We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of GR8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GR8 Hotel
Ranked #536 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

having arrived on the friday we were greeted by staff who in their fairness were helpful and friendly. However the rooms were very poor considering we paid the 20 pound damage deposit each we got in to the room to find a broken bed which we never reported more fool us. Cant fault the hotel for being the sort of place you want when your on a boozy weekend it is good that u are given a late key and a late bar. On our departure when checking the rtooms they charged us for the already broken bed claiming we must have done it which was very annoying as we lost a tenner each deposit for a bed that was already broken.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stu_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Yes we do collect a damage deposit from groups, which we give back on the vast majority of occaisions. The proceedure is simple on the morning of departure a staff member looks at the rooms to make sure no damage has been made then the deposits are returned. If damage has been caused a tarriff chart advises the guest how much the cost to us is and they then are charged. If something is missed by us and then missed again as the rooms are made ready for the next guests the guests must advise us so that whatever it is can be repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    53
    26
    13
    58
See reviews for
53
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

i stayed here wiv a group ov friends in june and wouldnt ever go back again the beds were broken the showers hanging off the walls and at breakfast fond unwelcome guest ( bugs) . i reccomend any one wanting 2 stay in a hotel NOT 2 book that dump it needs closing down i wouldnt even let my dog stay there

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue333186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Hate campaign! We have had a broken shower (fixed), not as this person would imply loads of showers hanging off and beds do break after the weekends but repaired or replaced by Friday (that's the nature of the hotel, people aren't maliciuos when they break beds just boisterous). As for bugs, in most hotels and houses there are times in the year when bugs/insects appear, usually we are on top of this, wish this guest would have told us in indeed she did see one.

We are a party hotel and try to get everything ready and in full working order before the guests arrive. Some guests are dissapionted because they've made the hotel into something that it isn't whilst others are pleasantly suprised. We have over 4,000 guests stay with us each year and a good number keep returning, but unfortunately, it's the guest who for some reason (and it could just be the weather) is disgruntled and makes the most effort to make people listen to them. I suppose it makes them feel better in some way.

Having said that we do make mistakes and only last week a couple of rooms had been repaired but the dust and plaster had somehow got trapped under the mattress also some wood was left in a room. That should not have happened but did. We're not perfect but we do care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Would not recomend this to anyone, the hotel is disgusting, beds broke, showers falling off do not go here find somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diesed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
OK lets get this straight!

A radiator was pulled maliciously off the wall causing a mess above reception. The group was asked to leave. This is the result of retaliation. Fact we are town centre location 2 mins from the tower - and they gave 1 out of 5 for this - it is so obvious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Me and a group of friends had booked 2 nights in June, we have stayed in some very basic places before so thought this would do us for the weekend. Once we seen the state of the place we went straight out for the night then came back and left rather than stay another night which we had already paid for so i think that says it all, rooms were awfull, door and shower were practically hanging off. Not a party hotel just a dump!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AH1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
It was probably raining as well!!

I believe this is a geniune disgruntled guest but disagree with the severity of the comments - how can you feel the party atmosphere when you went straight out?. Obiously the weekend didn't go as planned and we happen to be the scapegoat.
It seems the managers haven't allowed time for many repairs that are necessary each weekend (this hotel deals with loads of groups who have a great time but can occaisionally be heavy handed. We have now closed during the week and concentrated on getting the place right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights mid week and would just like to say that the reviews that this hotel have received from guests who quite clearly must have checked the reviews before booking are unfair and clearly expecting something this hotel doesn't even claim to offer.
The rooms although slightly run down and very basic, are clean and simple. Bed, shower, tv, toilet, clean sheets and towels and a kettle. What more do you need!?
The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating.
The location is seconds walk from the North Peir, shopping, the Promenade, and lots of great night clubs bars and restaurants.
We didn't pay for parking due to the midweek stay we were offered a FREE parking spot by the hotel.
If you are looking for a seriously cheap place to lay your head at night or the perfect place for a messy hen or stag do then you've hit the jackpot.
Don't go expecting luxury and you won't be dissappointed.
Not a single complaint, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kategibbard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

It amuses me that that manager of this hotel has replied to several comments in 2009/10 stating that the hotel is due a refurb, well i think he got that wrong too! We thought for a druken weekend this hotel would be the ticket. Fact is it's tired and dirty

When all you want is a bed to rest your drinken head on, a breakfast to soak up the alcohol and, a shower to return your self to a normal human being you need the following: a bed that functions, a shower that works, and an edible breakfast!

If your up for a good weekend with the lads, don't stay here!! U'd be better off staying in the pub and sleeping on the bar!

Also u'd be better staying in a slightly more expensive hotel that doesnt charge you for parking as you'll have to pay £17 to park the car for the weekend in the car park outside this hotel. But they keep that one a secret until you arrive

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dn59tcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
It also amuses me that there are some guests who say they don't care if they stay in standard rooms but really want the best hotels. Next time book the travel lodge.
The GR8 is named for it's party atmosphere, location and the way the staff deal with groups of people who want to enjoy themselves.
We have done a refurb freshening up the weary looking rooms, replacing a number of beds and ensuring all the showers are working (some guests do need some instruction or help if worse for wear with a few of the modern power showers). A full refurb would hike the prices up 2 fold and this would not be fair on the 95% of our guests who do not comment but enjoy the hotel as it is. We have a really good repeat business ratio and happy with that.
You just can't please everyone - we'ved had compliments on our breakfasts and the beds and I hate it when unhappy people say the hotel is dirty, when so much time is spent on the cleaning of the place. If any guests find something dirty please report it to the management as mistakes can happen.
As for the car park secret! This is council owned and of course the closer to town the more you pay (we also have some parking FREE) we don't dictate the price but if you want car parking off road for free then Blackpool has a lot to offer roughly 2 miles from town centre. Wow! how some people love to moan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

clearly not on the health and safety radar-broken floor tiles in the shower, which incidently were barely working. beds, (bunk) were as cheap as cheap could be. Very rowdy clientele showing no consideration for others. clientele at time of visit appeared high.. this seemed acceptable. if you must stop in blackpool, think twice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyguy2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
We are a party hotel and as such clientes can get rowdy at times, the hotel has a number of well experienced staff who know the difference from guests having a good time and guests who are loosing control. As a party hotel we are stricly regulated by health and safety. Sometimes guests (usually worse for wear) cannot work the power showers properly but normally ask staff for help! We do use bunks in ouir larger rooms cost £600 and similar used by the army (we have 20 stone guys who could end up using a bunk) guests know that bunk beds are sometimes used so it is no suprise.
Finally and more importantly we have a strict no drugs policy and to say that we allow guests to use drugs in our hotel is slanderous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#10 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel
The Butterfly Hotel
#14 of 127 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claire Michelle
The Claire Michelle
#230 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR8 Hotel

Property: GR8 Hotel
Address: 56-58 Central Drive, Blackpool FY1 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — GR8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management & currently been refurbished Nov 2016. A cheap and cheerful hotel situated in the heart of Blackpool's town centre. With only a few minutes walk to Blackpool's well known nightlife, Blackpool Tower, Promenade, Sea life Centre and much more, it makes this hotel a wonderful base for your holiday fun. Midweek we cater for families offering fantastic rates for Bed and Breakfast. Games are provided for children such as - Wii, TV (music channels, etc), Colouring books + Crayons and much more. There is a mini disco on each evening for the children and adults to have a fun night dancing away. Please note Friday and Saturday is over 18's only. On Friday and Saturday we cater for over 18's only making this the ideal party spot for Stag and Hen parties, birthdays or a fun weekend away. We have a late bar every weekend and will also cater for private functions/buffets etc on request. There is a secure pay and display car park directly opposite the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your GR8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing