We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls weekend brilliant !!”
Review of GR8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GR8 Hotel
Ranked #537 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Girls weekend brilliant !!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at weekend 4 girls aged between 20 and 30 for mates 30th birthday, we were worried about reviews before we came but its all rubbish !! There is hot water if it goes off just ask and let it run abit first we felt really safe as staff were always about and so friendly and nice the breakfast was lovely would deffo stay again its great for nights out , couldnt of asked for a better weekend the bad reviews are obviously people who expect 5 for cheap prices this hotel is brill and so close to the tower and the pubs aswell

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Many thanks Karis for your kind review. See you again in the near future hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    54
    26
    13
    58
See reviews for
53
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed here last weekend for mates birthday there were 4 girls , we thought they had no hot water but all u need to do is open ur mouth and ask and it was hot after that u just need to let it run, staff r so nice and friendly we felt safe there , breakfast was so nice , if anyone goin on a night out needs somewhere to stay this is the hotel to stay in couldnt of had a better weekend all bad reviews are just people expecting 5 star luxury for cheap prices !!! Would deffo go again !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Hi Karis
Thanks for your review I agree with all of it - if there was no hot water the hotel would have been closed down by now. Staff really appreciated your comment and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

stayed here this weekend loved it VERY friendly staff clean and tidy room just perfect for are girls weekend away. Lovely breakfast was put off with some of the review and was shocked when i arrived as was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becka0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thanks for your review Becky.
It's a good thing we have so many repeat bookings as I'm sure you're not the only ones to be put off by some of these unfair reviews. You'll be pleased to know that 51 have already booked again for next year at September weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We go to the GR8 quite often and have never experienced such problems.The breakfast is quality and so are the staff, Bedrooms a little dated but clean. I suggest if you are expecting 5* then book and pay 5* prices. Why do people have to lie rather than saying it as it is.
A clean cheap hotel if u cant work the showers just ask like we did.

Room Tip: TRY this hotel for yourself dont listen to reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thanks Chelle!

Showers - good point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Recently stayed here for my stag do with a load of rowdy lads, delighted by the cost of the hotel so our expectations were pretty much as low as you can imagine. Turned up at the hotel and thought what a great location it was. That was where the positives finished, having read several reviews about no hot water we tried out the shower and low and behold there was just a cold trickle. Tried again on several occasions and not once was there any hot water, when I challenged Blackpool Dave about this he claimed one of the staff had turned off the water instead of the heating by mistake. The only enjoyable part about the shower situation was listening to my mates yelping everytime anyone attempted to have one. After looking at the state of the rooms, bar area and walls we decided it would be best not to sample the breakfast here and went elsewhere. Overall it is dirt cheap so I guess only fair that it is just plain dirty throughout. I appreciate this is a low budget place and probably doesnt make a huge profit but the least they could do is run a hoover and mop around the place once a year. D-I-S-G-U-S-T-I-N-G

Room Tip: My tip would be to avoid Gr8 hotel at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuzzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Blackpool Dave was sober all weekend, unlike some; I know who I’d listen to.

You started off so well Nuzzles I almost thought this was going to be a genuine comment, seems the marijuana must have had quite an effect on you. Incidentally we have a strict no drugs policy and you were lucky not to have been thrown out. Seems that caused a fight in your room (which probably left it in the state you commented on), damage to a light fitting (your donation nearly covered the cost of that – that’s not why you’re commenting is it?) and your complete disregard to other guests (the girls below you were quite scared at the time). Such a shame as most of your group were really nice guys

I do recall a conversation regarding problems with a shower (it was about the time Sue was mopping the floor outside the bar, no prizes for observation) – seems we do have a problem with one of the top floor showers, think the feed is twisted. Sorry about that we will sort that out soonest. I don’t even think £30 a night is dirt cheap – get your head together before you lose all your brain cells.

Also from our conversation I know you were desperate to make a comment - hope I haven't dissapointed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I'm 32 years of age and in the past been to places like Benidorm and Magaluf and stayed in some pretty horrific hotels. This hotel (not sure how it can be called this) wipes the floor with them. How people can stay in such bad conditions with no hot water, smelly mouldy rooms is beyond me. I'd worry about leaving my pet dog in there for a night. Ive never wrote a bad review about a place in the past as I have found it unfair to do so but I feel a duty to the public to warn them about this place. It's a major health and safety concern. I don't ever want to go to Blackpool ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Don't suppose you have friends in North Wales that like a drink Cheagle!

Unless you are genuine and if you are you must be talking about the no hot water incident at the end of July. Because the only time since that time is when a guest ran all the hot water through one night - but it was back on by midday and most guests didn't even notice.

Think you have the wrong idea about Trip Advisor - it is'nt a place to be vindictive and try to put a hotel out of business, The idea is to advise in a constructive way so that future guests are aware of any shortcomings or positives - this helps the hotel by fixing what may need fixing and continuing with what's working.

You haven't writtena bad review but neither have you written a good review and as for advising people on Health and Safety, please leave this to the experts. It 's not your duty but it would have been nice, if you were a genuine customer, to tell us about your concerns at the time.

As for not going to Blackpool ever again - don't think we will miss you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales uk
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

,,,,stayed at this hotel is was awful, i had mixed reviews about this place but decided to see for my self, at end of day we were only there to sleep, shower and changed ,
but trust me when i say it was awful no hot water all weekend, the breakfast was awful, the bar that was meant to be open till 5am was not open at all, call themselfs a party hotel i have had a better party on my own, when i took a can of beer down to breakfast they took it off me, considering it was meant to be a party hotel. the breakfast my mate had was awful and all i wanted was bacon on toast, they came out with one piece of bacon on a plate that looked like it had been took out the bin the day b4. the window wud not open, we had no net curtains or blinds on the window and were on looking a main road, there was no cupboards drawers to put ur things, and the mirror was one side of the room and the eletric socket the other end, the shower had all mould on the roof, in the end the last we cud not stick it and moved to another hotel, how people can rate this good i dont know,
please stay away from here

Room Tip: we moved to a place called 'cheers' its was great. lovely highly recommend but they only cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Hello again - hopefully this will be your last comment on your one night stay.
Your comment isn't factually true and as for taking a can of beer down to breakfast, well we try to look after our guests and to start that early in the morniing does not bold well for the rest of the day.
We are a party hotel but have a resonsability to all our guests even those that go to Blackpool with the full intention of getting drunk from early morning to late at night. Will look out for you in the 999 programme, one was featured in Blackpool just this week.
Really pleased that WE found another hotel for you as I think even our experienced staff might have had there work cut out late evening with you 3 girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#9 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viagra
Hotel Viagra
#68 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel
The Butterfly Hotel
#13 of 126 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
#63 of 126 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Talbot House
#718 of 853 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willow Grove Hotel
Willow Grove Hotel
#355 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR8 Hotel

Property: GR8 Hotel
Address: 56-58 Central Drive, Blackpool FY1 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #537 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — GR8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management & currently been refurbished Nov 2016. A cheap and cheerful hotel situated in the heart of Blackpool's town centre. With only a few minutes walk to Blackpool's well known nightlife, Blackpool Tower, Promenade, Sea life Centre and much more, it makes this hotel a wonderful base for your holiday fun. Midweek we cater for families offering fantastic rates for Bed and Breakfast. Games are provided for children such as - Wii, TV (music channels, etc), Colouring books + Crayons and much more. There is a mini disco on each evening for the children and adults to have a fun night dancing away. Please note Friday and Saturday is over 18's only. On Friday and Saturday we cater for over 18's only making this the ideal party spot for Stag and Hen parties, birthdays or a fun weekend away. We have a late bar every weekend and will also cater for private functions/buffets etc on request. There is a secure pay and display car park directly opposite the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your GR8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing