We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my fiance. We had never stayed here before and looking at the reviews i was a bit worried. When we arrived we paid the rate stated for our room but was then told we had been upgraded to a suite room! The hotel decor was a little dated but the staff were friendly and we really enjoyed our stay! The hotel was close enough to all the local ammenities. I would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siimone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that we awere able to upgrade you free of charge..

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    667
    664
    555
    1,201
See reviews for
800
1,541
152
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

After our disappointment at the imperial hotel we decided to try a weekend at the Metropole Blackpool we were given a suite which was called billy Butlin suite it was superb we had a great weekend everything was was fine and staff were brilliant nothing was to much trouble , we have now booked to go again cannot wait thank you Metropole

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought that the Billy Butlin Suite was presentable.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked into the Metropole as a birthday treat for my partner...we couldn't book until 3pm then were given a room the size of a cupboard and not enough room to even walk around the bed!!..my partner went down to reception and asked for another room, we were given a lovely room with a sea view, this was the best thing about this hotel. The decor is very poor, the staff all walk about looking miserable and defiantly lacking in customer service. The breakfast is the worst breakfast ever..eggs look like they've come from joke shop , cups were dirty, staff unhelpful, we will not be staying here again. Stick to the smaller friendlier B&B...

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded if not happy with room your given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having had to verbally make a complaint at the hotel on 2nd March this year I was then asked to complete a written questionnaire, adding my complaint in writing. I was very surprised to receive an email response from the manager thanking me for my positive feedback as they so often only hear about the negative and asking me to put something on tripadvisor!!! I have emailed the manager of this hotel on two occasions indicating that my feedback wasn't 'positive' and requesting Britannia Hotels' Complaints Procedure, no response, therefore, nothing positive can be said. This hotel is in such a good position and I guess you only get what you pay for but it's a shame that the management are so slack, obviously they don't treat complaints very highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your entry.

It is wholly un-true to say we do not treat complaints seriously. The fact that I am responding on this site is evidence of that. If you have asked me for the company procedure I will have given it to you.

If you want to e-mail me again on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com I will send it to you again.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Disgustive smells dated furniture dirty run down bathrooms.
Had to change bedroom as my girlfriend was very upset. Will never go to this place. Needs tlc and hard work.
Horrible linen. The only good thing is the location was fab but image does no justice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the Metropole in Blackpool this weekend for the first time and I was surprised.

I work in Blackpool and had a last minute invite to Viva showbar (which is amazing) so I decided to stay over. The Metropole was the cheapest hotel coming up when I searched online and is centrally located so I booked it thinking 'it's just a bed for a night'.

In case you didn't know there are 3000 hotels on one side of the street in Blackpool and the Metropole is the only one on the other side of the tram tracks.

Actually I've stayed in hotels that cost four or five times what I paid at the Metropole and they've been inferior.

Sure it needs doing up - it's nearly 250 years old - but my room was clean, it was quiet and it is about the closest hotel when having a night out in Blackpool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you thought that we were offering value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

if you don't mind a dirty room,windows,flaky paint on the walls and ceilings,dirty carpets,sub standard food, you wont mind staying here.
I think a youth hostel would be a lot better,we paid £90 for 2 nights b and b, credit card charge,and £6 parking costs, plus £20 for two 3 course evening meals, a thick soup made of liquidized veg from the day before,3 pieces of stewing steak with a small square of flaky pastry on top,frozen veg,oven chips,and a piece of cheap gateaux from Iceland. Please don't try the tea and coffee.2 bad 2 drink!
the only good thing is the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizatteesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing