We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel”
Review of GR8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GR8 Hotel
Ranked #577 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Hotel was in a very good location short walk to the tower, pier, beach, a 24hr Mcdonalds and a Fish and Chip shop next door open till 5.30am and of course the nightlife that Blackpool has too offer. The rooms looked very tired and in need of a bit of attention but they are very basic although bed were comfortable.
Hotel manager was very polite and helpful and with the bar open till atleast 4am you can't lose Breakfast was really nice.
Overall a nice stay but if your going there to stay in your room don't bother but if your going out and just need the room to get your head down its the good and the Hotel is definately not for Children at weekends

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldnlad2k10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    54
    26
    13
    59
See reviews for
53
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The room was filthy the mattresses were stained the shower was nearly off the wall and hardly worked, no telly, no mirror in bathroom, curtains do not cover windows. ROOM 23 a danger to health.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevermind33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Sorry mate this room should have been closed Nov/Dec/Jan we redo rooms. The manager at the time has since left - we have no record of the booking so presume that this was a midweek booking grandad over 65 with kids should have had a much better room for you. Probably because you only paid about £20 for the room you didn't say anything but manager could easily have moved rooms for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This hotel is not exactly the Hilton and if that is what you are expecting this is not the place for you.

This hotel is geared up for a different kind of guest, party people. The rooms were basic but what you would come to expect only paying £25.00 for a Saturday night; There were some things in the room which needed attention but as we were staying at the back end of the season it is fair to say the owners probably have not had the chance to attend to these issues.

The 4 am bar is a big plus with the opportunity to party even longer as the lounge stays open all night after the bar closes.

The staff were very helpful and attentive. The must have the patience of a saint working in such a hectic environment.

All in all if you are going to Blackpool for a good time and to have a few drinks this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedrunkensailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

ok so its not the hilton and there are a few things that need upgrading, but if your looking for a hotel that caters for a friday and saturday night on the town then for the price its perfect!!!! staff were really helpful and relaxed, rooms were basic but we didnt plan on staying in much!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bar stayed open till 4am and then continued in the lounge on the big leather sofas and pool table......plus late breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks GR8 see you next year!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partyboy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Please do not stay here ,, filthy broken beds, duvet cover and pillow was old and yellow , every thing about this hotel is very old and depressing , I guarantee this hotel will ruin your first experience of Blackpool ,, if you are on a stag or hen there are other hotels please take my advice and do not stay here ,,

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsbartoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Manager at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
A lot to do with a lost deposit! Why is it when awful reviews are written there is usually a short fall of money.

I don't agree with much of the review but some rooms are due a refurbishment due to it being the end of the season. We cater for 130 people every weekend during the busy period and the rooms and beds do get a hammering, especially from our party clientele. I'm not complaining we think the vast majority of our groups are gr8 and most come back every year. Any broken beds we replace as soon as we know about them- some are scuffed and due to be replaced.
Quilt covers etc we use Express cleaners who also supply us with Sheets,towels, and pillow cases - They are clean and fresh and they regularly replace.

Please when you have a problem with money don't try to make us loose bookings accept that bed space is at a premium especially on a Saturday during the illuminations and if you turn up short you have an extra beds in your rooms that would have been sold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is definately not a place to go if u suffer from depression, this will send u over the edge, each room shud come with it's own noose, trying to work out the orange stains on the towels was the only highlight , another gr8 game to play is to try and work out how u could possibly lose ur £20 deposit, there is a absence of anything of any value in the room,after adding up all the items a 20p deposit wud be more realistic, the rooms are like prison cells but less comfortable if u were sick on the wall u wud be doing them a favour, if I ever go back to Blackpool ever again which is highly unlikely I wud rather sleep rough than sleep at the gr8 hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigeorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
You can't tell people to come to Blackpool and hang themselves!


If you spend a gr8 deal of time in the hotel bedroom then this is definitely not the place to go.
Seriously! a party weekend in Blackpool who spends a gr8 amount of time in the bedroom!!

Orange stains on the towel - could it have been make up? as a bath and hand towel are provided for each new guest direct from our laundry supplier.

Rooms are designed for sleeping in and without items that can be damaged by our more exitable guests. They have the basics requirements but the rest of the hotel is designed for a party atmosphere, in a gr8 location. The £20 damage deposits, which is very rarely activated is a preventative measure.
Rather than sleeping rough my advice to you is to book a nice hotel with lots of pictures and artifacts that make it very nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

OMG!! Where do we start.There is cheap and chearful or Cheap and crap.
This hotel looked ok on first looks on booking, the people who run it seem normal at first too. But oh dear god, this hotel i thought was full of nutters, and i am 100% sure they were all related to the people who run it. Shamless!! The rooms are a discrace, dirty beds, dirty windows, dirty bathrooms, and no hot water, and the shower didnt work properly. All the tiles on the bedroom ceilings were broken, Honestly we felt like we were being filmed. Even put the chair behind door at night. Very creepy uncomfortable place I have ever stayed in. Blackpool is a brilliant place to go and visit. And I have stayed in plenty hotels in Blackpool. This one should be shut down and condemned. The steps leading down to beakfast is a rickety staircase. This hotel gives the impression you are going to get murdered in your bed at night. Enough said its your choice.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SambukaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpooldave, Owner at GR8 Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2010
How can anyone get away with calling hotel guests a load of nutters!!!

Admittedly some rooms are better than others and a refurb is planned. To say the beds and bathroom are dirty is ridiculous - we get clean fresh linnen from a commercial laundry, and our cleaners spend a great deal of time cleaning the rooms. There is always hot water but some people are unable to work the showers and just need to ask the managers who would gladly help - bet no one asked! Windows are washed every week although some are difficult to access but it's close to the prom and prone to salt and sand deposits. There are occaisionally broken tiles as some of our groups are a little heavy handed, but we have a continous supply and regularly replace them. To say you expect to be murdered by nutters that stay at the hotel is totally unaceptable.

A very angry owner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel
The Butterfly Hotel
#14 of 128 in Blackpool
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
Zebra Lodge Blackpool
#67 of 128 in Blackpool
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Talbot House
#667 of 856 in Blackpool
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Helmshore Hotel
Helmshore Hotel
#190 of 856 in Blackpool
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Queensgate Hotel
The Queensgate Hotel
#393 of 856 in Blackpool
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novello B&B
Novello B&B
#162 of 856 in Blackpool
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR8 Hotel

Property: GR8 Hotel
Address: 56-58 Central Drive, Blackpool FY1 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — GR8 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management & currently been refurbished Nov 2016. A cheap and cheerful hotel situated in the heart of Blackpool's town centre. With only a few minutes walk to Blackpool's well known nightlife, Blackpool Tower, Promenade, Sea life Centre and much more, it makes this hotel a wonderful base for your holiday fun. Midweek we cater for families offering fantastic rates for Bed and Breakfast. Games are provided for children such as - Wii, TV (music channels, etc), Colouring books + Crayons and much more. There is a mini disco on each evening for the children and adults to have a fun night dancing away. Please note Friday and Saturday is over 18's only. On Friday and Saturday we cater for over 18's only making this the ideal party spot for Stag and Hen parties, birthdays or a fun weekend away. We have a late bar every weekend and will also cater for private functions/buffets etc on request. There is a secure pay and display car park directly opposite the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your GR8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing