We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for what you pay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #183 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great for what you pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

we booked here for a nights stay as we were going to the pleasure beach on Friday. We booked from Thursday 20th-21st June for my friends son birthday we were greeted by the owners who were very warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and even when the kids were been naughty they didn't flutter a eyelid. You get what you pay for clean, friendly services the place could do with a lick of paint and freshening up but i do believe there new owners so its not all tha bad. on a whole the beds were comfy and fresh and the lady even gave the kids 2 fruit shoots each. all that was missing was a nice hearty brekkie but every where you turn theres a cafe so we ate out at the seaside cafe few mins down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but that didn't bother me as it was only me and my daughter sharing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 1st after reading a few mixed reviews on here, the new owners are lovely and the Sandhurst is a lovely little hotel, the rooms aren't exactly on the large side but all have en-suites and everything else you could ask for! lovely comfy beds and a real homely feel.

Stayed with a group of 7 other friends and were worried about curfews and making too much noise, but were each given a key to the front door and told to come in and whatever time! couldn't have been made more welcome.

Lovely hotel & lovely hoteliers :)

Room Tip: the rooms at the front have bay windows so are abit bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAndClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

we have just got back from a stay in blackpool. The hotel was basic but good value for money and in a great location. There was a few teething problems but they were sorted out straight away and its to be expected as the new owners have only just taken over. They were very helpful and freindly and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights with my boyfriend while we attended a convention at The Hilton, Blackpool. Although the room was small it was very clean and the en suite was a huge plus. Shower was great and our towels were changed for the next night. While at the Hilton I saw one of the rooms and we were so glad we'd gone for the cheaper, and much better for value offer (that room was only a little bigger than ours!) The bed was a bit hard, but everything else was just what we needed for a brief stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahfoggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now, and both times it was excellent , Mick and Joanne are very friendly (even two years between visits they still recognised my voice on the phone ), the rooms are a good size and very clean, the location is good, breakfast was first class. All in all a great place to stay in Blackpool, I recommend to every family to goes to Blackpool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1greywolf1brownbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed at the Sandhurst for 5 weeks whilst doing a course at Blackpool college. The rooms given me far exceeded the amount I paid (less than £14 a night for a double on suite). The place was clean and quite with fresh towels and the bed made everyday. Joanne and mick were always friendly and helpful. A lovely family run place, 300 yards from tramline. Perfect :-)))))

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonkystonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

cheap break clean hotel friendly recomended all en suite £15 per person per night dont come expecting luxury its value adequate for somewhere to sleep bathroom small but clean a shower toilet ,kettle and bed what more do you need

Room Tip: this is a value accomodation all en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#121 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#95 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakland Guest House
Oakland Guest House
#126 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#46 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkfield Hotel
Parkfield Hotel
#261 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#123 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 29 Osborne Road, Blackpool FY4 1HJ, England (Formerly Sandhurst Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander Hotel, Blackpool, Is An Attractive Family Friendly Hotel, Where New Owners (May 2013) Neil & Joyce, Aim To Make Your Stay, As Enjoyable As Possible. The Hotel Provides 1 Family (2+2), 2 Family (2+1), 2 Small Doubles, 3 Standard Double Rooms. Which Are Serviced Daily. We Will Soon Be Adding 1 Single Bedroom. All Rooms Are Equipped With En-Suite Shower, Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, TV & Free WiFi Connection. The Hotel Is A 2 Minute Walk To Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle Waterpark, Grosvenor Casino, South Pier & The Promenade & Beach. Public Bars & Amusement Arcades Are Also Nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing