We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasently surprised - Service was excellent throughout my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The President Hotel
Ranked #61 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Have stayed in around 6 hotels in Blackpool and expected a similar service in the New President that I have had in previous hotels - however I was very pleasantly surprised throughout my whole stay how attentive all the staff were to us from checking in to eating in the newly furbished restaurant and the bar. They also remembered both of our names from the start which really gave it that personal touch.

Food was excellent - and it was nice to meet the chef during our meals and have a chat with him and find out that he has been there a long time which always gives me more confidence!

All in all an excellent hotel with a brilliant sea view and close proximity to city centre - We would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for a genuinely relaxing weekend with great customer service. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph3391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2009

Having viewed the hotel website and seen what awaited us to say I was shocked by the reality is an understatement.The manager Mr Crump boarded our coach on arrival and promptly told us we were late and we were to make our way without delay to the "restaurant" or canteen as we like to call it because our evening meal was being served and the "restaurant" was closing in 30 minutes, we were not allowed to go to our rooms to freshen up or check in,but our registration forms were to be filled in while we ater our dinner, when we finally got to our rooms to say we were shocked and confused again is an understatement, the room looked nothing like what was shown on the website,we were given a double room which had been turned into a family room with the addition of a very large set of bunkbeds which you had to negoiate if you wanted to go to the bathroom, a wardrobe that leant at 45 degrees from the wall and threatened to fall on you every time you passed by,but it did have a flat screen tv i didn,t realise they made them so "small" the curtains did not fit the window no matter how you tried,now the bathroom had been refurbished but they forgot to replace the suite and the bath was dirty and we had to clean it before using it,the window in the bathroom could not be opened due to a broken latch, how was we going to let out the steam in the morning after having a bath? that became apparent in the morning and was not a problem because there was no hot water all weekend,the housekeeping staff couldn,t even be bothered to make the bed or wash the coffee cups so all in all the worst hotel ever and I would not reccomend this "hotel" to my worst enemy I would suggest Mr Crump book himself on a Lochs and Glens coach holiday and see how it is done properly ,

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consumerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPresident, General Manager at The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2009

I was shocked to read this review!
We had a large tour stay with us at the weekend with almost 90 guests. We were informed that they would be arriving at 6pm.
The Atlanta Restaurant opens for dinner from
5.30pm - 7pm every night.
The 2 coaches arrived after 6.45pm at the same time. i went onto both coaches to greet them and to inform them of the checking in procedures and to give information about the hotel, meal times, entertainment etc. I said that as the group has arrived later than expected I wanted to ensure they were intime for their dinner so i suggested that they firstly had their evening meal then checked in at reception afterwards. in the mean time we carried the 90 guests luggage to their rooms.
If we would have had 90 guests checkin in first and go to thier rooms, they would be waiting for thier luggage and then they would not have been going down for dinner until after 8pm.
No body complained about this, and the comments we were getting was that it was a good idea as they were all hungry!
No complaints were made to me at all over the weekend, so if guests have any problems we want to know straight away so we can rectify them. The restaurant was all set out for Christmas and had wonderful meals over the two nights, full Christmas dinner no the Saturday, Champagne reception, present from santa etc.
needless to say we feel that this review is extremely unfair.
After speaking to the tour operators after reading this review the response they had from the group was that they all had a fabulous weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel and we were very disappointed with it. Like one of the other reviews we had problems with the heating and it was not put right. We eventually left early. The staff were not very pleasant. The rooms were very small and grubby. The tv did not work. To have a shower had to take the hose out of its holder and hold it low down in the bath otherwise not enough pressure. In the other room occupied by our party needed to be extremely small in order to be able to use shower.
It was difficult to obtain tea or coffee in the coffee bar during the day as no one there.
The meals with okay if you like school meal type service. Evening meals were nothing special.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb1NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolPresident, General Manager at The President Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2009

With reference to this review the central heating is on throughout the day and night on a timer which is set for an ambient temperature throughout the hotel. If guests request any further heating all they need to do is ask reception and we will provide individual heaters for them. The rooms are NOT small and grubby at all. We have a team of maintenance personnel and decorators who constantly are working throughout the hotel 7 days a week.
The coffee shop is open 7 days a week from 11am - 5pm so I do not know why the guests said that they could not obtain snacks or refreshments???
We are always complimented on the staffs friendly service, and excellent food so i am afraid we do not accept tjhe comments made by this guest.
If any assistance is required by our guests we try our utmost to rectify any problems they report to us immediately.
This guests did not report any of the above to me during thier stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

It is a really nice hotel in an excellent position. It was easy to walk into town and it has lovely views of the Irish Sea. That plus you get a proper Full English Breakfast, what more could you ask for? Howerd (the Gen Manager) and his team were all lovely and most welcoming.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

1 booked a double room with a sea view on the 2nd floor.
Room was nice with lovely en-suite and all spotlessly clean.
Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent but the staff were a bit gloomy.
The room was very cold and the radiator was not working when we arrived mid afternoon.
It still wasn't working when we left the next day.
We had to prop the door open to try and let some heat in from the corridor.
We told reception about about the freezing conditions 4 times in all and would have thought they could have summoned up a solution of some sort.
Despite this I would stay at this hotel again but maybe pack a fan heater just in case.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saphire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

we stayed here for 2 njghts and were given room 103.To get to room 103 you had to go through the restaurant which was alright when we arrived because there was noone there but on leaving in the morning people were still eating their breakfasts so you had to take your belongings with you while people were still eating.Upon entering room 103 we couldn't fault it for cleanliness.What did put us off was the view from the window we looked out onto the back of the kitchen where they smoked and played the radio and talked.When we went to bed you could hear the entertainment which normally wouldn't bother us because we would be there but we had had a long day and just wanted to sleep.We went bed and breakfast so can't comment on the evenjng meals.The food at breakfast was hot and plentiful and the staff were pleasant and friendly and got you anything you asked for.The only complaint would be they don't show you to a table so you might end up sitting on someones table. The toast and coffee machine could do with being moved away from the buffet area.I would probably stay there again but not in room 103

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murraymints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Well after reading previous reviews I was very nervous. Me and my husband booked 2 nights DBB in the Presidential Suite. Well it was huge!!! Seperate lounge overlooking the sea, stunning, and a huge dbl Jacuzzi bath. Gorgeous four poster bed. The evening entertainment was great, very down to earth and funny, just what we like. There was also a singer which was lovely. The food was great, good selection, tasty and hot. All the staff we encountered were fabulous, very friendly, there's nothing they won't do to make your stay pleasurable. Nothing is too much trouble here. Location is great, 5 mins from the tower. Basically a fabulous hotel that made our 1st wedding anniversary special and memorable. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,351 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,591 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel

Address: 320 - 324 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £34 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is perfectly located on the seafront, less than a mile from Blackpool Tower. Using the tram and bus stops directly outside the front door, it’s only a short ride from the Pleasure Beach and the Zoo. With superb transport links, The President Hotel offers the ideal base for your visit to Blackpool, be it for business or pleasure. Whether you prefer a good old English brew, freshly ground coffee, or maybe a glass of prosecco with a snack during the day, all are on the menu in Lincoln’s Café and Wine Bar, along with free Wi-Fi. Relaxing and tranquil panoramic views are available daily from the Lounge Bar of The President Hotel. First class cuisine is served in the Atlanta Restaurant, along with some of the most spectacular sunset views available on the UK coastline. Fantastic entertainment is delivered in Kennedy’s Cabaret Bar nightly, with a schedule packed with top quality acts to keep your evenings entertaining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New President Blackpool
Hotel New President

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing