We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal seafront location.”
Review of Lyndene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyndene Hotel
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We enjoyed a two-night stay on 12th and 13th October 2012. This is a large family-run hotel. I booked by phone directly with the hotel, and the procedure was straightforward and efficient. It is in an excellent position, on the promenade between the Central and South Piers. We didn't have a problem parking, but the car park does get full. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, but an evening meal is available.
The reception staff are friendly and welcoming. Our room was very clean. There are coathangers and a hairdryer. There was a shower cap, an emergency toothbrush and paste, and a razor and shaving cream, but no bar of soap. Bring your own toiletries. The towels are clean and fresh. There is a heated towel rail. There was plenty of drawer space and hanging room.
There is a hospitality tray, which included a teapot and a bottle of water.
The bed was very comfortable. Extra bedding was available but we didn't need it. Despite it's location, it was quiet at night, and we heard no noise from inside the hotel.
Breakfast was above average. Tea and coffee is served at the table. You can either get your own breakfast from the servery, or have it brought to your table. There is plenty of choice. The only thing that spoiled it slightly for me was pre-packed milk ( same as on the hospitality tray ) on the table. I took our cups to the cereal counter and got fresh milk from there.
The entertainment is good. There were three acts on both nights we were there, but we only saw two each night as we were out with friends in the early part of the evening. The drinks are reasonably priced.
We had a sea-view bay window room, so we could see the illuminations both north and south. There were two easy chairs in the bay, so we could just relax and watch the world go by.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends, and I will definitely stay there again when I'm in Blackpool.

Room Tip: Book a sea-view bay window room. It is worth the small extra cost.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coral1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
There are newer reviews for Lyndene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel 28th,29th 30th September 2012, and really enjoyed our weekend. Our room was clean & tidy, although bathroom was a tad small, but everything else was great. Food was very good,and the entertainment was excellent. It was our first stay, but certainly won't be the last.

Linda, Cumbria

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Just spent two days at this hotel for a quick break. Have been several times before over many years. Still as good . Lovely breakfast.still plenty of entertainment. Still as clean. Friendly service.would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Family had 3 rooms which were spotless razor and toothbrush useful I have a fussy family where food is concerned all enjoyed the many choices the location is excellent. Both adults and children looking forward to returning next year oh and a bonus we won 100 pounds on sat night and 50 sun night

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jintie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a two star rated Hotel on Blackpool's promenade. Any reviewer needs to bear this in mind. If you want a five star experience you should book into the Savoy or Hilton & of course pay 10 times more!!

So, as a two star Hotel ,how did it fare? The important things to me are 1)accommodation, 2)Food & Restaurant, 3) Hotel facilities & Staff & 4) Entertainment.

1) accommodation
Pros: Clean,hot water aplenty, superb shower, comfy bed, flat screen TV, safe (if needed)
Cons:Small, uncomfortably hot at times, poor natural light.

We asked for a fan at Reception to cool the room down. It was in our room less than a hour later.

Overall I would rate the accommodation 4 out of 5 (would have been 3 without fan)

2) Food & restaurant

Pros: Same table every morning/evening, good table service, pleasant waiters, clean & tidy surroundings, different menu each evening, good choice, lovely desserts & soups, plentiful.
Cons: Some bland main courses, some mains warm only, some veg undercooked (for my taste), queue's for toast/cereals at breakfast.

Overall I would rate the food & restaurant 3 out of 5.

3) Hotel Facilities & Staff

Pros: Two smart, well appointed cabaret rooms, two large Restaurants, reasonable drinks prices, generally clean,very helpful & cheerful staff, efficient Reception.
Cons: None worthy of mention

Overall I would rate the Hotel facilities & Staff 5 out of 5.

4) Entertainment

Pros: 3 "acts" every night, good quality performers, very talented resident organist (Tony Blackburn), daytime events ("play your cards right", etc) bingo.
Cons: Some chair "reservations" (not the Hotels fault, but annoying none the less), entertainment aimed at elderly (not surprisingly, since 95% of guests were OAPs). We were also "treated" to two elderly guests having their own " amateur spots" each night. For me & my wife this detracted from the otherwise professional standard of entertainment. (perhaps they (& other amateur guests) could be given the opportunity to do "karaoke" in the daytime. I just don't think accommodating these (not very good) crooners every night benefits the hotels reputation.

Overall I would rate the entertainment 3 out of 5. (Would have been 4 if not for the crooners).

I was intending to give the overall experience 3 out of 5 when I remembered an incident on our arrival at Reception on the first day. The very cheerful lady at Reception (sorry I don't know her name), on giving us our invoice balance, noticed that it included the 22nd, when in fact we had booked only to 21st. I may have realised this myself in time but I was very grateful to this member of staff who immediately recalculated our balance, saving me about £100. This honest & efficient action influenced me to increase my overall rating to 4 out of 5.

I hope you find my detailed review helpful. My overall impression is that, if you are over 65, this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WIGGYCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We booked a twin room with a sea view - room was very compact with not much room to breathe. No point in having a sea view if there is nowhere to sit and view the sea while having your first cuppa in the morning! Had to move sideways between furniture as it was so close together. Food was OK but the cleanliness of the crockery and cutlery left much to be desired. Every meal I had to return something that had been left from the previous meal. When I asked for a clean glass for water after seeing orange segments stuck inside the glass from my breakfast - I distinctly heard a tut! The entertainment was very good but the seating layout was awful- all the seats at the back are side on. We went to bed each night with a stiff neck from having to turn side on. Will not be going back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseWStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service from all members of the staff at this Hotel was first class. The food was top draw with plenty of choice, Rooms were very clean and comfotable, The Entertainment was superb 3 acts each night plus bingo, The bar prices were great value,and not overpriced like some other hotels we ave stayed in. Great Location
Can not fault this Hotel.

Room Tip: Take no notice of the negative reviews on this site, go you wont be disapointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,152 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,267 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
401 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
Elgin Hotel Blackpool
#11 of 73 in Blackpool
781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 73 in Blackpool
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndene Hotel

Address: 303-315 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £43 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lyndene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lyndene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndene Blackpool
Lyndene Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing