We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We've just returned from two nights at this hotel and had a great time. We went to Blackpool for Blackpool itself and not the quality of the hotel. Having said that we thought the hotel was ok, you get what you pay for. The room was clean and big enough for our needs. The breakfast was very good and all the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. We have stayed in many Blackpool hotels and often paid double for the same quality. If you intend to spend all your time in the hotel while on holiday then feel free to book a lot more expensive hotel but it doesn't guarantee anything as I'm sure everyone knows. If you want a base to explore the town/nightlife etc then this is perfect. Perfect location, perfect price, everything you can need as a place to rest your head after a busy day and night!

Room Tip: If a little traffic noise bothers you then stay in a sea view room bot they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the locatuion was good.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    667
    557
    1,216
See reviews for
801
1,552
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Blackpool Tower, where we were at an all day function, and we like hotels with a bit of "character". It certainly had character!! It started off badly because we couldn't get into the car park (which we were expecting having been advised when booking that the car park had limited parking), but unfortunately there is no drop off point either. However, if you are lucky enough to get into the car park you have to cross the tram lines - so BE CAREFUL! Then we couldn't find the entrance to the hotel. There is no "grand entrance" as you would imagine, instead it is a side door through a built on conservatory at which guests congregate to smoke. Not pleasant. The reception area was very busy, not with elderley people as other reviewers encounted, but with 18 - 25 year olds; it was the Young Farmers AGM in Blackpool that weekend. Also in reception was an engineer trying to repair the fire alarm which was going off intermittently. We soldiered on but when we entered the corridor where our room was located we could hear a party in one of the rooms. Never mind, we thought, it's an old solid hotel, the walls should be fairly thick. Unfortunatly not. Our room was the one next door to the party, and was obviously a room that had been split in two with a flimsy partition, and it was so small that the door knocked into the bed as we entered the room. Considering we had paid extra for a sea view we were more than disappointed and went straight back to reception to ask for our money back. By this time there was chaos all around as a guest had left their bathroom taps running and had flooded the dining room, and another guest was so inebreated he was struggling to stand. Full marks to the staff: they were obviously run ragged by all this commotion but remained calm and polite throughout, and found us another hotel to stay in without quibbling. Although we didn't see much of the hotel, it did look clean and tidy, and is obviously extremely convenient for the promenade and centre of Blackpool. (Just mind the trams!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilyB0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First impressions weren't good , the main doorway happens to be the smoking area and the outside is covered in fag-ends, this seriously needs to be cleaned on a regular basis. Reception area needs an update, unfriendly staff , rooms were clean though but needs a serious update, breakfast was ok ,we were disappointed as we only chose due to the good location due to both of us being pensioners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhianwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

having just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel i just had to let everyone know that the hotel pr photos are deceiving having paid £79 for a double seaview room,i feel i didnt get what i expecteduponentry to we were met by an waful odour we had to sparay the room with body spray to mask it,the room was an ok size bath was clean as was bedding,but the rest was not the windows were dirty and had been sealed shut with some sort of tape and some sort of lock on the window,the hotel itself is a very sad condition paint off walls,dirty carpets dirty windows and doors,some of the decor was very gaudy and the hotel was very dated ,staff for the few we saw were miserable and appeared not to take pride in their workperhaps because there were so few staff????????????,the lifts were small dark and dirty,the tv in my room was from another era although it did work,the info leaflet in the room is outdated saying they offer terrestrial tv and 5 channels!!!!!!!!!!!breakfast was ok although staff not very evident we sat ourselves got our breakfast (which was ok)then a waiter appeared and just said tea or coffee,again staff do not appear happy in their work,the window ledges in the dinning room werer dirty the walls gaudy and cipped plaster and paint peeling off the ceiling and walls due to damp,and upon looking out to sea we were met with a beautiful array of weeds and yet more neglecting paintwork on the outside walls by the sea,when we paid by debit card they also charged a fee and they also overcharged us by £10 for a early check in which we did not request or receive as we arrived at 1600hrs,i feel this hotel is misleading in its pr and would not stay there again or tell anyone else to.

Room Tip: not a value for money hotel for lackpool try elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014



This dingy and outdated hotel was unwelcoming from the offset, with cigarette butts and smokers littering the entrance. The front doors were scuffed and dirty, paint chipped and in need of a serious scrub, much like the rest of the entire hotel. The staff seemed bored in the drab reception area and I don't blame them. We checked in and there was a 50p charge for paying with direct debit. They also took the car parking payment of £3 at the same time, we wouldn't realise until breakfast the next day that we were overcharged, when questioned on the £10 discrepancy the man on reception agreed that it was a mistake( after a good few minutes of clicking at his computer) and refunded us immediately the £10 accidental "fee for early check in" despite us not arriving until after 4 in the afternoon.

The lifts were a bit cramped and rickety but safe enough and lucky to have. The stairs were dirty though, plastic edges covered in spillage marks and the carpet in need of a Hoover. On one step I noticed a painted white pipe sticking out, against the wall, unsure if it should be made more visible in the off chance of someone walking so close.

The floor boards creaked, an old building it was to be expected. Most room doors needed a fresh coat of varnish and the windows washing.

We booked two rooms, inside the first was a bulky tv, kettle, double bed, bathroom and desk. It was a decent enough room, relatively clean, apart from around the windows, which were glued/painted and taped shut in a messy fashion and were possibly alarmed, the tape had been removed leaving marks all over the frame.

In the second room was a slightly more modern tv, the same double bed and kettle although this bathroom didn't have the shower gels or even hand soap that the first had. Around the skirting board were ugly yellow water marks.

Each room also had a strong stench of some musky industrial cleaner, I had to spray body spray to mask it.

Outside the ticket machines and barrier to the carpark entrance are rusted orange, the walls cracked and chipped off paint. The guest lobby area was old fashioned and in desperate need of a revamp, with a 15 year old flat screen and dining chairs placed amongst batterend couches. The wall details and paint work deserve more than the offensive shades of blue and pink between the rec room and the dining resturant. The buffet breakfast was decent, with full cooked breakfast, cereals and yoghurt. However, yet again the staff seemed bored and were impolite.

In the dining hall the walls were smothered in a fuschia paint, hardly masking the cracks in the concrete walls. We sat in the window, the blinds we yellowing and splattered with un acknowledged food. The window sills were dusty and the sea view was marred by a mess of weeds outside.

Overall I was shocked at how drab and quite frankly dirty this hotel was, I could not recommend it to anyone in the state is in now, In urgent need of repairs and refurbishment. The audacity to charge nearly £80 a night to stay here is apauling, do not waste your money and if you do, watch out they don't mistakenly take more without permission.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmac91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 years in a row now with a big group of friends. Hotels in a great location and re staff are always great. Food has gone downhill a bit from past years but overall a great experience and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristhomas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in march with my husband (both late 20's) all we wanted was a nice hotel with a full English as we were going our drinks for a friend birthday. Hotel is very outdated but kind of nice in the old fashioned sense. The hotel was filled with older people (over 60) but that wasn't a bit deal at all. Room was ok not great for £65 but again not a huge deal. Before we went out I wanted a bath and I like my baths HOT like most women but the hot tap was Luke warm and I had to get my husband to fill up kettle after kettle of boiling water for the bath. While waiting for each kettle to boil the water in the bath had already cooled down so have up in the end lol. Next morning looking forward to a good breakfast...... HORRIBLE!!!! Everything was hard or chewy!! I even asked my husband how the old dears around us wasn't breaking their false teeth!!! We ended up leaving our food and having the watered down brew instead!! We ended stopping at the services on the way home for food as a lot wasn't open with it being early and a Sunday!! Sooo disappointed in this hotel if it had cost us £30 i would of said fair enough you get what you pay for but this for £65!!! VERY poor standards!!! How this place still gets guests is beyond me!! Then again we fell for their "knock down" price. Ha knock down price = rip off!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nay1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing