We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Grand Metropole a tad apprehensive.... But to my surprise it's not bad. A lovely warm welcome from reception then off to find our room on the 2nd floor. Opened the door nervously... But it's fine. Got a sea view (no extra charge) and the room is like a flat with the shower room being separate to the sleeping area. Clean & tidy, no complaints here so far.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,124 - 2,130 of 3,882 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

it was great value for money, its not the Hilton, but if you want to stay there then book there. the Metropole is a budget hotel giving a lot for little money. really enjoyed my experience and will be booking there again. plus as I am a smoker I was given a designated smoking bedroom which is quite legal just to inform future customers who may be confused that the only time you cant smoke in a hotel bedroom is if the management decide you cant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought your stay offered good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

me and my wife was booked in for two nights at easter, when we arrived,waited 30mins to see reception who was rude and not polite at all. she then told us we had been booked in at the sister hotel 3 miles out of town. when I said if an E-mail had been sent we could have saved our journey and expence. The manager then came, and he was the most disgusting man with a nasty attitude you could ever meet,He didn't even apologise he just said like it or get your money back. so if you book this hotel, be very careful because they take your money and fill all the hotels, rather than tell you its full. on leaving a few guest told me its the best thing that could have happened because the hotel is not clean, and staff are very rude.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel on the 3rd and 4th June. We arrived and waited a short while before being allocated our room... as one of the previous reviews mentioned it was room 005 obviously in the same area as this other family. We walked past the two restaurants Worral and Promenade down a corridor around a corner past various fairly nice looking rooms to an area and a room which I can only say reminded me of what a cell might be like. Tiny with a standard wardrobe in it which was extremely difficult to pass in order to access the bed. The en suite had obviously been added at some later date and took up a chunk of this cell like accommodation. The TV was of the older fashion design so as mentioned took up a complete corner. Flat screen on wall may have helped room space or a hanging area for clothes NOT the said wardrobe. Two tea bags were provided... nothing else and copious sugars... we don't take sugar. However on asking at reception we were given more for the room and we went out and bought our own milk. The room , i.e bathroom and bedding were spotless, so no complaints there. However the room smelt of cigarettes and there was no opening window to alleviate this.
The breakfast... we were allocated the Promenade room.(never offered the opportunity of paying extra for the Worral.) was actually fine , however on the two days we were there we found that the breakfast was cool. This must be due to the heaters not being adequate to keep the food warm. Easily dealt with if the Hotel would act on these reviews which it does not seem to do.
The same was in the evening. Half cold food. We and several others queried why we were not offered the Worral room if we had been prepared to pay the extra but were told it was probably the same food there other than the offer of a cheese board. We just felt that we were offered a second class experience. There were many elderly people there and they would definitely not complain.... very bad experience all around. Yes you could complain and be offered a regrade but this is really not the point. You should be offered good service for your hard earned money. This hotel desperately needs someone in there to sort it out. We would never go again and on our review my daughter who had used this for conferences which she arranged will not be using the venue again... Feel very strongly that something should be done. Beth, in the dining room was very helpful as were the reception staff.

Room Tip: Do not accept room on ground floor in the low numbers . These are the ones I am referring to as hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florence-1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been tempted to try the Metropole for some time. In view of all the negative reviews, we decided to try it for one night. We booked a Family 3 room with a sea view. We were given a Family 4 room, with a sea view. The room was really large, with a double and two single beds. We had a jacuzzi bath and the shower was really good. The room was well decorated and clean, The bathroom appeared to have been refurbished recently. We were in room 375. The room is one where smoking is allowed and there was a faint smell of cigarette smoke. We had a good night's sleep, there was no noise.
We were allocated to the Worrall Restaurant. This is well worth the upgrade. The service was good. There was not much choice for the evening meal. It was either steak and kidney pie or fish, with chips, boiled potatoes, mushy peas and mixed veg. We had the pie and it was very tasty. The soup was good and was brought to the table. The deserts were good.
We paid £77 for 2 adults and a 7 years old child, plus £3 for parking. It was good value for money. We checked in at about 1pm and were given our key cards and were told that the rooms would be available at 3pm, no need to go back to reception. Victoria, the Receptionist was pleasant and efficient.
It is well worth paying for the sea view room and upgrading to the Worrall Restaurant.
All in all we had a good stay and will go there again.

Room Tip: Unless you are a smoker, avoid rooms on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank knockout203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought that your room was well decorated and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On the ground floor, at the end of a long corridor, past the suites, up the ramp and round a couple of corners is a room that most people would class as a cupboard. Grand Metropole have added a bathroom and called it room 4, a double room with en suite. It is without doubt the smallest room I have ever stayed in. The bed must have been the smallest size that still qualified it as a double bed, although to be fair if it had been any larger, we would probably have been sleeping in the street. To make matters worse a wardrobe was placed in the entrance partially blocking access to the room. As the wardrobe was a standard 50cm wide it left only about 40 cm to access the room, which probably contravenes health and safety laws. It was positioned so that the corner of the wardrobe was approximately 15cm away from the foot of the bed, which meant getting in the room was a squeeze at best. The room was clean which was helpful as there were signs that during our 2 night stay the bath was not cleaned. The towels that we left on the floor of the bathroom were not exchanged but simply folded and placed on the rail. We had to take the damp towels to reception to exchange. The television was a crt type which was quite bulky for this room. Given the lack of space a flat screen would have been a slight improvement. There was a very tatty information leaflet which was out of date which stated the evening meal was at six although the room key gave the right time as five o'clock. The room was very stuffy and it is suggested to keep the windows shut for security, but i noticed the inside window didn't actually close. We booked this trip in March through National holidays and were the first on our coach to book. I do not believe we were given this room because the hotel was full as only half the restaurant was available for use for the evening meal. This demonstrates the lack of respect the hotel has for it's guests. The food was adequate for the price, £99 each for 2 nights bed, breakfast and evening meal and although I am happy with a full English breakfast, the choice was a little limited for anyone who isn't. I am sure there are people who enjoy their stay at this hotel, but the room we were given meant we did not want to spend time in the hotel. People tell me I should have complained and we might have got a better room, but why should I have to complain to get a reasonable service that should come as standard. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone,why take a gamble on what room you are allocated. I know National Holidays are quite popular but if I get a room like this again they will not receive my custom again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Travelled on national holiday trip, so we thought the hotel would have been checked out by them as a good place to stay, but no ! We where greeted( sort of ) as we got of the coach by a very unpolite man telling us we can't go in rooms till 3pm ( we arrived at 1pm) so just leave your bags in the ballroom with every one else's and the porter will just put them outside your door till you come back lol...we said to the guy ' we'll anyone could take them" his reply was " we'll we won't be liable " what a great welcome.. So we carried them round Blackpool till we returned laters. Room was ok . Like other reviews, dirty hotel , unfriendly staff .food was that bad we ate out on our second night, worse then school dinners , every window in the hotel was filthy inside and out and not been cleaned for many months. Dinner room was a health risk, we sat in the window both mornings for breakfast (only ate the cearel) and the same crumbs and food from previous day was still ion the floor, along with the dead flies on the filthy window ledges and the 3ft weeds as view.. Yes you may say its a budget hotel, but cleaning is a major issue in this place..as for the staff .. No comment..the woman on the desk was very rude to on of our fellow travellers..I don't need a generic reply thanks as you have been sending them for many months to other pepole and obviously nothing has changed... Would I say again ... Never...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £32 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing