We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Metropole Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Cliffs Hotel(Blackpool)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Sheraton(Blackpool)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$110
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clifton Court Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,960)
Filter reviews
3,960 results
Traveller rating
429
704
738
625
1,464
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
704
738
625
1,464
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,270 - 2,275 of 3,960 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is well past its best. It looks tired from both the outside and inside.
Our room was small, had a window with no view, it faced into a small courtyard looking at brick wall and other windows.
It cannot have had any refurbishment for years, badly in need of it.
Heard many other customers grumbling about it.
It is handy for access to Blackpool if you are not too fussy about accomodation.
The breakfasts were excellent, compliments to the chef.

Room Tip: Don't accept a "quiet room" it means you cannot see anything as it looks into a central courtyard constructed to provide external windows to rooms without a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 719Steve_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Dont believe everything you read! Me and my nana arrived at this hotel which i was happy about from the outside, i entered into the reception and was very nicely decorated etc... we had to wait around 3 hours till we got into our room due to cleaners. Once we finally got to our hotel room we was very happy to see a lovley big room with a good amount of storage and a huge bay window which you could see straight onto the beach and the beautiful sunsets peered through at night. Our matresses were pretty hard but still got a good nights sleep. The food was lovley but had to stand in a long que to get food due to it been self service but it was worth the wait as the food was tasty and lovley. One of the days there at dinner a photographer came round and took pictured that we could buy which we thought was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you felt the staff were pleasant and the food plentifull.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As regular visitors to this hotel we always are well looked after and find the staff friendly, the food good and enjoy the entertainment. Any problems are soon solved.the facilities for disabled people are excellent. Easy access to hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 881ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you felt the staff were pleasant and teh facilities appropriate to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well it's certainly true that this hotel is in need of some serious TLC but get past the first impression and look beyond the slightly off putting entrance and with an open mind you will be pleasantly surprised.
Check in was courteous and efficient. Good directions helped us find our room without a problem.
We had booked a sea view and there it was along with the prom and the Tower. It was great.
The room was clean, the furniture a little old fashioned but functional, there were spare pillows in the wardrobe. The bed was fresh and clean and the bathroom had been recently refurbished to a decent standard.
Breakfast was very good. Fruit, 5 cereals, all the usual hots well cooked and pots of tea or coffee delivered as required. Quite frankly I could not fault it.
All in all we enjoyed our 2 night stay. The public areas are a bit past it but beds, bathrooms and breakfast were all good and those are the bits that really matter.
The location was good for us, being near shops and tower.
It's not luxury but it is comfortable, excellent value and you won't go hungry.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: I would think that non sea view will overlook some fairly dreary shops.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your good comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

As for teh niggles you mentioned I will ensure teh Departmental Managers are briefed and resolve those issues.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We checked out after one night food dreadful my little boys tomato sauce had someone else's food in it ,bedrooms very dirty including the sheets the staff were totally miserable , I read reviews before I booked but thought wed give it a chance as some people are hard to please not in this case sadly the bad reviews are spot on dont touch this place with a bargepole badly needs a clean and a face lift

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shonaw202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews