We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the berwyn hotel”
Review of Berwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berwyn Hotel
Ranked #265 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our stay at the berwyn hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Myself and my family stayed at the Berwyn Hotel Easter Weekend, it was our second stay at the hotel and feel we have to comment as yet again we had a super time, nothing was too much trouble for Derek the Proprietor, our room was lovely and breakfast was first class. I would certainly recommend this lovely family friendy hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which was very nice, my mum stayed in room 15 which was even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    27
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
60
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Have been staying at this hotel since Derek and Barbara took over. I visit a few times per year. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are fantastic value for money and nothing is too much trouble for the owners. The breakfasts and evening meals are super and the chef is also very attentive and friendly. I would only stay somewhere else if D and B moved. Could ramble on but just to say everything about the place and its owners are A1. Parking is very easy too. Dont go anywhere else, "book the Berwyn".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My Mother has been staying at The Berwyn for close on 40 years until she recently passed away,visiting 3 or 4 times a year.
My family have just returned form a great weekend there having released 11 white balloons in Mom's memory.
In our opinion you could not wish for a better Hotel...The owners and staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
We have many happy memories about The Berwyn and feel sure that you will enjoy you stay there.
The rooms are very clean and the food is first class.Congrats to all concerned and "keep up the good work"

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just stayed a night at this hotel and will definately return. Rooms are small but very clean, having everything you need.
What makes this hotel special though is the owner Derek. Great personality and very welcoming.

No this is not 5 star accomodation, but it has everything you need for a comfortable stay in a good location at the
right price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

we stayed at the berwyn in 2009, and it was the first weekend away with my then partner. We had a great weekend Derek and Barbara were fantastic hosts they welcomed us from the moment we walked through the door till we left, so when my partner and i got married on the 13th aug 2011 we decided that we had to return to the berwyn and have our honeymoon in that very same hotel, once again we were greeted by the same first class service and friendly atmosphere that puts you at ease, i would recommend anyone to stay there and would say without a doubt you will enjoy it as we did and we have vowed to return possibly for our first anniversary thanks Derek and Barbara you have made our start to married life so happy xxx sharyn and lee kelly

Room Tip: spacious,clean and regularly checked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here as we were travelling from Leeds to see Chubby Brown. Arrived to friendly welcome from Dereck the hotel manager. The rooms and en suite were just what we wanted clean and quite a spacious room. Breakfast was lovely. Easy parking. We would def stay here again next time we are in blackpool and would highly recommend. We had a good laugh with the hotel manager, the stay at the hotel was a major part of topping a fantatsic weekend in Blackpool. Loved the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I've stayed at this hotel 4/5 times now and every time has been a pleasure.
There is always a warm welcome from the Brummie's version of Frank Carson!! Derek. After a long drive from London it's really good to walk in to a hotel and be greeted with a smile and a joke!!! You're made to feel at home almost immediately.
This hotel is superbly situated on the North side of Blackpool,set in a quiet location back from the main road,with sea views and plenty of on street parking and a few off street ones. Trams are 3 minutes away and 10mins takes you into the heart of Blackpool.There are local stores a 2min. walk away and several restaurants.The Gynn public house is also a 2min walk away,a large pub which has seen better days but it's just been taken over by new management and hopefully it will be sorted soon.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with the usual tea/coffee making facilities and the old tube TV's are out and LCD TV's are on the walls with freeview .The en suite bathrooms are clean with good showers and though some people may find them a little tight for space,they were perfectly alright for me.
Breakfast was good,plentyful and hot and all served to your table.
My partner and I stayed here March 3rd - 6th 2011 and therefore out of season.We were,apart from another couple,the only ones there.The trams were closed down and the whole of the front was being dug up so buses and taxi's are the only transport ,though on Saturday night Derek turned from Hotelier to taxi driver!!! and drove us to a great pub a mile up the road!
I've stayed here about 5 times now which really says it all.I've always had a great time here,the staff and the owners Derek and Barbara are real,honest,nice people where nothing is too much trouble. Always a pleasure to arrive,sad to leave!!
It will be the place I stay next time I'm up there,hopefully not too long.
EXCELLENT

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BRIGLACKIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#193 of 859 in Blackpool
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Windsor Carlton
The Windsor Carlton
#74 of 859 in Blackpool
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossdene House
Rossdene House
#182 of 859 in Blackpool
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#300 of 859 in Blackpool
84 reviews
2.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 859 in Blackpool
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#114 of 859 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwyn Hotel

Property: Berwyn Hotel
Address: 1-2 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Berwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing