We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasent surprise... excellent!!”
Review of The Arthington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Arthington
Ranked #3 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a pleasent surprise... excellent!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Got in by chance at the last minute as we could not get into a hotel family were staying at... What a surprise we had, the standard of room was really good only matched by Elaine and Steven who were very friendly and accommodating hosts. The street is also very nice and clean with lots of flowers in bloom. We had a very short stay but could have easily stayed in the friendly atmosphere... and excellent pints of carling for much longer. We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
235
628
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

enjoyed our stay very much and will be back. nothing too much trouble - ideal
location aswell!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airdrie scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This Hotel is recognised for its excellent standards and professional approach
Mr and Mrs Paul Watson.......Louise

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPLRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We arrived at 10.30 on the Friday and were met by Elaine and Tanya (the dog). We were told it was no problem to leave our luggage and go off and explore. We were even offered a drink despite Elaine being in the middle of getting rooms ready. When we returned, we met Steve who had even taken our case to our room at the very top of the house.
The room was immaculately clean and had tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and chocolates all laid out for us. Freeview tv and an electric shower were also a bonus. The room itself was beautifully decorated in greens and purples (all modern prints) - a welcome change from most Blackpool guesthouses with their 70s style decor! In fact the entire hotel was modern and fresh. The breakfasts were excellent - very fast service and a massive choice so nobody could go hungry (I cant recommend Elaine's Reservoire Eggs highly enough).

Nothing was a problem for Steve and Elaine, even gave us vouchers for the Waxworks! Good banter too - although my son (who changed between Newcastle & Blackpool football shirts on an hourly basis) wasnt impresed when Steve suggested he might buy a Derby County Shirt next :)

The hotel is half way between South and Cental Piers - ideal for the tower and the Pleasure Beach. We will definately be visiting again - just wish we could manage to come back next week!

Thank you for a fab break!
See you soon - And Alex says 'hello' to Tanya!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is really nice and we have a nice time staying there. We loved the food (best English breakfast we had so far :)) however fans of healthy food would also find something they would like.. The owners of this place are really friendly, easy going and always there for their guests. The hotel was really clean and had all facilities tourists may need (tea, coffee, hair dryer, towles, shower gel these are standard but they also had shower cap!! :)). Suitable for young couples and we stronlgy recommend this place despite the fact that bed can be noisy;-).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagdaM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

As soon as we arrived at the hotel for our weekend in blackpool, the owners staright away gave us a nice and friendly welcome. The room we were given was beautifully decorated with all the neccessities needed. There was also a good selection when having breakfast. The location of the hotel was ideal with only a few minutes walk to the south pier and pleasure beach fair. And about 15 minutes walk to the other piers, shops and other attractions. Will certainly be booking again at this place, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I booked this hotel due to being in the Preston and Blackpool area on business, as soon as i got to the hotel Steve and Elaine had a cup of tea ready for me and my bags were taken to my room, I also had a lovely meal that evening and a couple of drinks in the very tasteful surroundings of the bar area.
All in all a very enjoyable experience....and what a breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernonparkercie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 859 in Blackpool
771 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 859 in Blackpool
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthington

Property: The Arthington
Address: 24 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arthington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Elaine would like to welcome you to The Arthington Guest Hous offering quality accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms en-suite ranging from Single to King (King and Executive King). All rooms have LCD TV with freeview and IPod docking stations. Wifi available. Well stocked Bar with SKY sports in the lounge.Fantastic Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Arthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arthington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing