We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another faultless stay”
Review of The Arthington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Arthington
Ranked #3 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another faultless stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Channels 5's Alex Polizzi of the Hotel Inspector has aired for all to see in The Telegraph 20/8/2013 what we have experienced for many years. I quote
I visited a pretty eight-room four-star,- The Arthington, owned by Steve and Elaine. Seven years ago, . Their gorgeous king-size rooms are a snip at £60-£70 a night including breakfast, and arriving at their flower-filled frontage fills you with anticipation. What a wonderful place to spend the weekend.

Its the extra touches that are not extras but standard with them that makes you feel your B&B choice was the right choice. Steve & Elaine know how to treat guuest - renowned or common a garden Derbyshire guests - 1st timers or repeat visitors all are alike - special from the minute the car pulls up to the minute it pulls away.

In the language of Strictly its 10 10 10 10.

Room Tip: Any the all have a wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedancingmatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
235
628
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our second stay at The Arthington and it was as enjoyable this time as it was the first time.Steve and Elaine are the most perfect hosts.The room was beautiful and very clean and we could have asked for nothing better.The breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from and it kept you going throughout the day, would recommend this B&B to anyone.Thank you Steve and Elaine for making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very pleased with our stay, excellent venue, excellent food, excellent hospitality. Could not ask for more. Our room was lovely and well equipped. Would recommend anyone to stay there. The hosts were really welcoming and made us feel valued as guests, nothing was a problem, excellent service was delivered and the pride and happiness in the hosts was apparent. English breakfast was thoroughly enjoyed, lovely and hot and well presented.

Room Tip: Family room was super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

With over 800 b&b`s in Blackpool how on earth do you guarantee the right choice? Quite simple really...just start at the top of the list! With so many consistently excellent reviews it can be seen as a privilege to get booked in to The Arthington, we certainly were not disappointed!
From the moment you arrive the passion these people put into their job is evident. A welcome cuppa within minutes of arriving after a tiring day of travel is just one example of many little extras that make the difference.
Steve took time to chat and made us feel welcome as if we were old friends, with numerous recommendations for eating out and places to visit. The room was beautifully decorated with everything we needed plus many little extras.
We stayed for two nights, and as previous contributors mention the breakfast was just superb!
Lots of choice, fresh fruit, yogurts of many kinds and the most delicious home cooked full English you could ask for! (And as much toast and coffee as you wanted)

This really is an establishment of a high standard and fully deserves its top rating.You certainly can find cheaper options, but do so at your peril! No one can offer a 100% guarantee of satisfaction, but if 99.9% is good enough then choose The Arthington with confidence!

We stayed on November 1st/2nd

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

From the lovely warm welcome with tea and cakes, to the good advice on which Italian restaurant to eat at, this hotel is perfect in every way. Beautiful room, comfy bed and spotless bathroom, Steve and Elaine should be justifiably proud of their hard work and professionalism. The breakfast had a menu to choose from, and all the food is mouth-wateringly good. We can't wait to go again. Thanks Steve and Elaine for a lovely couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stopped for a couple of night with the family over half term. Steve and Elaine went out of their way to ensure our stay was fabulous including a welcoming hot drink and the breakfast choice and quality was truly fantastic. Fixtures and fittings very modern and chic and above all the place was spotless. Great bar with the chance to wind down after busy Blackpool days. In a great location near the Central Pier and within walking distance of Pleasure Beach and the Tower. We'll be back and would certainly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stay at the Arthington Oct 28-30 2013
It was awful,
Room awful-ly good
Food awful-ly nice
Owners awful-ly helpful
An excellent stay in Room 1 with really good hosts Steve and Elaine. Just off the main promenade and great location for all attractions. I also booked Sun and 80 degree heat but made do with October showers :) The licenced bar was a great bonus too. We would recommend the Arthington to anyone though be aware, you may have trouble walking after Elaine's full English! What a breakfast!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandvoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,035 reviews
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 859 in Blackpool
771 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Blackpool
The Hotel Blackpool
#8 of 859 in Blackpool
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arthington

Property: The Arthington
Address: 24 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arthington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Elaine would like to welcome you to The Arthington Guest Hous offering quality accommodation at a reasonable price. All rooms en-suite ranging from Single to King (King and Executive King). All rooms have LCD TV with freeview and IPod docking stations. Wifi available. Well stocked Bar with SKY sports in the lounge.Fantastic Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Arthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arthington Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing