We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful”
Review of Berwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berwyn Hotel
Ranked #189 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend with our grandchildren. The staff were really helpful and nothing was to much trouble. We forgot to take our towels for the waterpark and they lent us some. Not many hotels would do this. The rooms were very comfortable with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. The free wifi was very useful. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms very clean. Breakfast was served by friendly staff in a very pleasant dining room. The hotel has a lovely feel to it and is really good for families.
As the hotel is by North shore it is nice and quiet at night. The tram stop is nearby but if you take your car into blackpool park on the car park on the corner of Bond st. Turn left by Pablo's fish and chip shop and Tommy Ducks by the South shore pier. You can get a good deal if you pay for a number of days. You also get a 20% discount voucher for the seaside cafe opposite. Great for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    27
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
59
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at Berwyn for 1 night on 28th July. The hotel was in lovely surroundings, we stayed in a room overlooking the gardens / large park which was nice and pleasant as a view outside the window. Derek (Host) is a truly funny and genuine guy. Made our stay very enjoyable from the minute we got there till early hours of this morning !!! We love walking so this was perfect location for us, a nice enjoyable 15-20 minutes sea breeze and fresh air to the main promenade.

Hotel was quiet at night as its located in North Shore but still close enough to walk or get a taxi (5-10 mins) to main attractions. The room was very tidy and bed was very comfortable. The whole hotel had a welcoming atmosphere and people that stayed there whilst we were there were very nice.

Derek has extensive knowledge of the area and places to go in the day/evening. Great hotel for couples, families and mature guests. On the whole a really fantastic hotel, great hosts and we cant wait to go back hopefully for New years eve package. Thank you to Derek and everyone else who works there for a great stay, hope to see you all soon !

Room Tip: Great rooms with a nice view overlooking large gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just stayed here for 3 nights with my 11 year old daughter and best friend for the Britsh Open golf. Finding a quality place is not easy and this place was perfect. Landlord Derek was a wonderful host and really made our stay. If youre looking for a place to stay in Blackpool this is place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Had a fantastic stay at the Berwyn Hotel. The owner, Derek, was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. Bedrooms and dining room were spotless.Small park and gardens directly opposite so ideal for children. Will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 531DianeMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. The staff were all very helpful. The rooms were very clean. Great breakfast. Will definitely be back ....soon :-)

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel last weekend having been in Blackpool to see Elton John. It's cheap, clean, got lovely friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a lovely breakfast.

However what sold it mostly to us was the location. The hotel is located in a quiet part of the north shore and away from the noise that dominates the centre of Blackpool. They don't allow hen/stag parties so it means there is a lovely calm feel to the property and other guests all seemed lovely.

We had a lovely room with sea views and a comfortable bed and good shower.

It's the perfect choice for anyone in town for an event and who wants a bit of peace and quite. There is also off road parking.

The hotel is only around 1.5miles from the town centre so easily walkable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandIanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a great location. The staff are friendly and always happy to do anything you ask, whether that be a sandwich on an evening or something different for your breakfast. The food is lovely and the dining room is clean.
Hotel rooms are very clean and have lovely views of the gynn gardens.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura170689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
The Braemar Hotel
The Braemar Hotel
#337 of 858 in Blackpool
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#183 of 858 in Blackpool
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossdene House
Rossdene House
#215 of 858 in Blackpool
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Windsor Carlton
The Windsor Carlton
#101 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Craigmore
The Craigmore
#196 of 858 in Blackpool
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#293 of 858 in Blackpool
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwyn Hotel

Property: Berwyn Hotel
Address: 1-2 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Berwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing