We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simon & Rhona are fab hosts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
West Cumbria
2 reviews
“Simon & Rhona are fab hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great hosts, great craic, very helpful on best tram deals etc, very helpful on where to go, best breakfast ever in Blackpool and we have stayed in many hotels in the area. Very clean, great added touches in rooms for extra comfort. Will definately return soon, thanks Rhona and Simon, you have restored our faith in 'Blackpool Hotels'. !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieWestCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks so much Eddie, see you later in the year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    44
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
185
324
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Booked here last minute having read the reviews, even better than the photo's, we had a lovely room, very clean, comfy bed, en suite too!
Nearest tram stop is only 2 mins away.
Perfect hosts and definitely worth more than 3 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caityp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
..and that was 3* guest accom..... now 2* small hotel, always will go the extra mile, just please ask!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, wonderful hosts. Nothing to much trouble. You have a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning as well as toast. Plenty of tea coffee and juice. Cereal and fruit. Lovely clean rooms. The fridge in the room is so helpful. Also close to tram stop.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattloutom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Plum Tree Farm, no.6 Cumberland sausage, in emergency, Choice Meats are great!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, so I will add my thumbs up to the crowd. The New Guilderoy Hotel was a great choice for us.

Centrally located right off the promenade and two minutes from a tram stop, the hotel was the perfect jumping off point for exploring Blackpool and further afield. The hotel itself was spotless, beautifully decorated and featured a lounge, breakfast room, snug and bar for guests.

Our room was one of the smaller ones (room 9) and apparently one of the last for decoration. Even with its older styling, the room was clean, cosy and perfectly fine for two people. The en-suite bathroom was spotless and had a great shower to boot. The only negative with this room is that it is right on the staircase, so if you're a light sleeper you might want to ask for a different one. Was no problem for me, though!

Breakfast was excellent. Bacon, fried egg, sausage, tomato, fried bread, beans, hash brown, black pudding, scrambled egg and mushrooms as well as a continental breakfast is on offer. Yum!

One last word about Simon and Rhona, who were the most lovely and pleasant owners. They were so helpful and friendly - wonderful service! Would recommend happily.

Room Tip: Room 9 is on the staircase - just be aware if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairescottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the review Claire, to be fair, room 9 is our budget room, but wow! with the bar, communal areas, and breakfast, how can you not give us 5/5 for this, it's lovely, clean, great curtains, warm, electric shower, flat screen TV, alarm clock.... YAWN!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

there is nothing to say about this bb apart from one word excellent.no faults at all.just total happy with the stay and room.a very warm friendly couple.recommend to any type of age.one big thank you to simon and rhona.see you very soon :)

Room Tip: just ring or email simon he will help you with the right room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvoncspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks Yvonne, hope you enjoyed your 'warm' trip abroad, and see you both soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Firstly, we booked this guest house purely on 2 factors, reviews posted here and price/availability.
This was a very last minute decision by myself to take my wife and 2 young children (8&10 yrs old) on a surprise break to the sea side for an old fashioned weekend break, rekindling childhood memories.
The hotel itself was probably the best value establishment we have stayed in. Where else can you get a room for 4, plus a superb breakfast for only £65 !!
The room was a little small, but all you need is a bed, it was great bunking in together, it was clean, the matresses comfy (including the bunks !) and the ensuite was more than adequate.
With a playstation in the room for the kids, a lounge with an X-Box, a well stocked bar (even found a malt for a late night nightcap!) and most impressively for my girls, KERPLUNK !!, this ticked all the boxes. Would recommend this hotel for anyone, couples, families and special events would all find a warm welcome from Simon and Rhona, keep up the good work, never easy with all that competition on the doorstop.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for the fantastic review, as mentioned in another review, room 6 has disappeared, it's now a double room, room 15 is now the smallest family room (very big for Blackpool), xbox is still in the lounge, prices are still great....and of course we're now a 2* AA small hotel and yet we didn't put our prices up, and £2.50 for a pint of Carlsberg!!! Draft!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have been visiting this Hotel for the last seven years. Simon has modernized his hotel to a high spec over the years and is still improving. We started as a family of four all those years ago and now its just me and the wife ! We got a belter of a deal £75 for two nights Fri/Sat Room 5 with a four poster bed, flat screen Tv, and mini fridge. Rhona and simon are stil the perfect host's,nothing is never a problem. His chicken curry is a must and the Breakfast is still second to None !! A very enjoyable weekend despite the rain, But we will be returning in September for the fireworks and lights. See you then.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toydolls66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Love you guys, contact us via tripadvisor for your next booking, thanks for the new review, Simon and Rhona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool

Property: New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Address: 57-59 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the quieter North Shore, but close to the sea and tram stop. Fully licensed. All rooms are en-suite, extensive menu, excellent food, great wine selection and friendly staff. No parking restrictions to front of hotel. Ideal for couples, families, and conference delegates. Genting casino just two blocks away, bar, restaurant and gambling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing