We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The World Hotel
Ranked #763 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stay here last week for 5 days best hotel even the staff went out there way to help us we had my auntie in a wheelchair the staff brought the breakfast and dinner up to bar room so my auntie didn't had to go downstairs I fully recommend this hotel best laught and the staff really great we will go back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livigirlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for The World Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel after reading reports on a different booking service. Thinking we had grabbed a bargain we were quite shocked on how different things were in reality. The staff were mainly very friendly however, personal appearance of the staff and the manner in which they conduct themselves were poor (the actions of one person put us off breakfast in the establishment). Ashtray on the entrance door step, spring mattresses in awful condition, carpets dirty, nasty smell throughout hallway and stairs, dirty beakers in bathroom, grime on bath shelving, shower temp irregular, TV not working - 1 remote not working, once digibox (complete with greasy film) re-tuned the TV lost connection to it. We are no snobs but have standards, we tried for one night but the lack of sleep due to the mattresses was the nail in the coffin. We were there to enjoy a break not to have to discuss our grievances with the owners, thats why we relocated and will use the medium of the internet to try to make others aware of what to really expect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinnbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-world-hotel-bpl, Manager at The World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review, however we feel your review to be mostly untrue and insulting and thankfully our other guest don't share your opinion, we have never had any complaints regarding our hospitality, you checked in, your wife/partner then came in and said she wanted to look at the room (if it was so dirty and stank why did you not check out immediately) you then said you were going to park but didn't come back for hours, when you returned you still said nothing, had you come down and told us of your issues we could of tried to put them right but you didnt give us the chance, instead you stayed here went out first thing and didnt return till after 8pm i passed you on the stairs you still said nothing, you had children if you thought the hotel was so disgusting why would you even stay one night, you could of come down stairs and checked out straight away with no problem , we have had 2 familys stay in your room (the premier room 7) since you have left and had no complaints, we are very down to earth people and we are very disappointed by this review we are sorry we didn't meet your extreamely high expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here for my friends 30th birthday and will definitely be going back again. The family that runs the hotel can't do enough for you. They really are lovely. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast was out of this world. I can't thank them enough for making us feel so welcome. Definitely give them 10 out of 10. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batesy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I couldn't recommend this hotel enough ! The staff couldn't be more helpful and were so friendly, they really went above and beyond to make our stay an absolute pleasure. The rooms are very well presented and extremely clean ( and I'm a fuss pot ). The cooked breakfast was spot on, and would give these big hotels a run for their money. I was surprised how close we were to all the shops, and the beach is only a few minutes down the road. Will I go back ? ABSOLUTELY ! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay and I wish you all the luck in the world for your future plans. :o)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nimbleyfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with hen party, group of 10 of us. Kim and all staff excellent, helped organise party in breakfast room before we went out and were excellent hosts throughout our stay. Rooms were clean with towels basic toiletries and tea/coffee plus full English for breakfast. Excellent stay thank u

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelleyjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed here with a group of girls for a 30th birthday. Firstly all the staff are so friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice and clean and the full English breakfast the next morning was amazing :-). We were all made to feel extremely welcome by all the staff and as they didn't have anyone checking in on the Sunday they said we were fine to check out later in the day.
Thank you so much I'm sure I'll be staying again at some point. Mel (Jemma group)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mash1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The family who own this hotel are all really lovely and make you feel very welcome and part of their family. The breakfasts are beautiful and myself and my little boy Sam loved staying here. We will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennisberesforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#343 of 859 in Blackpool
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#282 of 859 in Blackpool
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#135 of 859 in Blackpool
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Hotel

Address: 1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #763 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The World Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world hotel is under new management as of 16th january 2013 (we are nothing to do with the new world hotel)we have 10 en-suite bedrooms, this hotel was previously run as a woman only hotel, we have decided to change this to couples and families and female groups sorry no stag parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing