We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Dated poorly decorated grubby. Food was okay except sausage at breakfast felt sorry for staff in dinning room,on Saturday evening only two hard working friendly guys waiting tables . A large group turned up for evening meal (group staying in hotel)they were not prepared for so many diners. Our room had no shower fitting on taps in bath it looked like been removed and not put back ,wall paper peeling of wall bathroom had been papered over old paper, damp patches , no lock on door to bathroom,painted over. Beds comfortable and with large bay window over looking sea which sort of made up a little for the rest. Staff had couldn't careless attitude except for guys in dinning room who were friendly and couldn't do enough for residents. Was only £35 pound pp/pn and good location ,don't think we would return Margaret Barrow in Furness

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,124 - 2,130 of 3,908 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had to queue for 40 minutes to check in, and there were a number of other guests waiting to complain about the state of their dirty and unpleasant rooms. We found our room & corridor smelled strongly of stale cigarette smoke. The room was not clean, and extremely scruffy, with dirty chairs and carpets, very old and battered furniture and the bed was as hard as a board. The windows in both the bedroom & bathroom did not fit properly, and a strong draught blew through them. However there was a nice sea view, but the bathroom was very cold despite the weather being warm, and there was no heating in the room. The cooked breakfast was adequate at best, and the staff barely spoke to us, and certainly didn't make eye contact. Two members of staff were complaining loudly about colleagues. The room cost £89 for the night, terrible value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Booked one night as part of a Superbreak trip for a concert. Very disappointed. Room was tiny, overlooking the extracts and bin yards and 'pigeon loft' as this was where all the pigeons met, so feathers and bird muck covered the windows.small old fashioned 12in TV, stained sheets, missing handles on the wardrobe, very uncomfortable bed which banged the headboard every time you rolled over. Had very little sleep, in fact my husband gave up at 4am and went to sleep on the sofas in reception! Service was poor, breakfast disappointing. So in summary, give this hotel a wide birth wen looking for somewhere to stay. One good point was the shower, as it was hot, couldn't wait to check out.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We booked our room for £60 a night, I think our cats bed is bigger. Smelly rooms. Hard beds. If you are reading this book in to a smaller hotel or a b and b. RUN DON'T DO IT!!!

the windows are bolted shut too and the bed is right next to the toilet.

Not enough space to swing a cat.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We checked into our room, small dirty room full of cigarette smoke and dirty ashtrays. I was expected to stay there with my baby! I went to complain but had to get in the queue while other guests also complained about dirty rooms. We were moved to another room that looked like something from 1970's. Never again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baileys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

after reading all the terrible reviews about this hotel I would not have gone but was going as part of a group and did not want to let them down well im glad i did go as was plesantly suprised room was quite small but everything was really clean staff were very friendly, the evening meal could perhaps had a bit more choice but what there was was good and the breakfast was very good all our party were more than satisfied, the entertainment was 1st class so if anyone else is put off don't be.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful and the entertainment to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we went for a hen weekend the 4 of us and we had the family room, we did have a nice sea view and for the location it was quiet, that is the only good thing i can say about the hotel besides the location....... The room was dirty, beds lumpy, not enough towels, the breakfast was just not nice the fry was cold and the service was brutal, the hotel needs a good clean, the carpets are old, ripped and dirty, the hotel needs a serious paint job, simple things like cleaning the windows or mowing the grass outside could even help, I definitely would not stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#60 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £31 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing