We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On arrival at the hotel it looked good! Large & grand but the plastic conservatory (actually a bar & cafe for the general public) added onto a grand old building seemed disappointingly tacky. We received a warm welcome, given that we hadn't booked. We were simply drawn to the external grandeur of the building, It became apparent that inside it was in need of a good clean & refurbish (the reception areas). Onto our room… this was functional but a bit on the small side. The furniture is very old & dated but clean. The bathroom was a decent size, clean & functional, so no major complaints there. The dining area however is a whole new experience… the dining room itself was very large & in need of a good decorate. The service was ok as we were shown to a table, asked what drinks we would like & then encouraged to help ourselves to something that I can only describe as a school canteen style of helping yourself. The food was largely picked over & not very hot & seemed completely tasteless. Desert was also a bit of a let down. Just a choice of picked over cakes & gateaux. I'd say the food was the worst part of the whole experience.
All in all this hotel is simply "ok" for a budget hotel. Could do with improvement on the dining & general decor. However, It was an absolute bargain & I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for…

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlmcwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,151 - 2,157 of 3,913 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Let's get the positive stuff in first - it was quite central to the main 'amenities' (does Blackpool have any?) and there is a tram stop outside and car park on site that's about it. We were there for a friends stag do which you might say 'what do you expect' but I expected more for what we paid.

On arrival the reception staff were very helpful I have to say and the hotel staff so no issues there but the carpet looked like it needed replacing 20 years ago and the building itself is in a very poor state of repair. The is a national chain of 'Britannia' hotels and it is in desperate need of a multi-million pound refurbishment if you ask me.

Our room was clear and comfortable albeit a bit noisy but bearing in mind where the hotel is and where any hotel is in Dump - pool you're never far away from a very noisy bar, chip shop, people spewing or having sex in the street and other such awfulness.

It catered for the 'older' crowd I think, more like a nursing home than a hotel - bingo, 'turns' and other such things were available if you wanted that sort of thing and if you couldn't be bothered walking up the stairs there was always a stannah stair lift to hand.

Breakfast was like a holiday camp canteen plenty of it, cheap, cheerful and the waiting staff had multiple stained uniforms looked a bit dirty and didn't give an impression of a clean establishment but we were hungry so ate it.

Pay more and stay somewhere else is my view how anyone could stay here more than two nights is beyond me.

Room Tip: There aren't any it's total dump noisy no matter where you stay. Britannia should be asham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northeasttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the third time my partner and I have stayed at this Hotel.I don't know what it is but I quite like it.Basically you get what you pay for and the staff are very nice.The rooms are ok but not special but I must say its in an unbeatable location.Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose hotel for position and that was great. On arrival couldn't find entrance so went through a tatty conservatory on side which seamed to double up as a cafe/bar. Not very inviting.
General appearance not too bad but needs a good clean and modernization. It's a combination of little things that let hotel down badly. Only one towel in bathroom, only one tea and coffee on tray and very basic toiletries although bathroom was very nice. On talking to staff we were informed that it had declined badly since Britannia had taken it over from Butlins.
It's a shame because it could be a lovely hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Grand Metropole a tad apprehensive.... But to my surprise it's not bad. A lovely warm welcome from reception then off to find our room on the 2nd floor. Opened the door nervously... But it's fine. Got a sea view (no extra charge) and the room is like a flat with the shower room being separate to the sleeping area. Clean & tidy, no complaints here so far.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

it was great value for money, its not the Hilton, but if you want to stay there then book there. the Metropole is a budget hotel giving a lot for little money. really enjoyed my experience and will be booking there again. plus as I am a smoker I was given a designated smoking bedroom which is quite legal just to inform future customers who may be confused that the only time you cant smoke in a hotel bedroom is if the management decide you cant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought your stay offered good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

me and my wife was booked in for two nights at easter, when we arrived,waited 30mins to see reception who was rude and not polite at all. she then told us we had been booked in at the sister hotel 3 miles out of town. when I said if an E-mail had been sent we could have saved our journey and expence. The manager then came, and he was the most disgusting man with a nasty attitude you could ever meet,He didn't even apologise he just said like it or get your money back. so if you book this hotel, be very careful because they take your money and fill all the hotels, rather than tell you its full. on leaving a few guest told me its the best thing that could have happened because the hotel is not clean, and staff are very rude.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £33 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing