We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Week end away”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were really pleased with our stay at the Metropole Hotel .No problem checking in the bedroom
and bedding all nice and clean,also white fluffy towels in the bathroom. Good choice of menu
plenty of helpful staff, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was for a short break to stay longer request a room not opposite Nelly Denes Night Club an...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy_805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    668
    557
    1,218
See reviews for
801
1,553
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

took my 3year old granddaughter on holiday for first time,and the staff were very helpful.booked family sea view which she loved.the room was big and had plenty storage.jacuzzi bath is to die for.room was immaculate and we slept all night without interruption.food is good as it is a buffet and you can choose what you like.waitress was very helpful and we got turkey dinosaurs for grandchild.car park is only 3pounds per day which is very cheap for blackpool.would definitely stay again when we next visit blackpool.

Room Tip: sea view on floor 2 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that your Granddaughter enjoyed here stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just arrived home after a couple of days away at the Metropole again.
Hotel is in a great location so you can park up and not have to move your car until you go home. We love going to the Metropole as the staff are very helpful and if you have any problems they try to sort them out as soon as they can.
Every night there is entertainment on only fault there is that its not on long enough. The singers James and Daniella give their all along with the two young ladies dancing and they all seem to be enjoying themselves which makes it more entertaining, the young man on the lighting and sound should be mentioned also.
People tend to leave many negative reviews but I find that if I have a problem I usually see a member of staff to get it rectified.
Credit where credits due,the bedding is spotless, parts of the hotel need updating but a place that size has a constant rolling maintenance programme.
We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room because its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the Entertainment was good.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Grand and found it excellent value for money. On arrival the reception desk was pleaseing and efficient. the bedroom was clean and tidy. the buffet style meals were of good quality and plenty of choice. The waiters were very efficient when needed,and the buffet was constantly being kept full....If I was to nit pick I would more smiles, it is a large hotel and needs constant upkeep to keep the decor in a very high standard, My biggest complaint(nit picking again) was when the buffet was being replaced from the kitchen was that a gruby cloth was over the cooks shoulder. TAKEING ALL INTO ACCOUNT IT IS AN EXCELLENT HOTEL AND VALUE FOR MONEY AND AM PLANING TO STAY AGAIN THIS YEAR.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Grand Metropole Hotel is situated in the quieter end of Blackpool. Hotel room had everything we needed for our week's stay. Shower facilities were very good - a home from home experience.

The Entertainment acts in the evening were great and the restaurant food was okay - good selection of English breakfast and cereals. Dinner was soup and a wide selection of main meal foods buffet. Staff were attentive.

All in all we had a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Our room never had window views. So perhaps ask at the time of booking if you would prefer a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location could not be better, as near to North Pier, tower and all amenities. From the outside the hotel is a really grand imposing building. Inside some of the rooms and features such as the stairs are really quite impressive.
Overall the hotel could do with some general updating and painting. However I was told that my room was one that had not yet been refurbished and it was acceptable. The breakfast was okay although a little more choice would have been better as there were no mushrooms.
The entertainment was very good and the staff were good. In particular the bar staff were very cheery. If updating and refurbishment schedule continues this could be a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the outside this looks like a beautiful old building but once inside things take a drastic change, its dirty, unloved and falling apart at the seams. On arrival we were checked in and shown to our "executive suite", a room along a corridor badly in need of a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint, the room was filthy with peanuts under the bed, dirty tissue screwed up behind the bedside cabinets, filthy mirrors and dust every where. On complaining to reception I was told the night staff would be in at 6.30pm and would clean it then, that was at 3.30pm !!. I demanded that it was either cleaned immediately or moved to another room. The new room was spotless and much smaller but at least we had a view. The breakfast was delicious with a help yourself buffet. The entertainment, such as it was wasn't too bad but lasted only 45mins.The bingo tickets cost £1 each so if you played 6 books each session would cost £48 per night for two people, the top prize on the night we played was £38 so didn't even cover the cost providing you won that is.The staff seemed quite miserable on the whole and not very helpful. A lot of guests staying at the same time as us were very unhappy with some even complaining that their rooms didn't even have bedding on when they checked in and some had no towel change in three days.There can be no excuse except poor management as check in time is 3pm and checkout 10am allowing 5 hrs to clean rooms and make beds. We will certainly not be returning to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone, its hard to believe that it has a poster displayed saying that it has been recommended by tripadvisor !!

Room Tip: if you smoke then ask for a room on the 3rd floor as its the smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeny62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing