We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money but saw no entertainment!”
Review of Lyndene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyndene Hotel
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money but saw no entertainment!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

14 of us stayed at the Lyndene Twixmas. All managed to park on car park. Sat together in Washington restaurant where food was very good with friendly staff. Room 29 was a good size and clean although there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke on the corridor I wasn't aware smoking was allowed in hotels any more. The downfall was trying to get a seat in the cabaret rooms. As we were on 7 pm sitting we had no chance of a seat even by splitting up. We had to go out which was annoying as one of the reasons we booked the Lyndene was the entertainment. A lot of 'saving seats, goes on here which needs addressing. Otherwise an enjoyable time was had.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank stokieannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelloSteven, Owner at Lyndene Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
We thank the guest who wrote this review for some of the kind comments they have made regarding our beautiful hotel.
However it is my duty to correct certain comments that guests write that are incorrect. We had less than 300 guests in the hotel during 27th & 28th December, these are the two night's this guest stayed with us. There was no non-residents in the hotel and we can seat over 340 guests. So to say they could not find a seat, even if they split up was incorrect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    364
    187
    103
    76
See reviews for
333
588
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
patiliverpool
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just returned from a five day stay over Christmas . Room 65 very clean but décor dated and bathroom small. knees touched radiator when you sat on the toilet, bed and pillows really comfy. Paid £430 each which is not cheap and unlike other hotels I have stayed in over the Christmas period which costs a lot less the Lyndene provided no entertainment during the day except for someone on the organ and a quick game of bingo in the afternoon, same thing every day. Lots of people said Christmas day was a long day. On a positive note very friendly hotel and all the staff are brilliant and so helpful, the evening entertainment is excellent. Food is of very average quality with dinner on Boxing day being served at 2pm so you had to hurry back from the shops to eat. I would stay again as on the whole we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patiliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelloSteven, Owner at Lyndene Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Patiliverpool,

We are so glad that you say you would stay at the Lyndene hotel again,
This Christmas was another full house with over 85% of guests staying on a return visit, this just sums up why the Lyndene is the busiest hotel in Blackpool.
I'd like to take this opportunity of thanking all my lovely hard working staff who gave up their Christmas to serve you and nearly 300 other guests. Remember some younger staff having to leave their children and families Christmas morning to give you the service that you'd expect and the service we'd expect you to receive.
So once again a Big Big thank you to all my lovely hard working and loyal staff.

To viewers reading this review, i'd like to point out that the £430.oo tarrif was for 6 days and 5 night's. Not the 5 days as stated in this review.

Barry
(Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our first Christmas at the Lyndene, although we have stayed many, many times before through out the years. Christmas at the Lyndene is an experience never to be forgotten. Superb meals. Mince pies, chocolates and fresh fruit freely available all day, every day. Main Christmas meals are around 2:00pm with a buffet or Chef's carvery buffet each evening. Never seen such a variety of food available at a buffet before. Other days, meals are at the usual times with the normal selections. Still great quality and variety. Different entertainment to the usual acts that you see throughout the year, including a couple of comedians which made a refreshing change. Only down side on the entertainment was Matt Philips (Ben E King), his act was the same as we have seen on many occasions now. No differences at all, same songs, same routine. Getting a bit stale now. Bar prices remained the same as through out the year. Dining room staff still as efficient as ever. So was house keeping and front of house staff. For this hotel to be only ranked on TripAdvisor as 27 / 50 is criminal. It should be in the top 2, if not number 1. If you want a good room, then book direct. Don't try and go cheap by booking through LateRooms.com or any other site. All hotels have rooms that are smaller than the rest and it is these rooms that LateRooms.com & the others take up. You get what you pay for! You will end up by being stung by these sites. If you do, it is not the Lyndene's fault so don't get leaving stupid and negative feedback, Barry and the Lyndene staff do not deserve it. Our congratulations and our best wishes to everyone at the Lynden. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverSurfer1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Lyndene many times over the years and it is by far the best hotel in Blackpool. The rooms are always spotless, staff friendly but for us, the best part is the entertainment. It is the main reason we come back, they get the best tribute acts (especially Cliff and the Shadows!) we re-book when they're on!

We are a mixed age group from 30's to 60's and we always have a fab time.

Thank you Lyndene!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

4 of us stayed 6/7th December and from start to finish everything was perfect. All of the staff and entertainment work so hard to make the lyndene a great place to stay. The room we stayed in(67) was spotlessly clean as was our parents room (37). The food was of good quality though a little rushed to get the later sitting seated. We had three extra guests booked in for the evening meal and entertainment as it was my birthday, we were told that we may have to eat at a later sitting and in the smaller dining room downstair - The matre de went out of his way to seat three extra guests in the main dining room on the earlier meal as requsted - my birthday cake was brought to the table after the meal and all the guests and staff sang. Which was a nice touch. The hotel was very busy with lots of christmas party groups of a mixed ages making the atmosphere very good. The complimentary bar credit of £100 per couple for the weekend covered our bar bill. We thought the prics were very reasonable - a bottle of house wine £10 cocktails £5 and tower beer at £2.60 a pint. The entertainment was good as was the atmosphere there are two rooms you can watch the entertainment in the smaller one being the quieter.
We cannot fault our stay - my parents first stay at this hotel was in 1972 and have stayed most years since and sometimes 3 or 4 times a year in the last few years - They have seen many changes but they sat the attention to detail, friendliness and cleanliss has always been 2nd to non and although they have tried other hotels in Blackpool they do not compare to the Lyndene. We highly reccommend this Hotel - its not for teenagers hens or stags - but for family friends and couples. On behalf of myself and my family Thanks.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are bigger - the rooms above the cabaret lonnges can experience some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsaholic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

this was our second visit this year, everyone is friendly , food excellent, shows fantastic staff cannot do enough for you. BEST HOTEL IN BLACKPOOL, visit now and you will not be disappointed. cannot wait to visit again soon.

jk p BIRMINGHAM

Room Tip: all rooms I have stayed in have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkp741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We are a couple in our forties and have just returned from a 2 night break with friends,once again from check in to departure we were treated with the utmost courtesy throughout. Room was spotless and extremely comfortable,plenty of hanging space with a powerful shower and lots of towels .
Meals were plentiful and of the highest quality,served by extremely pleasant staff.3 excellent acts each night with special mention to Wayne Lester as well as the young man who closed Saturdays entertainment Ashley Reebanks,very powerful voice and presence.My only gripe is that people deem it fit to reserve seats then nip off to evening meal,come on folks...that's not fair and a little selfish.

I have seen a few negative reviews recently but as I can only give a review on our own experience I am being totally truthful in my comments so much so that before departure we took the opportunity to book for valentines weekend with 3 other couples and are really looking forward to that

Room Tip: Sea Views are nice but so are the other rooms as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshireman186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,141 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndene Hotel

Property: Lyndene Hotel
Address: 303-315 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lyndene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lyndene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndene Blackpool
Lyndene Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing