We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best b&b in blackpol by far”
Review of Pembroke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pembroke Hotel
Ranked #62 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best b&b in blackpol by far”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

just come back today had a great time the owners made us very welcome. When we arrIved at 8pm we were welcomed with a hot drink whilst the owners took our things upto our rooms we were given a book of infomation of whats going on in blackpool etc.
Breakfast was lovely cooked you had lots of choices to choose from fruit juice, cerial for your first couses and a great choice of main courses such as full english breakfast, boiled eggs, scrambelled egg on toast etc.
Parking was secure we was given a key to open a gate round the back.

overall we loved our stay thankyou for making us feel very welcome we will definatly be back next year!!!
love from night rider!!!

ps if u go to blackpool go to the circus at the tower its brillaint!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIKYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
144
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Like everyone else, I read the reviews and thought this was too good to be true, but, no, it was simply the best 2 days spent in Blackpool. Michael and Alan were fabulous hosts and our son, Fletcher, who is nearly 4, absolutely loved them, they even went as far as to put a business card in his pocket so that if he got lost then they could be contacted. Michael and Alan have the little touches at the hotel that make it fabulous, my mum was delighted at the luxuries in the room and reminded Michael every meal time that she didn`t even get shower gel in a 5 star Thompson`s hotel never mind the selection they had !!! We had booked for my dad to play the Wurlitzer at the Tower and M & A made us breakfast 15 mins early so we could get there on time, like I say, it`s the little things. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, oh, and the food, it was out of this world !!!! Never change your standards, it was a joy to visit Blackpool and you must stay there as we will not stay anywhere else again !!! Thank you M & A xxx

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We were visiting Blackpool for a wedding, and have to say we were actually dreading it as we had never found any where even vaguely nice to stay on previous visits.
Luckily a friend recommended this place, we checked out the reviews on here and thought they were too good to be true.. but they really are true!

We arrived at the B&B at about 10pm after an horrendous drive up there, and were immediately offered a cup of tea and told to go and sit in the living room and relax whilst our bags were taken to our room.

Our hosts, Michael and Alan, couldn't be more friendly, it was as if we were visiting friends. They were also always available to give complimentary cups of tea and serve drinks from the bar.

Our room looked as if it was decorated more with old people in mind but it was immaculately clean and had all the ammenities you could ever need.
It was a little on the small side, but it didn't matter because the living room is constantly available to guests and has sofa's, games, books and a TV.
It was so nice to be able to go and sit on a sofa and have a chat with the other guests and watch TV rather than having to go and sit in your room after a hard day out.

My only complaint would be about the shower in our room, it was so small it made it quite difficult to have a good wash as you couldn't get your elbows out that far..

The B&B it's self is close to the sea front and is at the quiet end of Blackpool, it only about 1/2 hour walk along the seafront to North Pier but there is a bus and tram stop at the end of the road, so you can get anywhere you want easily.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I have just got back from a short break in Ilfracombe.....it was dire. However it confirmed what I really always knew, the Pembroke Hotel really is the best and its hosts Michael and Alan are wonderful...nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food great (especially the 'Eggs Benny!). I usually visit the hotel with my daughter, however the biggest compliment I feel I could give Michael and Alan is that I would be just as happy to visit on my own as I know I would be so comfortable and well looked after.
I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone and look forward to my visit in August.

Cheryl Stoke-on-Trent

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddystoke-on-trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Based on the great holiday we had last year at the Pembroke with two retired Australian friends, eight other friends asked to join my wife and I this year. The unanimous verdict was that the hotel exceeded all expectations in its welcome, food, comfort, service and location.
There was a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival whilst our luggage was taken to our rooms. Each room is packed with thoughtful touches such as the emergency toothbrush and toothpaste, toiletries, eco-friendly kettle and TV/DVD player with access to a DVD and book library. The food is good wholesome home cooking at its very best and Alan's steak pie and bread and butter puddings are to die for! The four-course dinner is excellent value for money, as are the wines and other drinks. Special dietary needs of one of our group were happily and fully catered for.
A spacious lounge, attractive award-winning garden and tasteful decor throughout all helped to create a relaxed and comfortable stay. Being just fifty yards from the excellent Blackpool tram and bus services, we kept our cars in their car park for the three days. Mike and Pat's front-of-house service is fun and exemplary. So much so that our daughter and partner now plan sampling their delights with us next year.

  • Liked — Personal, friendly service
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sandgrownun53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I took my parents and my 3 year old son for a last minute break this weekend and wish we could have stayed longer.

My first experience of finding the hotel was via the hotel website which was very impressive and when we arrived it definitely lived up to our expectations.

The attention to detail and level of service offered by Michael and Alan sets this hotel above any others we have stayed. From the complimentary tea and coffee, the little extras in the rooms (my son devoured all of the chocolates) and the level of cleanliness, we could not have asked for better place to stay.

I have already booked to go back for the Christmas Shopping weekend in November which is extremely good value for money.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alexwolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We have just returned home after our 7th Stay at The Pembroke 5 of those years have been with Michael & Alan.

From the minute you arrive on the doorstep you are made to feel like one of the family. A nice welcome cuppa is on hand whilst the lads take your luggage to your rooms.

The rooms are fantastic with tv/dvd/freeview in all of them. The hotel also has free wireless internet throughout.

Complimentary products in your room include toothbrush, toothpaste, shaver, foam shower gel ets as well as great selection of the finest teas & coffees.

Michael & Alan are fantastic hosts they make you feel really at home especially at meal times, also helping at meal times is Pat who also makes you feel really welcome.

The food is fantastic and really fills you up ready for your day or evening ahead.

My son is now 11 and when we asked him where he wanted to go for his 12th birthday there was no hesitation he said Blackpool so we are back at the Pembroke in a few weeks and really looking forward to it.

The staff make my son feel really special and take a lot of time with him. Each year he likes to buy a little gift for their garden and each year Michael & Alan will take him and show him all the new things that has been happening in the garden he loves the attention.

The garden is a lovely place to sit and relax whilst waiting for your meal or just a drink either before going out or in the evening, they have a licenced bar until 11pm and complimentary tea & coffee is served until 10pm.

The great thing about this hotel is that they dont take stag or hen parties so its alway quiet and the area it is in is lovely and quiet too so no noisy crowds passing your window in the early hours of the morning.

  • Liked — Michael & Alan's hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank themckays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
The Pembroke
The Pembroke
#238 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Penrhyn Hotel
The Penrhyn Hotel
#28 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#6 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The North Crest Hotel
The North Crest Hotel
#15 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#23 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#43 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Hotel

Property: Pembroke Hotel
Address: 11 King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award VisitEngland accreditation. Welcome to the Pembroke - a Quality Blackpool Guest House offering you REAL value for money! The Pembroke is an 11 bedded Blackpool Guest House where you will always find a friendly welcome and you may be assured of our very best service and attention at all times. No expense has been spared to offer guests luxurious and spacious en-suite accommodation comprising single, twin, double and family rooms. The peaceful, friendly atmosphere combined with the excellent service make relaxing on a well deserved break a real pleasure. Blackpool Tourism Awards 2004 Hotel of the Year - GOLD WINNER, Blackpool Tourism Awards 2005 Hotel of the Year - GOLD WINNER, Lancashire & Blackpool Tourism Award B&B of the Year 2005/06 - WINNER, Lancashire & Blackpool Tourism Award Best Tourism Website of the Year 2005/06 - WINNER. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pembroke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing