We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Not as bad as some say, yes it is old but we like that our room was fine and clean we had a full week and enjoyed it. The food was very good and plenty of it the waiting staff was friendly the reception staff was mostly friendly some of the female could use a smile on there face, but would stay in this hotel again, don't believe all the bad reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bhbrianart44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you found the food quality to be good.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,721)
There are newer reviews for Grand Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,820 - 1,826 of 3,721 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked 3 nights at the Metropole for a long Bank Holiday weekend. Having stayed at a hotel in the same group earlier in the year we were sure this hotel would be as good and we would have a great weekend. How wrong we were. The reception staff on arrival were clearly tired after a busy day. They directed us to a lift that was grubby and dirty. The corridor we exited onto was depressing and filthy. When we found our room I was scared to open the door - and justifiably so. We had booked a Superior double room. I dread to think what a standard room looks like. It was only possible to shimmy round the bed if my hubby was sitting on the bed. Floor space was non-existant. The sea view was invisible through windows that cannot have been cleaned for 10 years plus. The bathroom was pure filth, as can be seen in the pictures I have attached. I did the stoic English thing and tried to spend the night here but did not get any sleep because of the shouting and banging in the corridor all night and the plumbing noises everythime someone on our landing used a bathroom. At 8.00 in the morning we went for breakfast. The 'canteen' was full of starving people who had never seen food before. It was a complete cattle market. We turned round, got our bags and left. The 15 hour experience cost us the full £287 we had paid for the 3 nights we intended to stay. HELL - DO NOT GO THERE. We went to Travellodge instead for the rest of our long weekend and would liken it to a palace compared the the Metropole.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank aloelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a three day stay at the grand. From check in to check out everything was excellent. The staff were very helpful nothing was a trouble to them. The food was very enjoyable as much or as little as you wanted several choices at each mealtime. Entertainment at night was also very good. Would definitely stay here again.do

Room Tip: double room sea view excellent and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gordon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that found teh Team to be helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and myself and other members stayed at the Metropole over the bank holiday weekend as we were attending a family wedding near Blackpool. It certainly does not deserve its title as 'Grand'. As soon as you pull in the car park it is plain to see from the state of the outside that this hotel has seen better days and it gets no better when you go inside. Reception staff were not at all friendly and all look as though they have had enough. Our room was on the third floor adjacent to the road which proved to be extremely noisy the whole night through because of the proximity to the bars and nightclubs. Each night we were treated to fights, foul language and police sirens underneath our room which I understand is not the fault of the hotel but something which prospective travellers need to be aware of. The decor is very tired and the carpets in the hallway covered in stains. As you proceeded along the corridor to our room there was a strong smell of drains which never went away. We had no bath towels in the room which I had to report twice before it was rectified and then the next day the maid did not leave us any hand towels. Breakfast was very stressful-overcrowded and tables not cleared quick enough, it was a mission to find a table every morning of our four night stay. We were told we needed to go to evening meal at 5pm which was too early for us so I asked if we could attend the later sitting at 6.30 only to be told there was a coach party in at that time so it would be very crowded and we may not get a seat. We therefore stayed on the early sitting. Food was bland and tasteless. I originally thought this hotel was a good price- but for what you get it is not. We would not return.

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face the road
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank shannonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Booked through booking.com a different hotel to start with and had a call 20 mins later to say they had no rooms, customer services then swapped us to the metropole and confirmed the room, so we travel the 150 miles to be told on reception by a woman that must been eating nettles they had no room for us they were full, the best they could do was move us to the Norbreck castle (dog kennel £40 a night) with no refund (we paid double that) it's also too far to walk into town so there would be more cost...this I refused and told them they would need to sort this as the hotel was still showing availability as I'd loaded it onto my phone, she then blamed hotels.com but they can only show what the hotel tells them,which she didn't like and said I'd have to wait whilst they prepared a room, so 8.40pm we sit and wait for half an hour and we then got a room. We were given G4 double and admit it was clean but really really small but sufficient as you only sleep there, breakfast was a bit like a cattle market, find your own table and then go to the buffet, this was OK but they need some prep skills, bacon is obviously bought in large frozen packs and cooked from frozen in lumps so it sits in the serving tray as a big stuck together lump of meat, the rest is Ok but well picked over as no staff keep it tidy, just come and tip fresh onto old. Bottom line is the whole hotel is getting dated but can understand this as big hotels like this take a lot of upkeep, it's clean and basic but not worth over £50 a night, it was once a big grand hotel but that was in the 60-70's. Go find a small independent where you get personal service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark_JulieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with.

Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary.

Again thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback, and apologies again that it was necessary to do so.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just come back from a two night stay at the hotel. It is a lovely old building that needs work doing to it. Our room was nice and clean. The only problem was one of the towels was not very clean which was not a huge problem. All the staff were very nice. Car park was a bit tight at times. I really think they did need to sort out the smokers by the main door as i have asthma i did not like having to walk through it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ge0rdiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

I was particulaly pleased to read that you founmd your room to be of a good standard of cleanliness.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Fantastic old hotel ground floor twin room yer needs a bit off TLC but beds spotless bathroom spotless look forward 2 go bk breakfast super hot can't complain car park was cheep enough stayed here few times fantastic spot spare cover for bed witch was clean

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#59 of 73 in Blackpool
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing