We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed here for a three day New Years break and cannot praise Simon and Rhona highly enough for their hospitality. The food is amazing with massive breakfasts and then a wonderful evening meal which is cooked by lovely Simon. Over New Year everything is inclusive with constant buffet items on hand all day should you still feel peckish and bowls of chocolates throughout the hotel. New Years eve was a fancy dress party which the guests enjoyed and of course the bar is free all of the stay. You definitely arrive as a guest and feel you leave as a friend, we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks Barb, looking forward to seeing you in June, photos for New Year are already posted, will add yours soon!!! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 703 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed at New Guilderoy for full Christmas break & what a great time we had. My cousin Margaret,her son James(Jimmy to us but he prefers Jim}& myself all agreed on the marvolous time we had so much so we have rebooked for next year.The food was out of this world from the sizzerling fillet steak platter to the boxing day Buffet. the main event on Christmas day didnt disapoint, i duffed out of the xmas pud (full to busting} but M & J said it was the best they had ever tasted.Breakfast was a delight with every cereal imaganable followed by a full freshly prepared English brekkie, a table in the snug was constantly being replenished all day & into the evening with all sorts of party food sweet treats also fresh fruit & chocolates in dishes scattered all over the Hotel. All Inclusive drinks meant just that with unlimited suply of every drink you can think of & Rhona getting upset if your glass was empty.Last but not least was the incredably good company we had from start to finish and the wonderful way both Simon & Rhona (not forgetting thier hard working small in number staff} looked after us, You are a credit to yourselves. THANK YOU & hears to 2013, Happy New Year to All

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dizzydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

It was the best Christmas ever, thanks so much, table reserved for you next year, hope the new carpet is still as bouncy!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Had the bestest of holidays this christmas,lovely hotel ,great food,fantastic hosts Simon and Rhona,.Only a small hotel so soon made friends,so much food excellent quality Simon is a great chef and nothing is to much trouble for him and Rhona,who really do look after their guests,can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraineLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks so much it really was the best Christmas ever, even though some of our 'bestest' guests were missing. See you next year hopefully, Simon and Rhona xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at the New Guilderoy Hotel for the first time at Xmas 2011 after a look for hotels at Xmas, we were surprised at how good a time we had but thought that it may have been a one off, so we booked again for this Xmas 2012, it was not a one off.
What can we say that hasn't already been said over and over again on previous reviews, superb, amazing, brilliant, fantastic just pick any adjective that you like and it would apply.
We checked in the day before Xmas eve and everything was ready for us a luxurious bedroom with an expensive duvet and matching curtains, a handwritten Xmas card welcoming us with a box of liqueur chocolates a proper double bed in the middle of the room, not against the wall like so many in Blackpool..freeview colour TV and associated games xbox, nintendo ? no idea but kids would.
Then we went downstairs with freeview in the lounge and sky in the bar any TV addicts would get their fill, a range of each days papers, with bowls of chocs constantly topped up during our stay, could it get better? ohh yes,
The food, from a steak sizzling on a platter that first night to a lovely full English each morning, Xmas dinner was superb, Rhona continually bringing out sausage rolls, sandwiches, mince pies, pavlovas, Xmas cake, for a man who likes his food I just could not keep eating but it was so so nice
Should I mention the drink? well i'm virtually tee total but the Champagne to welcome Xmas day in and Bucks Fizz with breakfast on one morning how could I say no, and you never have to put your hand in your pocket, being all inclusive means exactly that but some places seem to get a bit hard of hearing when you want another drink, not here before you have finished your glass Rhona is there offering to top it up,
This year there was entertainment on 2 nights and i'm sorry for forgetting the guys name even though it was plastered over the back of his shirt, but being a Millwall supporter he would be easy to forget anyway.
I have noticed that I haven't mentioned Simon I'm not sure how to say anything about Simon and that's not a bad thing it's a good thing, take a disparate mix of guests throw in lots of alcohol and food the stress of running a B and B at Xmas going to bed at 3.30 in the morning and up to cook the breakfast and all the time being on hand for the guests would make most people a version of Basil Fawlty but he wanders around with his novelty slippers on, a smile on his face and time for everyone he and his wife Rhona make an incredible team.
The last word: well we have already rebooked for Xmas 2013 as I understand a lot had already done over the holiday and that I think says it all
Simon and Rhona you deserve to be the best but in your guests eyes you already are

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobandvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Vicky and Bob, Rm 5. Next year, massive bed and first floor room. What a great Christmas, thank you so much. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights,breakfast was lovely and Simon and rhona couldn't do enough evening meals and drink also good price well worth a visit looking forward to going back next year. Thanks for a great stay definitely would recommend Kerry and Clare South Wales

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingkerry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thanks so much, so glad I sorted the rugby out for you, probably seemed like totally neurotic, but was determined to get BBC Wales for you. Looking forward to welcoming you all back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

just returned from a 3 night break (last weekend of the lights) what can i say booked a double and a twin room that housed the kids to which simon put us all next door to each other,rooms clean,spacious and comfortable, very quiet at night time, breakfasts fantastic i cannot think of one fault about this hotel, if you are looking for a family getaway to blackpool please try this hotel,this is our 2nd visit to the Guilderoy and it gets our 5 star rating,look forward to visiting again, Thanks Simon @ Rhona
Ps i broke the shower and after telling Simon what i had done,he said he would look at it
on returning to our room in the afternoon, only to find a new shower box installed, now thats service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_richardson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

You did break the shower, and you know you did!!! But hey! The New Guilderoy, we know how to sort things and it didn't cost us, see you later in the year, you're great guests!!! Thanks for spreading the word!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

What a complete joy it was to stay at the new guilderoy hotel!! My wife and I travelled from south wales,and after a rather long drive,were greeted by Simon,ready to help us with the luggage.We had booked for six nights and from the first night were made to feel completely at home.Simon and Rhona were wonderful hosts,nothing was too much trouble for them,and the breakfasts were out of this world.Add to that the clean rooms and general ambience of the hotel,you are on a winner straight away! We felt we had made good friends and would highly recommend The New Guilderoy as a must stay for travellers and holidaymakers alike!! Simon's beefburgers,by the way,are out of this world!!! Hope to return next year!! Neil and Gina.

Room Tip: All rooms would be suitable as the hotel is on the quiet north shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Neil and Gina, so sorry to take so long to respond to your review. What a week we had, your dry sense of humour coupled with my silly scouse sense of humour. Come back soon! We miss you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
901 reviews
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#2 of 73 in Blackpool
545 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool

Address: 57-59 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £35 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the quieter North Shore, but close to the sea and tram stop. Fully licensed. All rooms are en-suite, extensive menu, excellent food, great wine selection and friendly staff. No parking restrictions to front of hotel. Ideal for couples, families, and conference delegates. Genting casino just two blocks away, bar, restaurant and gambling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing