We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arrival the girl on the desk said there wasn't a booking under our name, I asked her to check again and she did... and guess what there was!
She didn't tell us where to go just that we were in room 138.
Got to the room after nearly 20 minutes of searching... Got to the room, wasn't too bad, was tiny and didn't have a view of anything other than a dirty room top which smelt quite bad, people had flung nappies out the window!!
There was no remote control for TV and buttons weren't working so had to ask for another remote, the manager kindly brought one up without a problem.
On the 2nd Morning we got a letter saying that our room was going to have some repairs done so got a free upgrade to suite - WOW AMAZING!!!!
Loved it would stay here again if I was able to book a suite!!!!
Breakfast wasn't all that great, sausages full of fat, toast.. well was really warm bread.
Breakfast staff and bar staff made us feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Would only book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,969 - 1,975 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Arrived at 10.30 today 27/06/14 after informing the hotel via the website that if possible we will arrive between 10 and 11 am as we have a wedding to attend we arrived and I said good morning ( the answer was - it's morning but it's not good what do you want) really warm and welcome reception we asked can we check in and explained the situation the answer " check in after 3.00pm" I explained and the answer was"check in after 3.00pm) ok I said getting nowhere can we at least leave our bags. Yes no problem leave them by the pool table in a complete unsecured area and the hotel accepts no responsibility for them??? So put bags back in the car and luckily called a friend who let us change at there hotel ( they also arrived before check in time and it was not a problem) left the wedding to go back to our hotel and change for the evening. Equally frosty receptionist horrible hotel and bedroom was dirty went to use the bathroom only to be met by the previous incumbents toilet mess ( no2) in the loo. Room smells 1 pillow each and just not good. Don't stay here as there's loads more choice in Blackpool. The whole place needs cleaning up a paint and redecorate and staff need tuition in customer service. Website looks ok but is misleading

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Recently I stayed at this hotel again, the offer was very reasonable, my room overlooked the North Pier and close to the lift, the staff very friendly, very good selection of food at breakfast and evening meal, of course this ex Butlins hotel is very old for which you must make allowances but for value for money it is the best, I could also enjoy the facilities of the sister hotel Norbreck castle, i/e swimming, sauna, spa and steam room. If prices are good for 2015 I shall rebook in confidence, I even had a spa bath in the bathroom as a bonus

Room Tip: phone and request what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought all aspects of your stay were good and that you took advantage of teh Norbreck's leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I sent an email to the Britannia customer services 5 days ago, hoping to get an explanation as to why, after paying £168 for "Best available bed & breakfast", double room with sea view for two nights, (Thursday & Friday) before I wrote a report here.
I have not had a reply from them, so here is my report.
My wife & I ended up in a pokey little room with a double bed (46 inches wide, double??) with a TV not much bigger than a library book.
The tea served both in the room & in the restaurant was the worst tasting tea ever, even worse than hospital tea.
It is small consolation that we had a sea view!
The bathroom was the better of the two rooms.
This is one of the few hotels I have stayed in where most staff appear to be quite happy ignoring the guests.
Breakfast was generally ok although I'm not sure about a container with in excess of 100 limp slices of toast!
I have been staying in hotels, either on business or holiday for 50 years & this place is right at the bottom of the pile.
NEVER, never again!!
I took photographs of the room to show friends & relatives how small the room & bed were & just how very scruffy one of the window ledges was!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paradad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in a superior roon. Any problems highlighted were dealt with quickly. Enjoyed the stay very much and will be booking again.
Good value on the £2 per pint before 7:45 but expensive after at £3.25.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought you got value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Grand Metropole gave us a nice room with sea and promenade views from a corner bay window, and the room was spacious. Bed was not comfortable. Only had a 14" CRT TV. Failed to make free Wifi work. Don't bother with dinner B&B packages, Food may be cheap but evening food pretty poor. B'fast was OK however. In house entertainment pretty wet - hard working single singer cabaret, followed by bingo that was cancelled as not enough cards sold, then taped Swing music. Had the huge dance floor to ourselves, so we entertained the 10 people in a 200 seater ballroom.
Good access to the beach and town. Off street parking was a bonus.
All in all, this was just a sleeping place for us and suited OK on location, price, and parking - so at a very low price its hard to complain, but certainly this would not be a place to choose for a full board short break or the in-house entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a lot, if they are not full ( and they were only 20% occupied at a guess when we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought we offered value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

highly recommended!!we stayed here on the 14th june for 2nites.the room was excellent,very clean!! we got upgraded to a sea view room..i'd like to say a big thanks to paul for all your help on the phone sorting my smokers room out wot booking.com mess up!!.the staff are very helpful and very polite.brekkie was way better than i expected for the price we payed to stay in this beautiful old victorian hotel...thank you grand metropole for a nice stay..we'll defo be coming back to the grand metropole...kind regards,bobby boy!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought that Paul in particular was helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £35 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing