We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed in the new guilderoy hotel in august for ten day's and i have to say we had a great time simon and rhona are two of the nicest people we have met they make you feel very welcome and can not do enough for you. We have a boy with special needs and he made sure we had a fridge in our room for his medication which was great. The hotel is very nicely decorated and our rooms were very nice and clean and what can i say about the breakfast it was fantastic freshly cooked and plenty of it. We have stayed in many hotels in blackpool as we have been going to blackpool for sixteen years and never got a breakfast like this or recieved the hospitality simon and rhona give.We even had the mother with us who is 80 and a critic and very outspoken and she loved the hotel she said it was like home away from home. We loved it so much we are going back to stay in september and we are looking forward to our stay. Thank you simon and rhona for making our holiday so great. From Noel and Val, Francis, sean Balbriggan Co Dublin ireland

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelcis_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    44
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
189
327
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Very helpful and good value for money , the owners were very obliging and nothing was a problem to them would recommend this hotel to any family wanting a relaxing stay , will return

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaurasnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Rhona and Simon made us very welcome, we enjoyed our stay very much, appreciating the well presented, impeccably clean hotel with excellent cuisine and service. We will certainly be returning to the New Guilderoy hotel in Blackpool again
Joan & Norman

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leicesterbrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Makes us so happy. 81st birthday celebrations and still the best breakfast!!! Thank You So Much, Simon and Rhona, xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I really cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, everything from arrival to departure was perfect. We (Wife and 2 kids) stayed in one of the family rooms and found it had everything we could want, including a fridge (How many places in Blackpool can say that). The beds were really comfortable, the room was spotless, and best of all it was so quiet and peaceful. We had read about the great breakfast before arrival, and we really were not dissapointed, it had everything including a buffet selection with a continental option thrown in for good measure.
I must though say a special thanks to Simon and Rhona who were 2 of the nicest people i have ever met, nothing was too much trouble for them, how they manage to keep smiling despite the endless hours they put in is a credit to them.
I will never go to another hotel in Blackpool because i don't think this can be beaten. We will certainly be back. Thanks once again for a great stay. The Fraser family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo_fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed at the New Guideroy Hotel for some months whilst working in the area.
I stayed four nights a week and from day one I was made to feel like one of the family.
Simon and Rhona must be the friendliest hosts in Blackpool.
I found the cleanliness of the hotel to be spot on and the food was always freshly prepared to order.
I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anybody thinking of spending some time in Blackpool
Brian M

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Before i write this review i would like to comment on a review written on the 23rd of July by
Laurentayxox if anyone is checking these reviews before deciding wether to book at
The New Guilderoy and they read the one i have mentioned discard anything that they have written because it was written by a bloody Idiot.

(Now for our Review) My Wife and i had the absolute pleasure of staying at The New Guilderoy Hotel on our arrival we were met by our hosts Simon and Rhona who introduced themselves to us and made us feel very welcome Rhona showed us around while Simon carried our luggage to our room
and during our stay they could not do enough for us we have been coming to Blackpool for many years and we have never met a lovelier or more obliging couple they realy do go that extra mile and even beyond and you will see when reading the other reviews that everyone except the( Idiot) raves about the Breakfast trust me it is all true Simon cooks it fresh while you are enjoying your fruit juice and your cereal and the attention you get from Rhona is second to none Coffee or Tea or both would you like more toast can i get you anything else is everything allright these are just a few phrases you will hear from Rhona even Simon will appear from the kitchen and ask if everything is ok ohnestly i cannot praise them highly enough we had a suitcase to send back home and Simon drove my Wife in his car to the Post Office waited for her and brought her back to the hotel
( thank's again for that Simon ) and on the day we were departing Simon once again gave us a lift to the train Station so thanks for that again Simon when i started to write this review you will notice i said we were met by our hosts Simon and Rhona well when we left we we said goodbye to two special friends their names are Simon and Rhona
and not forgetting their adorable friendly Pooch the lovely Bruno and just one last thing
will we be back to stay at The New Guilderoy Hotel try and stop us.
And now a Personal Message for Simon and Rhona = From the bottom of our Hearts Thank-you so so much for making our stay in Blackpool the most enjoyable we have had ( see you both soon.)
John & Janice ( Mc Ewan )

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmack24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I have stayed at the New Guilderoy hotel once or twice a week for the past 15 months or so whilst working in nearby Fleedwood. I can honestly say you will not find a better hotel in all of Blackpool. This place really is special. Right, where do i start? Ok the rooms :- there are a variety of room sizes e.g. double rooms, family rooms (theres even family rooms with ajoining kids and adult rooms, including ps2 for the kids (or big kids like me!).They are all spotlessly clean, nice moden decor throughout and lovely comfortable beds. Each room is equipped with tv (some have lcd or hd tv fitted), dvd player and freeview, Tea and coffee making facilities, fresh water and biscuits, ironing board, iron and hair dryer are all included. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel. The bathrooms are adequately sized and all have iether a shower, or a bath (with shower). Fresh towels, soap and shampoo are also provided. Next, onto the food. One word - fantastic. From breakfast through to evening meal the Guilderoys own masterchef Simon serves up the highest quality food at great prices. The breakfasts are something to behold and really set you up for the day. The full english is absolutely gorgous, and you certainly wont leave that table wanting more! There is also a great choice of cereals, yoghurts, meats, cheeses etc. There really is something for everyone. I read an earlier review mentioning a lack of breakfast choice or vegitarian options. Im sorry but you must have got the wrong place!!! Anyway, moving on. The dining area is a nice size, tables well spaced out, and of course spotless. The bar area has a well stocked bar, with a good range of draft and bottled beers and spirits at reasonable prices (£2.50 for a pint of ice cold draft stella is my personal favourite!). The bar area has a large lcd tv with plenty of seating available. Through from the bar there is a lounge with a dining area which then leads to a large room at the front of the hotel, This is a really nice room. The owners have managed to give it a real homely feel to it, and have interspersed it with some intriguiging items from Simon and Rhonas extensive world travels. (there are plenty of gems like this throughout the hotel - a proper aladdins cave!). Locationwise, the hotel is situated on Blackpools north shore. Away from the hustle bustle of the town centre but only a five minute bus or tramride to the main attractions. If you like to walk like me, you can get to the tower in about 20 mins which is a lovely walk on a nice day. There is ample parking on the road outside and the area is nice and quiet. There are a couple of pubs nearby and a casino a bit further on for the more adventorous. Anyway, Ive deliberately saved the best till last - the owners. Simon and Rhona - you could not wish to meet a nicer, more helpful, and genuine couple. They really are lovely people and will always go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable experience. Nothing is too much trouble.If you have any special requests, e.g dietry (or even just a liking for a specific tipple!) Simon and Rhona will do there upmost to help you out. In a nutshell - a lovely hotel, ideal for couples and families, great value for money, and run by lovely people. I would not stay anywhere else now. Just book it and see for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruBluMeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Shore_Expert, Owner at New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
OMG Stephen, we can't thank you enough for the wonderful review. We'll make sure we have an extra PS/2 for double/single rooms for the business traveller!!!! Or maybe just have one permanently in room 9!!! Regards to your mum and sister and all the other NHS contractors, in particular Andy, and good old Gary who still visits even though he's working in Abu Dhabi now.
See you Tuesday night and hope you got your 'pass out' for August 6th!
P.S Thanks for not mentioning too much about the Casino!!! OUCH!! :) What Casino?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
3.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.4 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool

Property: New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
Address: 57-59 Holmfield Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY2 9RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the quieter North Shore, but close to the sea and tram stop. Fully licensed. All rooms are en-suite, extensive menu, excellent food, great wine selection and friendly staff. No parking restrictions to front of hotel. Ideal for couples, families, and conference delegates. Genting casino just two blocks away, bar, restaurant and gambling! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing