We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Pleasant...”
Review of The Strand Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Lodge
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Belton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Pleasant...”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Slightly confusing start as the hotel was not advertised as The Strand Lodge, but for above the entrance which could easily be missed, BUT...I understand the signage was in the process of being updated as we were departing the B&B so this shouldn't cause future problems. Rooms were a little on the small side but didn't cause us an issue.

We were able to attend a 007 style murder mystery night at the lodge which was really enjoyable.

Food was to a very good standard, both the evening meals and the breakfast and catered to my request for Poached eggs on toast without quabble.

Room's were clean and it would seem the en-suites have been newly refurbished to a good standard.

Lovely settings for the bar and restaurant areas with a comfortable separate lounge area.

Not a bad location from the beach front, but still a nice healthy walking distance to and from the tower, etc.

Staff we're lovely and considerate.

Would stay again!

The Rea-Ritchie's

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartandPatric... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, General Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Hi The Rea-Ritches and thank you for taking the time to write a review. The new signage is now up and it looks fab!!
Its great you enjoyed the Murder Mystery, the fantasitc cast do an amazing entertaining job and its a fun night to work as well as being a guest at. With exclusivity with the Murder Company in the Blackpool area and as our dinner events are so popular we have 1a month for 2014 with plenty of themes to choose from so we look forward to you all staying again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    27
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a weekend away and found this place by chance on the Internet . The staff were very nice and helpful. Our double room was a bit small but that is the only complaint I had.It was clean which you dont always get in blackpool.Very nice place will be going back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjamesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, General Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you and its great to hear you will return again. Yes a few of the rooms are on the smaller side but tastefully decorated, with lovely comfy beds and as you remark spotlessly clean this obviously hasn’t put you off staying again.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had booked Browns International hotel on a KGB deal and found out the day before we were due to go that it had gone out of business. Luckily, what could have been a disaster turned out to be quite the opposite as the hotel has been bought by the owners of the nearby Strand Hotel and is now the Strand Lodge - refurbished and redecorated, it's now a comfortable and spotlessly clean small hotel with excellent food and friendly, helpful staff. Luckily they had rooms available for us on the same days as our KGB booking and so we booked and paid direct in the usual way (the Strand Lodge cannot honour the KGB vouchers but the cost of these will be refunded to purchasers by KGB) and we're very pleased we did, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Its location is good, being close to the seafront and with a tram stop very close (although the town centre and Tower are only a 10 minute walk) and you can also take advantage of the free entertainment evenings at the Strand Hotel a minute's walk away. Well worth it, we had a blast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, General Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your review and especially for mentioning the KGB voucher you had purchased as this informs all guests in your situation that we will do our utmost to assist them and not all is lost if a voucher has been bought under the previous owners.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We made a last minute booking for The Strand Lodge, after reading lots of reviews. Even with the benefit of Trip Advisor, you can't be sure that someone else's idea of what's good or bad will be yours, but this looked good.

Location was perfect for us - North Shore, away from the main hubbub, but only a 10 minute stroll to the Central Pier or get a tram from right opposite. If you know Blackpool, this hotel is opposite the Imperial, facing it on a side street. It's only a couple of buildings into the side street, so it's near as dammit on the prom.

The owner Jane was very welcoming, and very friendly and helpful during our stay.

The room (number 20) was not all that large, but it was big enough and very clean, very nicely furnished. The bathroom was also nice. There were some toiletries in there, which I was not expecting at the bargain price. Although the room directly faces the side of the Imperial, once you open the window and look out to the right, there is your sea view!

TV, hot drinks, dressing table / desk, comfortable bed, nice wardrobe, spare sockets for phone chargers.... didn't feel there was anything missing.

Downstairs is a tasteful and comfortable lounge, a great bar, and a lovely restaurant. We were out all evening so didn't take advantage of the very reasonable menu, and we lived to regret this, as it's not all that easy to find a decent place to eat on the main Blackpool strip. Breakfast in the morning was lovely though. The waitress at first did not understand my husband's request for a vegetarian breakfast, but when it came, it was lovely - hash brown, beans, mushrooms, tomato, fried egg, etc. I had bacon, scrambled egg and tomato. The egg was really fluffy and creamy. There were also juices, cereals, yoghurts, plenty of toast, tea, coffee.....

If you like a quiet hotel, this is for you. Even if you like a bit more going on, don't let it put you off booking here, as this is the sister hotel to The Strand Hotel on the main front, round the corner. You can go there for your family entertainment and stagger home at the end of the night.

Oh, and lastly - there is parking behind the hotel, monitored by cctv. You park at the back and walk down an entryway to check in at Reception.

We could have easily paid a lot more in another hotel, but there was really nothing missing from this hotel - and we are fussy!! Thanks Jane, and if you ever do get that hot tub in the front garden, I will be there!!!

Room Tip: Our double room (20) faced onto the side of the Imperial Hotel, but turn to the right for a lovely s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, General Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent review I'm sure guests to the Lodge will find it very useful. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and if Jane gets her own way I'm sure that hot tub will be installed in time for next summer, don't forget to pack your bikini....and we'll get the drinks on ice....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked a late trip to Blackpool. A lot of the hotels that we rang had no vacancies, luckily for us the Strand Lodge had vacancies. Jane and Chris are lovely very welcoming and friendly. We booked evening meal as we were going to be late getting there not sure what to expect we were pleasantly surprised the, food is first class. In fact we book for the next night. We went to the Strand both nights for a drink in the bar and stayed for the entertainment which was great. Jane told us that they had only bought the hotel 3 as an overspill to The Stand hotel 3 weeks ago and we in the process of making a few changes. I would recommend this hotel and would book again should we visit Blackpool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, General Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the added bonus that you could go to The Strand Hotel for the great entertainment we have on there. We are especially thrilled you enjoyed your meals as we plan to hold all our Murder Mystery Dinner evenings at The Strand Lodge as an alternative to the hotel in the future and make the most of the talented chefs we have.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I booked the Strand Lodge Hotel by phone for my partner and her daughters birthday which was on the same date. I phoned and spoke to Jane explaining that I wanted 2 rooms close to each other 1 for my partner and me the other for her daughter and best friend. Jane was so helpful in making sure we got what we wanted. I phoned through a couple of days before the arrival and asked if she could arrange some flowers in both rooms with a bottle of bubbly in ours and some soft drinks in the children's room. Nothing was too much trouble Jane even arranged some birthday cards in both rooms. On arrival we had rooms 8 & 10. Room 8 was like a honeymoon suite with a massive bed and jacuzzi. Seafront location, hotel parking, clean and quiet rooms with hotel bar and a brilliant breakfast. Would highly recommend this Hotel. Joe

Room Tip: Room 8 massive Jaccuzi Bath and massive bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, General Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Many Thanks for your review Joe, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Strand Lodge and we were more than happy to help with birthday surprises you planned to make the stay extra special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Lodge

Property: The Strand Lodge
Address: 5-6 Wilton Parade, Blackpool FY1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from The Golden Mile you'll find pure platinum!The Strand Lodge remains Blackpool's "Best Kept Secret". We are situated in the slightly calmer end of town, the picturesque "North Shore" but still only 5 minutes from the town centre, Tower, theatres and nightlife.All rooms are en-suite with telephone, flat screen digital televisions and hospitality tray. We also have two luxury spa bath mini suites both with stunning views of the Irish Sea.The Lodge boasts some of the most stylish and comfortable rooms in the town and has been refurbished throughout to the same standard as its sister hotel The Strand Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing