We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Strand Lodge
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Excellent customer service! Online booking was quick and straightforward. We are touring entertainers so we booked a double room for one night. Due to the nature of our work, my husband and I could not check in until long after midnight. The member of staff i spoke to on the phone (Christian, i think his name is) was reassuring and arranged for our keys to be left in a place we could find them on our arrival in the wee hours. The room, although small, was clean, comfortable and warm. Breakfast was lovely. We experienced excellent and attentive service in a smart dining room. Christian was even gracious enough to grant us an extra 2 hours before checking out as we still needed our sleep. We will definitely be recommending The Strand Lodge to others! The Strand Lodge team made our short stay a very pleasant one. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that we were able to accommodate your requests which enabled you to have a pleasant stay. It is also good to hear how easy you found it to book online we are just in the process of upgrading our book on line facility offering more options and deals for the guest to choose, this should be up and running by Feb 2014 although the facility to book on line is still available in its current form.
We look forward to meeting you again next time your business brings you to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    27
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have bought a MIGHTY DEAL voucher for a stay at Brownes International Hotel in Blackpool and booked a weekend away in December 2013. What a surprise we got when we turned up and they went bankrupt in the meantime! Jane, at The Strand Lodge were very helpful and explained the situation and offered us a good deal on accommodation. What a lovely stay we had! The staff was very friendly. Our room super and the breakfasts excellent! Many thanks and we shall be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for yet another review commenting on the perils of buying voucher deals when companies go out of business. We were only too happy to be able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay.
For future reference we have our own special deals which can be found on our website www.thestrandlodge.com where you can book direct. Hopefully we will see you again next time you visit Blackpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a lovely lady, who gave us all the info we needed about breakfast & if we wanted an evening meal.
We were very pleased with our room, which was very clean,and as i am an avid watcher of four in a bed programme i checked everything including the mattress & pillows,all were spotless.
our friends room was the same.
We were staying for 1 night to see the illuminations so we only had 1 drink in the bar before going on our way,this was a little pricey. Had a lovely sleep ,the bed was very comfy.
Breakfast was good with extra tea coffee if required.
All in all a great little hotel that we will deffinately return to .Some may say it is a little out of the way, but this suited us .
Many thanks everyone at Strand lodge for a great night.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berniebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your review and praise from avid 'Four in a Bed' fans is great praise indeed.... haha...

Its great to hear you found everything to be spotlessly clean as our housekeeping team work really hard and the praise is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My friend and I stayed at the NEW Strand just round the corner from their other hotel..... After we had booked Brownes International through KGB Deals and it turned out to be a scam and the owner of Brownes done a bunk with thousands of pounds of money..... Including ours. BUT the lovely owners of the Strand gave us a room and were extremely helpful. After speaking with KGB Deals they completed a bacs transfer the very same day. Our room was spotless and the beds were very comfy and cosy bedding. It had all the necessities we needed, tea, coffee etc. bathroom was clean and the whole room was lovely and warm. Not the best views but that's not their fault. What I will RAVE about is the quality of food!!! The food was of the highest standards and was all freshly prepared daily. All homemade too. Different options both nights and great value for the quality you receive. Breakfast was great as well although no continental option, the waitress in the morning wasn't very engaging, didn't tell us about the cereal and juice over in the corner we could have. But that's the only gripe, and she was also the chambermaid and instead of knocking on our door later that day she just walked in. Apologised then left. Keep doors locked ;-). There is nothing that is too much trouble for the owners and provide friendly excellent service. By far the best hotel in Blackpool and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your review and we were pleased that we were able to sort out the issues with KGB to enable you to enjoy your stay in Blackpool.
Its is always great to hear that guests enjoy the food and hospitality as we pride ourselves in only using fresh local produce and of course we believe we have the best chef in town!!
Were glad you found the beds comfy as all the bedding is brand new and quality linen, duvets and pillows defiantly helps towards a comfortable nights sleep.
We look forward to meeting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a Groupon Voucher this hotel's previous existence as "Browns International" but on arrival we found they had gone bankrupt and the voucher, although paid for, was no longer valid. The new owners are the proprietors of the Strand Hotel around the corner and were most understanding and apologetic even though the situation was not their fault; they had no records given to them and no way of contacting people with reservations. Fortunately they had a room available and so we booked it even though it meant paying again. They gave us a voucher for complimentary drinks at their other hotel which we thought was a nice touch.

We had an executive room that had a diagonal sea view and en suite bathroom with Jacuzzi. The room was pleasant and airy but the bed was very small. The reception area and some of the public rooms appeared a bit worn; but to be fair the new owners had only been there 3 weeks and so there was not time to do everything but there were encouraging signs of refurbishment going on.

As we were staying only one night, bed & breakfast, we ate out in Blackpool so we cannot comment on the restaurant. However breakfast the following morning was excellent, self serve cereals or fruits, etc. followed by a wide choice of cooked dishes, served to table.

The hotel is well placed, just 2 minutes walk from the sea front and adjacent to the Wilton Parade tram stop. It is about a 15 minute walk from the North Pier or 20 minutes from the Tower, 5 minutes by Tram. Overall we were very glad that we stayed and we would like to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, also for pointing out the issues we have faced with the previous owners selling voucher deals. It has been hard work but I can honestly say that all guest that chose to stay have given positive feedback on their stay and have now received full refunds from the voucher companies involved. We have also devised our own voucher deals that you can now book direct offering superb value for money with all the savings passed to the guest rather than lining the pockets of voucher companies.

We are please to announce that all public areas have now been refurbished and are looking much smarter. Plus we are in the process of planning for a passenger lift to add to guest comfort and accessibility, a new car park with an extra 10 spaces is being created and the gardens have all be landscaped and planted out with bulbs for the spring.

The room you stayed in has a brand new super king sized bed so comfy its difficult to get out of bed in the morning!

We look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (sat) on the last weekend of the illuminations. Really pleasant stay and is in a good location close to north pier and walking distance of Central etc. tram stop just down the road too if your heading down to South and don't fancy the walk. Little confusing at first as we booked online at 'the strand hotel' which is on the front, when we arrived there they redirected us to the strange lodge formerly browns I think which their newly acquired sister hotel. (The management team is clearly doing something right expanding in the tough economic climate blackpool has to offer). This hotel is just around the corner off the front. We didn't know what to expect really but it was just fine everything up to standards we were expecting at the strand on the front. Breakfast was really good too, pleasant service throughout stay. Rooms are nice modern, we got the room above the kitchens (3 I think) and could hear the extractors and abit of noise but nothin major we were up and about early anyway. Nice bar spacious areas downstairs where we had a quick night cap before bed. Would return, keep up the good work

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for your very informative review. It is inspiring to hear support from guests who recognise the fact that we have the faith in our product and Blackpool as leaders in the tourism market. As you pointed out this is our newly acquired 2nd venue which is ideally situated in close proximity to the main Strand Hotel and we look forward to receiving new guests to experience all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Arriving in Blackpool on a KGB deal to find our hotel had closed down and in its place was the Strand Lodge, a satellite of a larger hotel on the front. The lady was very sympathetic and must be sick to death of cross people turning up on her doorstep. She was however able to offer us a very nice room at a slightly more expensive price than the KGB deal which I am now trying to get a refund on. The hotel is clean, and we had a nice room with seating in bay window and a huge bed.
Breakfast was good.
This hotel is a good value budget hotel, and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand M, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for mentioning the problems we have had with voucher deals sold by the previous owner of the property. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments on the room and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#50 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#41 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#56 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Lodge

Property: The Strand Lodge
Address: 5-6 Wilton Parade, Blackpool FY1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from The Golden Mile you'll find pure platinum!The Strand Lodge remains Blackpool's "Best Kept Secret". We are situated in the slightly calmer end of town, the picturesque "North Shore" but still only 5 minutes from the town centre, Tower, theatres and nightlife.All rooms are en-suite with telephone, flat screen digital televisions and hospitality tray. We also have two luxury spa bath mini suites both with stunning views of the Irish Sea.The Lodge boasts some of the most stylish and comfortable rooms in the town and has been refurbished throughout to the same standard as its sister hotel The Strand Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Strand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing