We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 30 June 2014

To be fair, I would start off by saying that the room was clean and we were probably the only ones from a group that got a good view. But the rest of the hotel is far below average. The communal areas, lifts and hallways are filthy and saying the decor is outdated would be an understatement. Peeling wallpaper, musty carpets and water-stained ceilings. The breakfast was shocking. Bacon resembled gammon steak, fried eggs swimming in oil, scrambled eggs resembling victorian sponge in water and a dish of tinned tomatoes that wouldn't even make a half decent pasta sauce. The waiters were very rude, one for coffee, one for tea, some clearing and nobody willing to bridge the gap and help you. I think the worst is that none of the staff take any pride in the place, I can't say I blame them, but it really shows and makes for a terrible atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, at least book a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francois341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,104 - 2,110 of 3,906 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just back from a 2 night family break at this hotel. It's in dire need of upgrading. Rooms old fashioned, telly about 20 years old, no internet in the rooms and the windows need a good clean. The breakfast experience was diabolical. We were told "just find a seat where you can" with all the tables full of dirty dishes and no one seemed to be in charge. Breakfast today was so disorganised - having to wait for clean plates, fresh glasses, hot trays being replenished and many of the customers are OAPs. No one seemed to be in charge - all young staff running around. Have stayed in many hotels abroad and in the UK but this is the worst I have experienced. The hotel is in a great location and has no much potential but until some money is spent by Britannia Hotel Group it will continue to provide a poor standard of service.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELAINEJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel from 11/4/2014 - 13/4/2014. Room 120.
SERVICE
The service was impeccable when we arrived , the short haired blond receptionist was most polite and helped us with everything we asked . The bar staff were well mannered and the glasses were CLEAN and enjoyed the daily offer of £2 for a pint of carlsberg (very cheap for blackpool) as for service during breakfast and tea well now ive seen the reviews on here and you are WRONG notibly tom and the others worked very very hard they didnt take a moments rest and a finished plate was taken away within 2 minutes so no dont listen to others and as for the chef well the food quality was spotless (seriously thank you i loved the lot) and there is plenty of choices to be had.
.
ROOM

My room had a white bed sheet and duvet and there wasnt a mark on it the floor wad clean , bathroom was clean
. My only fault was the fact we were on the main road side if the hotel and the club across the road was loud ( didnt affect my sleep so not bothered) and anyone who complains the hotel about this hang your heads in shame ( why would a multi million pound hotel want a club nearby ?? Its not their fault)

OVERALL

the hotel is in good shape in a good part of blackpool is very cheap compared to others and the staff are superb so im going back later this year and if you get the chance i would suggest you grasp the oppertunity its a gem and all the hotel staff should be proud .
I would like to take a moment to thank all the staff from the cleaner for my spotless room the chef for lovely food the reception staff for there help and all other staff for wonderful polite service .thank you for my stay and the lovely postcard you sent

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcclarki89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought the staff were helpful and that all aspects of your stay were good.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night really could jot have done two. However, the hotel is excellently located and having parking is a real bonus for £3.00. The hotel is a large grand building but needs attention. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful and obviously worked hard downstairs but the cleanliness of the hotel really needs addressing. The hotel and rooms are filthy. Salt and pepper felt tacky from all the grease And dirt around them. The rooms was big and the bedding and towels were clean the rest of the rooms was dirty. Wallpaper was peeling off the walls and stained tiles on the bathroom ceiling. The 14 inch old fashioned tv did make us giggle tho. Housekeeper needs a talking too but for £70 B and B you cannot expect the ritz.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived back early from a 4 night stay (could only stand the smell for 3 nights!!!). This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The first thing that hits you on entering the hotel is the foul smell!! - Then I find out I am being charged £12 to park my car in their car park?? This is not mentioned anywhere during the online booking process? I am then informed my room is on the third floor which is accessible via the lift. If I thought the smell of the hotel was bad this was nothing compared with the foul smell in both lifts!!! I can only describe the smell as a combination of cigarette smoke, wee and dead bodies but you had to hold your breath whilst in the lifts as the stench was appalling!!! - Onto the room now, I was greeted by a frosted window which opened slightly at the top, I managed to force my head out to see the view! I wished I hadn't bothered cos all you could see where drainpipes, air con units and pigeon s**** !! The room itself was clean enough but had only 1 chair in it so me and my wife had to take turns sitting in that!! The bed was tiny but comfortable enough I suppose. The TV was like something out of the Ark!! Only 5 channels available - not even freeview?? and more snow on the TV picture than a winter Olympics !! Never mind lets get unpacked as we have our evening meal to look forward to!! YUK the food was actually vile and totally uneatable!!! It was worse than school dinners!!! I can only describe all the meals as vomit on a plate!!! The staff were all sullen and surly and quite clearly didn't want to be there!! Considering this break had cost me £300 I wouldn't say it was cheap!!! I will never ever return to this cesspit of a hotel and will be writing to environmental health with regards to the food being served and the stench in the hotel as this is totally unacceptable.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mjones8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

last year this was a great hotel, this year it was hell, dirty rooms, drains in bath dirty and very smelly, food was just a joke, very run down place, but more important what happened to the staff ? no one smiles, i think they are stopped from speaking to you,,,, receptionist heard to say to incoming guest, " you can,t check in yet, we have to get rid of this lot first".....say,s it all.

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicefranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arrival the girl on the desk said there wasn't a booking under our name, I asked her to check again and she did... and guess what there was!
She didn't tell us where to go just that we were in room 138.
Got to the room after nearly 20 minutes of searching... Got to the room, wasn't too bad, was tiny and didn't have a view of anything other than a dirty room top which smelt quite bad, people had flung nappies out the window!!
There was no remote control for TV and buttons weren't working so had to ask for another remote, the manager kindly brought one up without a problem.
On the 2nd Morning we got a letter saying that our room was going to have some repairs done so got a free upgrade to suite - WOW AMAZING!!!!
Loved it would stay here again if I was able to book a suite!!!!
Breakfast wasn't all that great, sausages full of fat, toast.. well was really warm bread.
Breakfast staff and bar staff made us feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Would only book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#60 of 73 in Blackpool
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £33 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing