We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Berwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Berwyn Hotel
Ranked #209 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Berwyn. Nice clean room on the second floor with great sea views. Derek was a welcoming and very friendly host. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Great location as its away from the hustle and bustle but only a short walk or tram ride to get to it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the berwyn hotel and l cannot fault it the breakfast is good with a good choice , and the hotel is very clean its got a well stocked bar . Thank you derek for a great weekend we will be back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank keithpuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Berwyn. It's close to the centre but away from all the noise and bustle. The walk along the promenade is lovely but it's very accessible to a really efficient tram service. The room was clean and comfortable with a great view. Breakfast is really top quality and to top it all you are made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What a great time we had at the Berwyn. We stayed 3 nights and they were the best days I have ever spent in Blackpool. The hotel is run by Derek what a wonderful host. Nothing was any bother. The room was excellent, clean and spacious. The view was magnificent. It was quiet so we had 3 good nights sleep. The hotel is away from the hustle and noise but very close to the prom for busses and trams. The breakfast was very good and eat as much as you wanted. Excellent, excellent break and we will be going back

Room Tip: Try not to book a room 6 the bathroom is a little small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Spent a weekend in this hotel with my fiancee for a weekend getaway. Loved the fact that it was located away from the noisy "STAG AND HEN" areas of the town but also an easy and pleasant walk along the promande into the centre.

Lovely couple running the place - Derek was an absolute hoot! Chatty, funny, friendly and made us both feel so welcome.

From start to finish, he and Barbara couldn't do enough to advise us on places to see, how to get there and where to eat (great ideas for dinner from Derek - fantastic steak at a local place!).

The room was small (as expected - small double room - great value for money) but comfortable bed, clean functional bathroom (and not particularly small), fresh towels, decent flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits.

The breakfast was fantastic - full English, toast, cereal, fruit juice, tea, coffee and tireless hosts could not do enough for us. The other two staff members were also great; friendly, attentive and pleasant.

Will certainly be back for another weekend break - and certainly wouldn't want to stay anywhere else now! Thanks Derek and Barbara for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Berwyn in April with another couple (attending a football match) and decided upon the Berwyn from the pictures and description on Hotels.com. When we arrived we asked where the ample car park was and was told to park anywhere on the street. Obviously, this want as described as per the description, but there wasn't an issue with the street parking, plenty of light etc. The owner couldn't do enough for us and was very attentive to all our needs, had a lovely conversation over a beer or two when we came back from the football. He helped us with taxis and where to eat and drink (we didn't want the usual crappy pubs or restaurants). The rooms were very nice and spotless, nice LCD tv, en-suite facilities and comfortable bed (we stayed on the to floor facing the street). The breakfast in the morning was fantastic with unlimited cereal, juices etc. The only thing that wasn't great was the time breakfast was served from and to. Breakfast was served between 08:00 and 09:00, this in my opinion could be extended until at least 10:00. The most impressive thing was a parcel received in the post a couple of days after our visit. Our friend had left her dress in the wardrobe and was posted to us. A lovey touch and very much appreciated.

I would recommend this hotel and should we find ourselves in the area again,we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Fantastic breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Slater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I'm not really sure how this hotel is a 4*it was more like a 2*
Our room was dated with its very garish wallpaper and cheap bedroom furniture. The advertised double bed was more like a
Large single. And the bedding was in a poor state!
The en-suite/ cupboard was very claustrophobic and you are in danger of banging your knees on the sink
When sitting on the toilet.
The breakfast was poor using cheap bacon and sausages. Not what you'd expect from a 4*
The tea and coffee again cheap and tasteless!
I would not recommend this hotel and will not be returning. I don't think it was
Worth the £60 that I paid more like £25.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leeds1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSpuddy, Owner at Berwyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

In response to your review. If you were not happy with the room, it would have been helpful if you had told us. We cannot understand what was wrong with the bedding being in a poor state, or Nescafe coffee and Typhoo tea bags being too cheap. With regards to breakfast, we do use quality bacon and sausages purchased locally. We do understand that some of our bathrooms are small, but quite serviceable. We are not a 4 star Hotel but a 4 star Visit Britain Guest Accommodation and are sorry if you thought otherwise. Hopefully you were not too traumatised by your one night stay and can in the future find a Hotel that you can pay the same amount of money for a weekend one night stay that meets your obviously very high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Guilderoy Hotel Blackpool
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#244 of 861 in Blackpool
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtneys of Gynn Square
Courtneys of Gynn Square
#141 of 861 in Blackpool
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berwyn Hotel

Address: 1-2 Finchley Road | Gynn Square, Blackpool FY1 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £22 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berwyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing