was pigeon droppings all over the windows on both the bedroom and the bathroom the noise coming from the other rooms were at times more hostel like than hotel the decor was very dated the TV was an old box type with the basic channels not even free view and very small covered in dust the headboard wasn't attached to the wall and had part of it missing
Breakfast was the only saving grace of our visit a buffet style that my grandchild really enjoyed but this could have been made better if the staff actually smiled all but one looked like they didn't care with no pride in their work the front desk were only interested in getting your payment with no customer service skills that I could see and although the booking site said free car park it was also charged at time of booking in needless to say we will not be returning unless I hear of standards to this hotel improving

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cazbar1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#31 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing