We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take care when booking you could be disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Take care when booking you could be disappointed.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a family room with seaview, got a room with no view at all. The bathroom was dirty . Tried to explain to staff with no joy. We had booked premier dining which was then not offered at the hotel -- yes I did check dining allocation, staff obviously busy and frustrated that bookings accepted didnt match their availability.Dinner was disappointing in fact we had to go out to eat as the choice was so limited. Just pleased we were only staying one night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fergiechrismck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had an amazing stay. No issues at all, spoken with the manager Karen James she is such a lovely person and made our stay extra special for meeting her. The hotel is in a great location me and my partner has Been coming to this hotrl for years this was the best stay so far. And you lot complaining about breaky its nice English grub! Thanks again to Karen and the bar staff on shift on 30th may at the metro bar.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akendall-stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought that karen in particular was helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

stayed two nights at this hotel, do not look for a grand entrance, it is a side door that you enter by, the carpet in the foyer looks like it has never been cleaned since it was layed, and an unpleasant aroma meets you and continues around the hotel,we found the staff at reception unfriendly, on arriving at our room it was smelling of smoke. found out later all the rooms on the 3rd floor are smoking rooms,we did not request this, we had an old type television in the room, dirty brown marks on the wall, the beds however were comfortable, the cleaners do not appear to carry out there duties, some of the breakfast is good other parts of it terrible. I will not be stopping here again and would not recommend it to any one else,

Room Tip: unless you smoke do not request 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We've just returned from two nights at this hotel and had a great time. We went to Blackpool for Blackpool itself and not the quality of the hotel. Having said that we thought the hotel was ok, you get what you pay for. The room was clean and big enough for our needs. The breakfast was very good and all the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. We have stayed in many Blackpool hotels and often paid double for the same quality. If you intend to spend all your time in the hotel while on holiday then feel free to book a lot more expensive hotel but it doesn't guarantee anything as I'm sure everyone knows. If you want a base to explore the town/nightlife etc then this is perfect. Perfect location, perfect price, everything you can need as a place to rest your head after a busy day and night!

Room Tip: If a little traffic noise bothers you then stay in a sea view room bot they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the locatuion was good.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Blackpool Tower, where we were at an all day function, and we like hotels with a bit of "character". It certainly had character!! It started off badly because we couldn't get into the car park (which we were expecting having been advised when booking that the car park had limited parking), but unfortunately there is no drop off point either. However, if you are lucky enough to get into the car park you have to cross the tram lines - so BE CAREFUL! Then we couldn't find the entrance to the hotel. There is no "grand entrance" as you would imagine, instead it is a side door through a built on conservatory at which guests congregate to smoke. Not pleasant. The reception area was very busy, not with elderley people as other reviewers encounted, but with 18 - 25 year olds; it was the Young Farmers AGM in Blackpool that weekend. Also in reception was an engineer trying to repair the fire alarm which was going off intermittently. We soldiered on but when we entered the corridor where our room was located we could hear a party in one of the rooms. Never mind, we thought, it's an old solid hotel, the walls should be fairly thick. Unfortunatly not. Our room was the one next door to the party, and was obviously a room that had been split in two with a flimsy partition, and it was so small that the door knocked into the bed as we entered the room. Considering we had paid extra for a sea view we were more than disappointed and went straight back to reception to ask for our money back. By this time there was chaos all around as a guest had left their bathroom taps running and had flooded the dining room, and another guest was so inebreated he was struggling to stand. Full marks to the staff: they were obviously run ragged by all this commotion but remained calm and polite throughout, and found us another hotel to stay in without quibbling. Although we didn't see much of the hotel, it did look clean and tidy, and is obviously extremely convenient for the promenade and centre of Blackpool. (Just mind the trams!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LilyB0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First impressions weren't good , the main doorway happens to be the smoking area and the outside is covered in fag-ends, this seriously needs to be cleaned on a regular basis. Reception area needs an update, unfriendly staff , rooms were clean though but needs a serious update, breakfast was ok ,we were disappointed as we only chose due to the good location due to both of us being pensioners.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhianwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

having just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel i just had to let everyone know that the hotel pr photos are deceiving having paid £79 for a double seaview room,i feel i didnt get what i expecteduponentry to we were met by an waful odour we had to sparay the room with body spray to mask it,the room was an ok size bath was clean as was bedding,but the rest was not the windows were dirty and had been sealed shut with some sort of tape and some sort of lock on the window,the hotel itself is a very sad condition paint off walls,dirty carpets dirty windows and doors,some of the decor was very gaudy and the hotel was very dated ,staff for the few we saw were miserable and appeared not to take pride in their workperhaps because there were so few staff????????????,the lifts were small dark and dirty,the tv in my room was from another era although it did work,the info leaflet in the room is outdated saying they offer terrestrial tv and 5 channels!!!!!!!!!!!breakfast was ok although staff not very evident we sat ourselves got our breakfast (which was ok)then a waiter appeared and just said tea or coffee,again staff do not appear happy in their work,the window ledges in the dinning room werer dirty the walls gaudy and cipped plaster and paint peeling off the ceiling and walls due to damp,and upon looking out to sea we were met with a beautiful array of weeds and yet more neglecting paintwork on the outside walls by the sea,when we paid by debit card they also charged a fee and they also overcharged us by £10 for a early check in which we did not request or receive as we arrived at 1600hrs,i feel this hotel is misleading in its pr and would not stay there again or tell anyone else to.

Room Tip: not a value for money hotel for lackpool try elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing