We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel / guest house.”
Review of Berwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berwyn Hotel
Ranked #265 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel / guest house.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Berwyn in April with another couple (attending a football match) and decided upon the Berwyn from the pictures and description on Hotels.com. When we arrived we asked where the ample car park was and was told to park anywhere on the street. Obviously, this want as described as per the description, but there wasn't an issue with the street parking, plenty of light etc. The owner couldn't do enough for us and was very attentive to all our needs, had a lovely conversation over a beer or two when we came back from the football. He helped us with taxis and where to eat and drink (we didn't want the usual crappy pubs or restaurants). The rooms were very nice and spotless, nice LCD tv, en-suite facilities and comfortable bed (we stayed on the to floor facing the street). The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with unlimited cereal, juices etc. The only thing that wasn't great was the time breakfast was served from and to. Breakfast was served between 08:00 and 09:00, this in my opinion could be extended until at least 10:00. The most impressive thing was a parcel received in the post a couple of days after our visit. Our friend had left her dress in the wardrobe and was posted to us. A lovey touch and very much appreciated.

I would recommend this hotel and should we find ourselves in the area again,we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Fantastic breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Slater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    27
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
60
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I'm not really sure how this hotel is a 4*it was more like a 2*
Our room was dated with its very garish wallpaper and cheap bedroom furniture. The advertised double bed was more like a
Large single. And the bedding was in a poor state!
The en-suite/ cupboard was very claustrophobic and you are in danger of banging your knees on the sink
When sitting on the toilet.
The breakfast was poor using cheap bacon and sausages. Not what you'd expect from a 4*
The tea and coffee again cheap and tasteless!
I would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning. I don't think it was
Worth the £60 that I paid more like £25.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leeds1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSpuddy, Owner at Berwyn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
In response to your review. If you were not happy with the room, it would have been helpful if you had told us. We cannot understand what was wrong with the bedding being in a poor state, or Nescafe coffee and Typhoo tea bags being too cheap. With regards to breakfast, we do use quality bacon and sausages purchased locally. We do understand that some of our bathrooms are small, but quite serviceable. We are not a 4 star Hotel but a 4 star Visit Britain Guest Accommodation and are sorry if you thought otherwise. Hopefully you were not too traumatised by your one night stay and can in the future find a Hotel that you can pay the same amount of money for a weekend one night stay that meets your obviously very high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just sent two nights in the Berwyn Hotel in Gynn Square Blackpool. The hotel was fantastic. We booked a family room for four, and it had two bedrooms with adjoining doors, one with a double and one with two singles. There was also two shower rooms.
The hotel was very clean, and Derek and Barbara were very welcoming. I have been to Blackpool many times before, and i have never had such great value for money. As mentioned previously, the rooms were very well appointed and the breakfasts were also the best that i have had in a very long time.
The hotel also has a very nice bar area, and we spent a few hours in the bar on the Saturday night. The prices and selection of drinks were also very good.
We traveled with two children, one aged 11 and one aged 8. Derek made a big fuss of them and they thought that this was brilliant, as most hotel owners don't bother with the children.
There is a play park and grassy area directly opposite the hotel, and the kids loved playing in it. They were over in the morning before breakfast and any time that we came back to get changed to go back out for the night.
All in all, we had a great time, and we will definitely be back again soon.
Many thanks again to Derek and Barbara for their fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: We had rooms 11 & 12 as the adjoining family room. Great sea views and views over Gynn Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainc1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Wendel, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent the night in Blackpool as part of the May Bank Holiday 2013 weekend, and were delighted with our stay at the Berwyn.

We booked online and got a great rate on the hotel, and breakfast was included too - always a good thing! I was slightly apprehensive before we arrived, as we were to be in a Double 'Small' room. Happily, my doubts proved unfounded, as the room itself was of a decent size. There was plenty of storage space provided for coats and bags, and although the bathroom wasn't the biggest, it was spotlessly clean and it did everything we needed it to do.

One of the problems associated with Blackpool is the stag and hen party groups that roam the city centre, seemingly 24/7. They're loud, rude and unpleasant, and here Berwyn came to our rescue again - they don't take rowdy groups like that. The place was fully booked the night we were there, but it was pretty quiet the whole time, so we got a decent amount of uninterrupted sleep.

Oh, and as an added bonus, our room was on the first floor, and we were extremely lucky to have a sea view!

In the morning, we took full advantage of the excellent complimentary full English breakfast - the service was fast, friendly and efficient - and were checked out by the required 10am. The hotel owners were extremely pleasant and friendly, and we would have absolutely no hesitation in stopping here again the next time we're over in this part of the world!

The only slight downside for some people could be that the hotel is slightly out of the town centre. It's about a 20 minute walk from the middle of town, although there are regular trams that will take you there in 5 minutes for £1.50 each way. The upside of the location, of course, is the fact that you won't be stepping over drunken bodies as you make your way back to your room...

All in all, this was a lovely stay for us - if you're looking for a quiet night in Blackpool, the Berwyn's definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Having already visited the Berwyn hotel before when it was decided to take a weekend break in blackpool we decided to re visit Derek and Barbra again,,,,,,,well to say we were suprised at what greeted us is an understatement,,,,they have improved on a already excellent hotel,the room we stayed in was completely re furbished with beautiful decor and fixtures and fixings,the normal cleanliness was still adhered to ,Derek and Barbra where once again very hospitable,,,i think you would be hard pressed to find another hotel in blackpool that offers value for money and an all round great experience,,,,well done the berwyn !!!

Room Tip: second floor ,sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickwitt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Been coming to this hotel 2or 3 times a year for the past 4 years.Barbara & derek are lovely hosts & make all their guests really welcome.All the rooms are spotless and the food is excellent.would highly reccomend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet10058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Me and a group of my friends stayed at the Berwyn Hotel in November as part of a psychic weekend.... We were actually out booked to the Berwyn.... Which made the whole weekend!!!! Derek and his family were very hospitable from the moment we arrived.... Nothing was to much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy and a good size.... Staff were all friendly...... And breakfast was lovely too!!!!
Me and all my friends enjoyed our time greatly at the Berwyn and would recommend to all!!!! Make sure you ask Derek to make you a Mini Guinness... They're his speciality!!!!
If ever returning to Blackpool I would not hesitate to book the Berwyn Hotel again!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#192 of 859 in Blackpool
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Windsor Carlton
The Windsor Carlton
#80 of 859 in Blackpool
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossdene House
Rossdene House
#163 of 859 in Blackpool
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#297 of 859 in Blackpool
84 reviews
2.6 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 859 in Blackpool
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#128 of 859 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwyn Hotel

Property: Berwyn Hotel
Address: 1-2 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Berwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing