We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little place to stay”
Review of The Strand Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Lodge
Ranked #58 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good little place to stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

stayed there last week for a 4 day break room very modern and clean breky served t you makes anice change evening meal very good but not big helpings the chef or cook must have trained in a nursing home just one tip for the chef please please don't try to describe thick cut chips like they are homemade and dish up frozen ones we are not stupid it ruined the fish dinner but to be fare food not bad staff very friendly and helpful will be returning but ditch the frozen chips

Room Tip: room 8 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ray s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast. The food must have been really tasty for you to wanted a bigger portion and we could have prepared a larger potion had you asked. Our chef didn't train in a nursing home but I'm sure there's lots of super talented nursing home chefs out there who have to cope with every dietary request going.
Just for the record I have copied and pasted below from our menu I don't see homemade chips on there but alas, our chips do come in frozen but are top quality ones and as described. At just £12 for 3 delicious courses and a choice of menu which changes nightly we believe we offer quality cuisine and great value for money.
TRADITIONAL FISH AND CHIPS
SERVED WITH THICK CUT CHIPS, GARDEN PEAS AND TARTAR SAUCE
If there is a next time please ask to go Large...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    27
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
27
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room for 2 nights over the weekend. Room neat and super clean with new bathroom and shower. Tea and coffee facilities and TV with additional Sky channels. Breakfast excellent served in a new modern dining area. Staff very friendly with really good service. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Glad you enjoyed your super clean room... The housekeeping team will be pleased that's a big pat on the back for them.
Its great that you found us good value for money too in this very competitive market especially as we achieve this without cutting back on housekeeping, quality of food and comfort for guests etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Decided to do a last min weekend away with our dog. The accomodation was spotlessly clean,comfy & modern. very friendly staff especially the bar man. Very welcoming towards my dog. the breakfast was lovely. All in all really good value for money.
We enjoyed it so much, that we are booked to go again in 2 weeks!
Cant wait!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RachandKev_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
And we cant wait to have you back thank you, it pays to be friendly to our furry friends....

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for the Rod Stewart concert at Bloomfield Road last month. It is a good little hotel with clean rooms and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again. The only downside was it being on the north side which is quite a walk to the tower and the opposite side to the pleasure beach and football ground. That aside, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzpurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay for the Rod Stewart concert. Hopefully Blackpool Football Club will consider more concerts in the future as the stars always love to perform in our friendly town, plus there is loads more to do if your visiting so you can make a weekend of it.

Its is aprox a ten minute walk to the tower from our front door, but both the bus and the tram stops are right outside on the promenade so getting around is not a problem however with the thousands poring our of the concert I believe it took a while to get back not the usual 5 mins car journey away.

The north end of the promenade is a little quieter but this can be a bonus in the early hours of the morning!! Trust me....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Decided to go away for 2 days last minute to blackpool and came across this hotel on late rooms! £100 for 2 people for two night B&B after comparing it to others available we thought this was the best choice so booked it!
Arrived earlier then 3pm check in to find no reception staff, after finding a cleaner who looked for him we managed to get checked in early, which was good!!
The hotel was very quiet and hardly saw anyone from staff to customers! Come to use the bar on the evening and it was closed! But was plenty of other bars nearby.
Room was nice and clean and had a view of the sea too!
Breakfast was lovely and good service.
2nd day seemed busier as we saw more people and bar was open till late too.
For the price it was very good shame the rooms with the luxury bath wasn't available coz that would've been perfect!
Staff were very helpful and Carl across at strand hotel was very helpful even with information he didn't even know about.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank James0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

There are times when the place can seem pretty desolate especially out of check in hours as guests come to Blackpool to enjoy all the fantastic entertainment and attractions on offer.

The benefits to all our guests when staying at The Strand Lodge is that you are welcome to use the facilities at our sister venue The Strand Hotel only a 1 minute walk around the corner which has 2 bar lounges and nightly entertainment throughout the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the strand lodge for a hen party and enjoyed the rocky horror themed murder mystery night, what a brilliant nite - the staff are great, food and accommodation. We had a great time and would highly recommend this place. Great value for money! Thank you very much for a fantastic evening.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Wasn't it!!!

The Rocky Horror Murder Mystery is one of my favorites the Afterdark Team do an amazing job.

The murder mystery's are so popular with hen parties in the spring and summer months we always put on musical themes which are perfect for those groups whose ages span the generations too as there is something for everyone, including time after the evening to go and enjoy the bright lights of Blackpool, for those who still want to party!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for accommodating us on the 13th June 2014. The students and staff all enjoyed their experience at the hotel, rooms were clean and everyone slept well. The dinner and breakfast were great and all staff were friendly and understanding.

We came 3rd in our age group in the National Street Dance Competitions! So we had a lovely experience! Thanks!!

From Lambeth Academy School, Clapham Common.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheStrandManager, Manager at The Strand Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review and Well Done You!! Your pupils students were super behaved and great polite friendly bunch with amazing talents.

Keep up the good work and give us a call next time your in town for a competition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#43 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Lodge

Property: The Strand Lodge
Address: 5-6 Wilton Parade, Blackpool FY1 2HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Strand Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from The Golden Mile you'll find pure platinum!The Strand Lodge remains Blackpool's "Best Kept Secret". We are situated in the slightly calmer end of town, the picturesque "North Shore" but still only 5 minutes from the town centre, Tower, theatres and nightlife.All rooms are en-suite with telephone, flat screen digital televisions and hospitality tray. We also have two luxury spa bath mini suites both with stunning views of the Irish Sea.The Lodge boasts some of the most stylish and comfortable rooms in the town and has been refurbished throughout to the same standard as its sister hotel The Strand Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing