We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Berwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berwyn Hotel
Ranked #180 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Book it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Berwyn. It's close to the centre but away from all the noise and bustle. The walk along the promenade is lovely but it's very accessible to a really efficient tram service. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view. Breakfast is really top quality and to top it all you are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    27
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
56
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

What a great time we had at the Berwyn. We stayed 3 nights and they were the best days I have ever spent in Blackpool. The hotel is run by Derek what a wonderful host. Nothing was any bother. The room was excellent, clean and spacious. The view was magnificent. It was quiet so we had 3 good nights sleep. The hotel is away from the hustle and noise but very close to the prom for busses and trams. The breakfast was very good and eat as much as you wanted. Excellent, excellent break and we will be going back

Room Tip: Try not to book a room 6 the bathroom is a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent a weekend in this hotel with my fiancee for a weekend getaway. Loved the fact that it was located away from the noisy "STAG AND HEN" areas of the town but also an easy and pleasant walk along the promande into the centre.

Lovely couple running the place - Derek was an absolute hoot! Chatty, funny, friendly and made us both feel so welcome.

From start to finish, he and Barbara couldn't do enough to advise us on places to see, how to get there and where to eat (great ideas for dinner from Derek - fantastic steak at a local place!).

The room was small (as expected - small double room - great value for money) but comfortable bed, clean functional bathroom (and not particularly small), fresh towels, decent flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits.

The breakfast was fantastic - full English, toast, cereal, fruit juice, tea, coffee and tireless hosts could not do enough for us. The other two staff members were also great; friendly, attentive and pleasant.

Will certainly be back for another weekend break - and certainly wouldn't want to stay anywhere else now! Thanks Derek and Barbara for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Berwyn in April with another couple (attending a football match) and decided upon the Berwyn from the pictures and description on Hotels.com. When we arrived we asked where the ample car park was and was told to park anywhere on the street. Obviously, this want as described as per the description, but there wasn't an issue with the street parking, plenty of light etc. The owner couldn't do enough for us and was very attentive to all our needs, had a lovely conversation over a beer or two when we came back from the football. He helped us with taxis and where to eat and drink (we didn't want the usual crappy pubs or restaurants). The rooms were very nice and spotless, nice LCD tv, en-suite facilities and comfortable bed (we stayed on the to floor facing the street). The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with unlimited cereal, juices etc. The only thing that wasn't great was the time breakfast was served from and to. Breakfast was served between 08:00 and 09:00, this in my opinion could be extended until at least 10:00. The most impressive thing was a parcel received in the post a couple of days after our visit. Our friend had left her dress in the wardrobe and was posted to us. A lovey touch and very much appreciated.

I would recommend this hotel and should we find ourselves in the area again,we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Fantastic breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Slater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I'm not really sure how this hotel is a 4*it was more like a 2*
Our room was dated with its very garish wallpaper and cheap bedroom furniture. The advertised double bed was more like a
Large single. And the bedding was in a poor state!
The en-suite/ cupboard was very claustrophobic and you are in danger of banging your knees on the sink
When sitting on the toilet.
The breakfast was poor using cheap bacon and sausages. Not what you'd expect from a 4*
The tea and coffee again cheap and tasteless!
I would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning. I don't think it was
Worth the £60 that I paid more like £25.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leeds1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSpuddy, Owner at Berwyn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
In response to your review. If you were not happy with the room, it would have been helpful if you had told us. We cannot understand what was wrong with the bedding being in a poor state, or Nescafe coffee and Typhoo tea bags being too cheap. With regards to breakfast, we do use quality bacon and sausages purchased locally. We do understand that some of our bathrooms are small, but quite serviceable. We are not a 4 star Hotel but a 4 star Visit Britain Guest Accommodation and are sorry if you thought otherwise. Hopefully you were not too traumatised by your one night stay and can in the future find a Hotel that you can pay the same amount of money for a weekend one night stay that meets your obviously very high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just sent two nights in the Berwyn Hotel in Gynn Square Blackpool. The hotel was fantastic. We booked a family room for four, and it had two bedrooms with adjoining doors, one with a double and one with two singles. There was also two shower rooms.
The hotel was very clean, and Derek and Barbara were very welcoming. I have been to Blackpool many times before, and i have never had such great value for money. As mentioned previously, the rooms were very well appointed and the breakfasts were also the best that i have had in a very long time.
The hotel also has a very nice bar area, and we spent a few hours in the bar on the Saturday night. The prices and selection of drinks were also very good.
We traveled with two children, one aged 11 and one aged 8. Derek made a big fuss of them and they thought that this was brilliant, as most hotel owners don't bother with the children.
There is a play park and grassy area directly opposite the hotel, and the kids loved playing in it. They were over in the morning before breakfast and any time that we came back to get changed to go back out for the night.
All in all, we had a great time, and we will definitely be back again soon.
Many thanks again to Derek and Barbara for their fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: We had rooms 11 & 12 as the adjoining family room. Great sea views and views over Gynn Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainc1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Wendel, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent the night in Blackpool as part of the May Bank Holiday 2013 weekend, and were delighted with our stay at the Berwyn.

We booked online and got a great rate on the hotel, and breakfast was included too - always a good thing! I was slightly apprehensive before we arrived, as we were to be in a Double 'Small' room. Happily, my doubts proved unfounded, as the room itself was of a decent size. There was plenty of storage space provided for coats and bags, and although the bathroom wasn't the biggest, it was spotlessly clean and it did everything we needed it to do.

One of the problems associated with Blackpool is the stag and hen party groups that roam the city centre, seemingly 24/7. They're loud, rude and unpleasant, and here Berwyn came to our rescue again - they don't take rowdy groups like that. The place was fully booked the night we were there, but it was pretty quiet the whole time, so we got a decent amount of uninterrupted sleep.

Oh, and as an added bonus, our room was on the first floor, and we were extremely lucky to have a sea view!

In the morning, we took full advantage of the excellent complimentary full English breakfast - the service was fast, friendly and efficient - and were checked out by the required 10am. The hotel owners were extremely pleasant and friendly, and we would have absolutely no hesitation in stopping here again the next time we're over in this part of the world!

The only slight downside for some people could be that the hotel is slightly out of the town centre. It's about a 20 minute walk from the middle of town, although there are regular trams that will take you there in 5 minutes for £1.50 each way. The upside of the location, of course, is the fact that you won't be stepping over drunken bodies as you make your way back to your room...

All in all, this was a lovely stay for us - if you're looking for a quiet night in Blackpool, the Berwyn's definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#160 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Windsor Carlton
The Windsor Carlton
#125 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossdene House
Rossdene House
#191 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Fossil Tree Hotel
The Fossil Tree Hotel
#14 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#141 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
The North Crest Hotel
The North Crest Hotel
#13 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwyn Hotel

Property: Berwyn Hotel
Address: 1-2 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing