We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab!! Fab!! Fab!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab!! Fab!! Fab!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for a week at end of July. Loved the place that much ended up staying for an extra night. Already booked a long weekend in Oct before we left.
Simon and Rhona (not forgetting Bruno) are two of the most hardworking, friendly people you will ever meet.
We stayed in the anniversary suite. The room has a four poster bed with drapes, leather sofa, large tv, lovely fireplace and the ensuite is a wet room, with huge corner bath, wow. Best of all the room also has a "hidden" room for the kids. My boys loved that they had their own room off ours, which also has an ensuite shower room. The boys room had bunkbeds and the selling point had to be the extra tv with playstation 2 console and games.
The food both at breakfast and in the bar was fab, totally faultless. Bar prices are very good to. The seperate tv lounge was great, as my boys loved sitting in there with the laptop (free wifi ).
As for location, it is situated in a quieter area of Blackpool, about a 15 min walk from centre, though there are trams available. I personally prefer this area. Have been staying at Cliffs hotel for past 14 years but will always be The New Guilderoy Hotel from now on.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACKIE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Hi Jackie, hope you're ok, we missed you in September. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and apologies for taking so long to respond, it's only now it's quietening down. (Is that a word?). See you next year. P.S. pics of the boys in the Lotus are on the hardware of the camera, not on the memory stick, will work it out somehow!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    44
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
185
323
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

There is nothing you can fault about Simon and Rhonas welcome. Walk in the place and you are made to be part of the family. Got children??? their family rooms are made for giving parents that bit of privacy. Playstations in the rooms X-Box kinect in the bar. We had a blast of a last evening playing bowling, boxing and tabletennis. Simons a cheat though, when he is not being the perfect host I reckon he is practising on the xbox. Well done Simon and Rhona, Best breakfasts we have had in a long long time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catrin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks Catrin, when do I get the time to practise!!!! Love your family, regards to Jack xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is our 2nd visit and certainly not the last. We literally got back just a couple of hours ago after spending 3 nights at the New Guilderoy. Sophie, my 5 year old, is already saying she wants to go back because she is missing Simon, neither did she want any dinner as her tummy was still full after Simon's famous breakfast.. I am not a person who ever goes back to the same hotel twice but for the guilderoy i make an exception. You just cannot fault it. I am very picky about where i stay especially since having kids. I want to make sure they are in a safe environment , happy and well fed. The guilderoy ticks all the boxes . The only downside was the weather, but i can hardly blame Simon and Rhona for that, but as i can't find anything else to moan about i will say its their fault. Once again we had a great few days, and will be back next year if you will have us. Thanks to you both, and hope Simon feels better soon

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the lovely review, on a mission to respond to all the reviews, hope Sophie is fine and doing well at School.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

we arrived on monday the 4th july, and what an excellent welcome from simon and rhona, firstly thanking us for booking the ten nights with them. a guided tour of the hotel then followed, advising us we had been upgraded to a family room as we were staying so long.
this consisted of two rooms sleeping 5 in total. both rooms (4 poster) in ours spotless and very comfortable.we actually ate ten breakfasts, never missed one because it was that good.thanks for a perfect stay simon and rhona (regards to simons dad). and yes we will be back.
ps. cant understand why people sometimes give perfect reviews but then mark it as 4, because this is definately a 5 star stay. from gerry and sarah.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thanks for being such great guests! Can't wait to see you both in the Illuminations! Simon and Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in a family room with an 11 and 3 year old. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners from the moment we arrived. The room was very clean, and there was a ps2 to entertain the kids. Every room also has a fridge. Overall, our stay was excellent value for money, and it is nice to see owners which are very passionate about making their guests happy. The breakfast was, as i had read in other reviews, delicious with great choice for the whole family. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerryclarke449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks Kerry, still going strong!!! Maybe we'll have to upgrade to PS3's though!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Had a wonderful weekend at this B & B (just wish the weather wasnt so windy & rainy but this hotel was soooo good it didnt really matter), Big thanks to Simon & Rhona who were amazing hosts and made us all feel welcome and at home.

Simon was very friendly and welcoming as soon as i emailed him about the stay & Rhona was so lovely & helpful during our stay.

I travelled with my hubby, 4 yr old son, my brother, his wife and their 2 kids (ages 3 & 6) and my parents.

The rooms were lovely and the food was amazing, breakfast was as good as people say (yummy) & we felt very looked after.

Simon cooked us a 3 course meal each night which was fabulous - he spend 3 hours or more making us fresh soup which everyone enjoyed. The leek & stilton soup he made was to die for......

We would love to come back to this lovely B & B it is refreshing to find hosts who obviously care about their guests and nothing is to much trouble. Simon & Rhona even took the time to wave us off. Amazing service, thanks SImon & Rhona Love Julie & Family x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbarnesdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Thanks Julie and family, it was lovely to have you stay. I enjoyed cooking for you all. But I have to say it didn't take 3 hours of my time to cook the leek, potato and blue cheese soup, just ten mins!!! It took the gas hob 3 hours to boil the leeks, garlic, onions, and stock!! For the record, for the non vegetarians, we add bacon as well, and it's a meal in itself, however, 3 course and 5 course dinners must be pre-booked with your holiday, for every other break we're happy to serve a wide selection of bar meals every night. My dad misses you too because he had to have a tinned soup today as we were so busy and that's all he wanted (and couldn't wait 3 hours!!!). Looking forward to your next visit. Simon (Rhona sends her regards too).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Been visiting Blackpool for a number of years now and have came across a hidden gem! The decor by the proprietors own admission is work in progress, however, be rest assured that the hotel is clean, comfortable and geared toward a customers needs. Kids were sold on the Playstation in their adjoining room and we were sold that there was fridge facilities in the room, hence not being tied to purchasing from a bar. Having said that the bar facilities, in our opinion was more reasonable than some corner shops. Simon and Rhona could not have been any more friendly or helpful! Not only was it not a problem to wash the sheets after our son had been sick all over them, but it was not an issue to wash his prized teddies that he will not sleep without and place them back in the room for us - many many thanks!! (They would not hear of us taking the vomit sodden items to the launderette across the street). Then there was the breakfast...absolutely fantastic! The selection better than some top premium hotels! Please do not mistake this as your regular B&B - we ordered a bar meal one evening, and again, in our opinion it gave again some premium hotels a run for their money!! So, would we recommend ? DEFINATELY! Would we stay again? DEFINATELY! Is this establishment value for money? ABSOLUTELY! We just can't believe it's taken us this long to find proprietors who care this much about our stay. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thanks for the Chocolates, haven't eaten them yet, had to hide them from my dad!!!! We'll remember you as the secret hotel inspectors!!! and look forward to seeing you again, both as a couple and as a family. BTW! You must have gone straight to the computer before unpacking your luggage :) OH! Also, BIG SHOUT OUT LOUD!!! Very well behaved kids, they are an absolute credit to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool

Property: New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Address: 57-59 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the quieter North Shore, but close to the sea and tram stop. Fully licensed. All rooms are en-suite, extensive menu, excellent food, great wine selection and friendly staff. No parking restrictions to front of hotel. Ideal for couples, families, and conference delegates. Genting casino just two blocks away, bar, restaurant and gambling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing