We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Rochdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Weekend for a family”
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Stayed with my extended family for a weekend. Everyone - apart from one person - had a good room from the basement level to floors 1 and 3. The only problem room was on floor 3 opposite the road side. This room was small and noisy at night due to the night club opposite. The other rooms were clean, well decorated and furnished with modern bathrooms - some had jacuzzi baths.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK - reasonable choice and well prepared (the eggs were a little oily!). Sufficient free car parking and the ground floor lounge area was good for a large family group to sit together for a drink and chat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RochdaleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    674
    680
    569
    1,263
See reviews for
819
1,582
155
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Me and my partner arrived at the GRAND metropole on blackpool seafront excited about a few days away, but were horrified by how run down this supposedly 3* hotel was!
We checked into the hotel which took fifteen minutes as their was only one person at reception and lots of others just milling around. Got to our room and we could not believe how grimey and out right depressing it was.
After having a look over the bathroom and bedding which looked like it had already been used I decided to change room, they changed my room for one down the hallway which was still as shocking if not worse as you could not
See out of the windows for the bird poo all over them!
After this I decided to ring and get a room somewhere else as could not face the prospect of spending to long nights in this hotel!! To my disbelief and considering the fact I was not in the hotel longer than 30 minutes they still tried to
Charge us for two nights! Please do yourself a favour do not book this hotel you will be miserabley disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stylist83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

please avoid this hotel...advert stated "has been recently refurbished"..dirty rooms,could not see through dirty windows, you could write your name in the dirt on window sills.1950's furniture, 2 inch mattresses which we were told "standard issue", i asked if that was to the prisons ?, very rude abrupt unhelpful staff,,,,the breakfast had been kept warm for a week, dirty cutlery, coffee like sludge...cant say anymore !!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

We have tried to contact you directly to investigate your comments, but have been unsuccessful in receiving a response. If you would like us to investigate your comments further, please contact me directly, on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.com .

We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations and hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our standards and service.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

my disabled mother and i stayed for 2 nights on 12 march , the room we were given met all her needs, there was a fridge for her insulin, a wetroom shower and high toilet, there was a spa bath for my use in a separate bathroom, there was a double bed, single bed, tea making facillities, we stayed in the Bailey Suite on the ground floor. my mother is partially sighted and we were helped by all the staff, we would recomend this hotel to anyone with a disabled family member.we will return as often as we can.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandywoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2010

I recently stayed at the Grand Metropole and was very pleased with the cleanliness and facilities in the room. My little girl was delighted to find a jacuzzi in the on-suite and enjoyed filling it with bubble and splashing around in it. The meals were nice considering the cost but the waitresses could have been more friendly. The hotel seemed to have been recently painted and the carpets looked freshly washed. I couldn't help noticing that the Travel Lodge over the road would have come to the same price for a night but that would not have included evening mean and entertainment which was included at the Grand. I didn't mind the fact that a lot of the visitors were elderly, they were a lovely bunch!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latenightjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This is a beautiful hotel that is trying very hard to improve its service.The staff were friendly and courteous.We stayed for 3 nights b+b the buffet style breakfast was first class with plenty of choice We booked a double room and we were lucky enough to have a fantastic sea view.The location is excelllent with plenty of onsite parking. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammacat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Booked at very short notice - should've been going abroad but due to volcanic ash plans changed!. Bit apprehensive - £106 for 2 nights bed, breakfast, dinner and a 3 hour free drinks promotion for 2 people! Needn't have worried. OK its a bit tired round the edges but the room was spotless, with a lovely new spa bath. Bed was ok. I loved the old fashionedness of the place. Breakfast was good and dinner was plain but enjoyable. It's not fine dining but what could you possibly complain about at that price. The heating in the main areas was non existent but the room was warm. The 'entertainment' was not great but that didn't bother us. The location is brilliant and the staff were very friendly. It's not five star but it doesn't claim to be. I'd go back wihtout hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyTwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel to be of a good standard and that overall you thought it represented good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 69 in Blackpool
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing